We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Galata
Nearby Hotels
US$ 152
US$ 145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 101
US$ 88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 112
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 128
US$ 112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 132
US$ 112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 190
US$ 117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 205
US$ 177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 142
US$ 128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Nologo(Genoa)(Great Value!)
US$ 91
US$ 61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
23
40
45
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
40
45
23
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Double bed was 2 single beds put together. No chair in room to relax on. Portable TV. No tea/coffee making facilities (maybe not listed as available). Areas of room needed cleaned.
Breakfast - what breakfast? (two choices of bread and a croissant, two cereal, 1 yogurt, tea coffee). Above all I didn't feel save in my room - especially when my phone rang at 2.30 am and the owner (who only spoke italian) connected me to some italian guy that shouted and yelled t me down the phone. Would not recommend this hotel especially since I know what I should expect from a 3* hotel. Sorry

Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
Thank fishtail11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

The hotel is located right across the street from the train station. Very friendly staff. The hotel is small, rooms are decent sized. Rooms aren't very modern, but they have wifi in room. A basic place to stay with reasonable rates.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed for two nights in April. The hotel is just two minutes walk from the Piazza Principe railway station and about a ten minute walk to the old town.
Whilst staying there we caught the train to Genoa Brignole station and walked back. It's about 2.5 miles and, if you plan your route carefully, encompasses most of what Genoa has to offer.
The reception staff on duty spoke little to no English - although we were offered a map of the city with instructions on where to go in Italian.
The rooms were nicely decorated but there is a fair amount of traffic from the busy road outside.
Breakfast was of the buffet type and the breakfast staff spoke a little more English. There was ham, cheese plus the usual bagguettes, croissants and yoghurts.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

Galata offers clean rooms close to Principe railway station.
The room I stayed in is a single room, quite tiny (single bed in the middle of the room and only a shower in the bathroom) but clean and with new furniture.

I booked through bookings.com, several months before going there, and it wasn't cheap (90 euros, but it was during the boat show).

The hotel is right acrosso the street from the station.
The staff is nice and kind, the breakfast (included) was quite good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sibi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

The hotel Galata is located in a poor area. Very difficult to find restaurants around it. Not really in the center, you have to walk at least 20 minutes before reaching the historical interesting district.
The welcome was just ok, no smile, not many explanations.
The room was dirty, dust everywhere, toilets and shower not so clean and we had doubt about sheets.
Breakfast was just ok, not more and breakfast has no heater, it was very cold in there.
Sure you can find a better hotel in Genoa.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooknice06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews