We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Birillo
Nearby Hotels
NH La Spezia(La Spezia)
US$ 157
US$ 151
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 193
US$ 162
Firenze e Continen
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 164
US$ 143
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Locanda Dal Moccia(La Spezia)(Great Value!)
US$ 88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Corallo(La Spezia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mary(La Spezia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Genova(La Spezia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Locanda Tramonti(La Spezia)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveller rating
217
276
68
22
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
276
68
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall bathroomcinque terrehome madeperfect stopoverfresh homemade cakestrain stationno liftstar hoteltwo nightsbreakfast buffeteasy walking distanceour honeymoonthe room was nicecoffee machineshort staysarahmultilingual
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 596 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2015

We chose the hotel for its price and decent reviews. As mentioned in other reviews the toilet was really small but manageable. There was a problem of bath water getting into the room, but we managed it for one night.
The room decor was modern and the towels were clean. The breakfast was decent as well. The owners was really helpful with the trip plans and other basics.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayank_agarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2015

Thank you so much for you decent review :)
Unfortunately it's true that barthrooms are small, and unfortunately we cannot do much about that, unless renovating and keeping thwm as clean as we can.
For the rest, we keep trying doing our best as we really want to make your stay a erally good stay.
Thank you for sharing ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed for 5 nights while walking and exploring Cinque Terre. The rooms are tidy and clean, yet small. The bathroom was ok, but the shower was extra small.
Nice and welcoming staff. I had problems with the fan in my room and they changed it right away with a smile. They also printed my boarding pass for me without any extra charge. Wifi was a bit on and of, but the signal was very good while working.
If you're looking for a central and nice low budget hotel without anything extra, this is it.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Aksel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2015

Thank you Aksel for sharing your experience.
You room had for sure a small bathroom and shower.
And since it wasnt renovated yet, we appreciate your review since it means there's much more to be happy about ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2015

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel as its location was superb to stroll the Cinque Terre & Portofino region. The location was very good from the bus stop, the harbor and the train station. The room was too small so is the bathroom, basic and average clean. Needed some renovation. The walls were very thin as we could hear the neighbors in the next room. The noise level in the room was very loud. Staff were very friendly. Wifi didn't work well and extremely slow connection. Breakfast was delicious with a good variety and all home made.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayaMghabghab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2015

Hello,
thank you for sharing with us your experience.
We're really glad that you felt good :)
We really like our job so we're really happy to meet new people everyday and make them happy.
There are some things that unfortunately we cannot improove, since we don't own the place.
For example the walls.
like in most of the hotels, walls are thin, but since the owner of the building don't do something, it's impossible for us to avoid the problem.
About the wifi, like in most of the places, when many people are connected together, it's not the best
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

We chose this hotel because if the location which is close to the harbor, the port and the downtown. The location was great.
The staff is great.
The breakfast is great.

However...
The walls are thin and we could hear the scooter traffic late at night. We also heard everything in the neighboring room which was more than we wanted to hear. The WC is impossibly small and the beds feel like they are from a college dorm.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Hello,
first of all we thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers and to share with us your point of view.
Unfortunately, for some of the aspects you mentioned, we couldn't do much.
About the beds, theyre new, they could be just a little hard nut people say theu're very comfortable.

We can't do much about the noise of the street ( he have double vitrage windows, but we're really in the center of the town.
Our side is quite qiet, but it's normal to hear nois from the street in a town center.
And about the walls, same thing. Unfortunately we are not the owners of this hotel, so we don't have the authorization to work on something like the walls.

Anyway we're doing our best to satisfy our guests in all of the other aspects where we can work.

Thank you so much and maybe next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

I spent 3 days in La Spezia because of a jazz workshop and I chose this little but central hotel. In maximum 10 minutes you reach the Station to get the trains to reach the 5 Terre and you are 2 few minutes far from the pedonal area. The rooms are little but clean and the personal really really friendly. They never loose occasion to give you their smile. The breakfast great everything handmade some salted and sweet cakes, biscuits, croissant, etc. I suggest everybody to spend some days there.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoxyG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBirillo, Responsabile reception at Hotel Birillo, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Thank you for your nice review!
We loved your way to describe the situation, the fact that you loved the morning cakes and our staff being so kind and remember : A DAY WITHOUT A LAUGHTER IS A DAY WASTED
see you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews