We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a disappointing city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Continental Genova
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a disappointing city”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We only stayed one night here and found it excellent for a stopover as it is very close to the train station (almost opposite). Despite this, it was quiet on both sides of the hotel. We know this because we had to move rooms due to faulty air conditioning, which was handled politely and efficiently. We were also given a map to find the old town which was useful as we only had a few hours. Breakfast was very nice.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MartsAndMarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    318
    63
    14
    3
See reviews for
170
376
43
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Everything was great: the staff are very helpful, the maids never disturbing, the breakfast was also good. The only recommendation is to choose the executive double room - it has a jacuzzi and looks much better than all the other rooms, and it is worth.
Overall, it is a great choice for all those who love old hotels: the interior is old but in a charming way.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidaaichik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We have never visited Genoa before and there are not huge numbers of English tourists. There are a lot of Americans, partly because of Columbus, and overhearing a number of conversations many Americans were looking at their roots. There were a number of Australian visitors as well. As a result of the above I have never met anyone who has visited Genoa ( and my friends travel ) so I had to rely on Trip Advisor reviews to select an hotel. As the other reviewers say, location wise for Genoa city and the Cinque Terre, Portofino etc you could not do better.
We were staying for a few days and on arrival offered a choice of 2 rooms - either room would have been good.They were clean and comfortable and had good TV - BBC world and a choice in Sky. The receptionists were excellent. Breakfast had a good choice of food and was delicious . After a couple of days being ripped off by the small local restaurants by the hotel we opted for dinner in the evening and wish we had done it earlier.
The hotel is linked to the Grand Hotel Savona and you can walk through to their 3rd floor and sit out on their balcony overlooking the square or go to the 7th floor ( only during the day time ) and get a grand view of the city. The Grand Hotel is lovely and worth a look.if you have the time.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katharine186300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
275 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, using it as our base to explore Milan and Portofino as well as Genoa.Its proximity to the train station is fantastic for this type of trip. Just walk across a couple of crosswalks and you're at the hotel! The neighborhood feels safe, even at night. The ladies at the front desk were helpful and friendly. The man working there, not so much. Our room and bathroom was huge for European standards. Everything was very clean. Our view was of the back of the surrounding buildings. However, since we were not in our room, it really didn't affect our stay. The included breakfast was great. It had scrambled eggs, bacon, pancakes plus the usual continental breakfast fare. The setting of the restaurant was delightful. The elevator was charming. We never had any problem with it. If you didn't like the one in the lobby, you could walk up a flight of stairs turn the corner and there was a modern elevator to take you the rest of the way up. We enjoyed Genoa, especially the Passeggiata Anita Garibaldi. If we returned to Genoa, I would definitely consider staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QueenMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is across from train station which you mostly use to reach Genova and its also few minutes walk from historic area. Our room was very large with high ceiling and spacious bathroom. We had king size bed with great mattress. Since the hotel is next to street we had to use shutters to block the noise. However, the best time to get sleep is from 9 pm to 7 am when Genova is quite. The breakfast was awesome and was worth it with our 15 euro daily credit we got. I rarely end up returning to a hotel, but if I visit Genova again I stay here.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank solotraveler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,578 reviews
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Melia Genova
#2 of 91 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Genova? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Genova

Property: Hotel Continental Genova
Address: Via All'Arsenale di Terra 1, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,735 - ₹ 13,326
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Genova 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Continental Genova Art Nouveau style, completely renovated with strategic location opposite Genova Principe Train Station and walking distance from the Genova downtown. It offers elegant air conditioned rooms with parquet floors, free Wi-Fi, Media set Premium TV channels. Some rooms include a Jacuzzi bath and have bow windows overlooking historical Piazza Acquaverde. In the morning is served delicious rich buffet breakfast with local fresh products. In the Tralalero Genovese Trattoria can be tasted Italian dishes and savored Liguria specialties. Multi -functional congress rooms with day light and plenary congress hall with capacity up to 230 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Continental Genova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing