We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean, old fashioned Italian hotel, no frills but good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balbi Family Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balbi Family Hotel
Ranked #27 of 88 Hotels in Genoa
Nice, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean, old fashioned Italian hotel, no frills but good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

I stayed here with my 5 year old daughter for one night. The hotel was easy to find and well located. Plenty of small shops, restaurants, bars, gelateria's, etc... No elevator, which might be a problem for people with lots of luggage, small kids or elderly.

The staff was friendly and hotel was simple, yet very clean. We got the room right next to reception, which I though would be very noisy, but wasn't too bad.

Rooms are big and have very high ceilings. Bathrooms were very clean.

Via Balbi is a very loud street, that noise kept us up at night, no noise from hotel.

Breakfast is typical Italian, no frills, croissants, cereal, coffee, etc...

Good value for money, convenient location, but noisy street.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sraske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    95
    65
    18
    10
See reviews for
89
93
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

A very enthusiastic welcome from the staff of this family-run hotel, especially from one Italian girl who just never seemed to stop smiling. The location is very handy, a very short walk from the train station and at the start of the old town. My single room was very spacious, especially the bathroom. The cost of the room included breakfast, which was ample and in a room with a decorative painted ceiling. There is satellite television and free Wi-Fi in the rooms, which works very well. The only quibble I would have is that noise seems to carry, so if someone in the next room gets a call on their mobile during the night or someone in the lobby switches on the computer with the welcoming "Windows" logo, you hear it right away. Also, you must climb two flights of stairs, which can be exhausting after some rigorous sightseeing. But the welcome and attention you will get at this hotel easily overcomes such minor quibbles. Well worth the price for this (typically Italian) friendly and ideally located base for exploring this hidden gem of a city.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumarokov-Elston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen
Level Contributor
170 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

We stayed here for 1 night while returning from Cinque Terre. It is very close to the Prinzip train station. We had chosen this hotel because we had to catch a train early morning and hence was convenient.

The rooms are quite big and give a feeling of 1960s. The rooms are equipped with all the basic necessities. The internet access was not free. The staff was not warm at all. I never saw any smile on their faces. The breakfast was ok. Nothing great.

However, if the price is right, I would not mind staying here again.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank oxymoron2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2010

This is a fairly decent hotel, better than basic, and with some interesting decor - I think we stayed in the room featured in their brochure with the amazing high ceiling and the al fresco painting. The room was huge and clean and comfortable but with some signs of dubious maintenance. Be warned - the hotel entrance is on the third floor - there is no lift, so you have to lug your baggage yourself up the slippery marble staircase. The location is excellent to take off on foot to enjoy Genoa. The inclusivo breakfast was adequate - icing sugar croissants and cereal but with excellent coffee. Good value for the price and you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenleg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2009

We were very impressed with 2 things at this hotel. Firstly, the staff were so friendly and accommodating. They spoke English very well, and were able to tell us where we should go, and what we should visit. They even allowed us to store our luggage at their hotel even after we had checked out, and were waiting for our bus to the airport which was only that evening.

The 2nd thing we were impressed with, was the breakfast. Wow! What a feast. They definately don't skimp on this.

The rooms themselves were very basic, but clean and sufficient enough for our stay. The only problem was that the water pressure in the shower was a bit low...but other than that, I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.

The ceilings are also very interesting, as they were all painted in the 17th century

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Bologna
Hotel Bologna
#30 of 88 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.6 km away
Olympia Hotel Genova
Olympia Hotel Genova
#4 of 88 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Chopin
Hotel Chopin
#16 of 88 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Nologo
Hotel Nologo
#13 of 88 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Porto Antico
0.1 km away
Hotel Agnello D'Oro
Hotel Agnello D'Oro
#42 of 88 in Genoa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balbi Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balbi Family Hotel

Property: Balbi Family Hotel
Address: Via Balbi 21/3, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 88 Hotels in Genoa
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,019 - ₹ 7,969
Hotel Class:2 star — Balbi Family Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Via Balbi seat of the University and the street declared a World Heritage by UNESCO in Genoa, a few steps from the historical center, from the aquarium, the train station P. Principe and the Cruise terminal .The Family Hotel Balbi connection Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and all rooms have a / c, fridge, kettle, telephone, free wifi As the name suggests the hotel, the Balbi is a family-run The Family Hotel Balbi is located in a historic building with frescoes and parquet floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Balbi Family Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Balbi Family
Balbi Family Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing