We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (944)
Filter reviews
944 results
Traveller rating
467
379
78
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
379
78
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationsister hotelmodern liftold stylepiazza principefirst floorvia balbiminute walkmain stationtravelling by trainconvenient locationlovely hotelnice bathroomgrand hotel savoiaold cityexecutive roomgreat room
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 944 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Everything from arrival to departure was simply wonderful. Our room (5th floor ) was accessed via a lift whilst being very old .worked perfectly.Room was always clean and the wifi was a good quality through the building.
Well placed next to the principle railway station so excursions and the Metro were close at hand

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank furbyonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Stayed here for 3 nights for a conference. Hotel is v near the railway/bus stations so within easy reach of the airport (traffic permitting!). Hotel also provided a good base from which to explore the city on foot for restaurants (and some sightseeing). Our room overlooked the square but was reasonably quiet considering the work that was ongoing. Room was a good size but with a v small ensuite. Rooms were clean, bed firm. The small bottles of complementary wine were appreciated. Breakfast Ok. In the evening we were able to make use of the bar in the next-door sister hotel (accessed via a corridor on one of the floors) Unfortunately during our stay the hotel was under refurbishment which meant that scaffolding masked the exterior.

Room Tip: Check to see if the refurbishment has finished
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirGoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

I was supposed to stay at this hotel but when they found out it was my dad's 70th birthday we had a free upgrade to their 5 stars sister hotel Grand Hotel Savoia. I can't express my opinion about the Continental as I couldn't see their facilities but the gesture was truly appreciated

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0an75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

We stayed for three days at the Hotel Continental in Genova as we arrived by rail. The hotel is conveniently located within a two minute walk from the Genova Principe railway station. Check in was nice and easy, rooms are clean and comfortable, breakfast is an extra
10 Euros per person, worth the extra charge and the Wi-Fi works well. Ludovica from the front desk and Lia from the breakfast staff were very professional and helpful for us.
What seems to be missing from the past TripAdvisor reviews is the distance to Old Town and the neighborhood just a block over. It’s 20-25 minutes by walk and the surrounding neighborhood alleyways are extremely uncomfortable to say the least. If you walk to Old Town, walk out the front door, go straight and use "Via Antonio Gramsci" road and proceed to Old Town. You will be hassled by peddlers along the route trying to sell you everything under the sun as cruise ships docking here are within reach. If you are navigating by smartphone, don't use the fastest route to get to Old Town, use the road mentioned above. The Smartphone walking route will take you where you may not want to be. It did this to us and we turned around with a quickness. Research it.
Loved the hotel and staff working here, the hotel/staff are very welcoming, kind and professional; the issue for us was the location/distance. If we do return to Genova, we probably would stay closer to Old Town and avoid all of this.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel is a real gem in a central location, fantastic value for money. Room and bathroom are huge. Large wall mounted TV. Smeg fridge in room. Great toiletries and slippers. Towels and bedding changed daily. Just across the square from the train station. Breakfast had so many choices. Staff very professional and pleasant. Shares facilities with hotel next door which has a beautiful downstairs bar as well as a roof top bar for great views across the City. Only problem I encountered was internet connection in an evening was slow, but not really an issue for us.
Would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Fay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews