We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“In the storic center” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Savoia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Savoia
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“In the storic center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Luxory hotel in front of Genova Principe railway station, wonderful spa with a large yacuzzy, tepidarium, callidarium,frigidarium and sauna.
The breakfast has a very rich bouffet. The hotel hold a trattoria very tipical with a very cheap and delicius menu and a very formal restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Issy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,511
    652
    158
    51
    22
See reviews for
464
1,172
95
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

My wife and I visited Genoa with our infant son and were very pleased to have found this hotel. It was well priced and located a short walk from the sites and directly across the street from the central train station. We were pleased with the rooms, as they appeared very clean with a lovely decor.

In our opinion the room decor and location are really the only two aspects where the Grand Hotel Savoia excelled. During check-in the hotel staff was quite rude and seemed more interested in going somewhere than answering our questions about the hotel and city. At no point were we informed that the hot tub was closed and found out by going to the floor only to find it closed and in a section of the hotel that looked to be under construction.

The first morning we ended up paying for a breakfast that was advertised on the card in our room as a "complementary continental breakfast". When I approached the desk staff about this, the gentlemen kindly informed me that although misleading, my rate did not include the complementary breakfast. During our three nights at the hotel two of the three desk staff we had interactions with were rude and not very helpful at all. One just handed a Genova tourism booklet and walked away when we solicited information about tourist activities in the city. We found the hotel bar ridiculously priced compared to the rest of the city. Even for its star rating (seemingly inflated) 5 euro for a can of coke was a bit excessive.

All in all, it is a nice place to stay for a good price. The unjustifiably pretentious attitude is a bit unsettling and as someone who spends a fair amount of the year sleeping in hotels, the star rating is a bit exaggerated. I would say it's a good three star by my standards.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Only stayed the one night as passing through but were made to feel very welcome and after a long drive very relaxed. The hotel is elegant and stylish, the welcome warm and professional, taking the car and parking it for us allowing us to relax and not stress on the busy roads of Genoa.The room was perfect for us, large enough for my wife and I and our 11 yr old son to relax and not be on top of each other; lovely bathroom and bath which again was just what was needed to relax after a long drive. Breakfast in the morning is in a lovely dining room, a good selection of hot and cold foods; would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
233 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I have used this Hotel before but never wrote a review. This Hotel is perfectly situated close to the city and good restaurants. The lobby area and bar reminds you of a grand Hotel in the old days. The staff is very friendly. Rooms are very large and confortable beds. Nice large shower head in spacipous bathroom. Great and strong WIFI all over the Hotel. (Free)
Large breakfast buffet with loads of fruit, bread and other Italien breakfast food....
Although the windows are somehow soundproof but it gets a little noisy at the front of the Hotel. All in all a great Hotel for your Genoa visit

Room Tip: Loads of noise possible in the front...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stalenbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Stayed at the Savoia in the summer, great value for everything you get, went for the room option with spa included, not the best spa, a little nightclub esq in atmosphere but still a good facility for not much extra cost. Rooms were spacious and comfortable and staff were helpful. One of the best breakfasts I've had for a while, served on the roof with impressive views over the city and port. Location is good for transport being near the station but not much going on the immediate streets surrounding, but overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Melia Genova
#1 of 88 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Hotel Bristol Palace
Hotel Bristol Palace
#10 of 88 in Genoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
NH Genova Centro
#8 of 88 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Savoia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Savoia

Property: Grand Hotel Savoia
Address: Via Arsenale di Terra 5, 16126, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#1 Family Hotel in Genoa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Genoa
#3 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,055 - ₹ 12,409
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant 5 stars hotel with SPA in the heart of Genoa, next to the famous Aquarium and the ancient Harbour of Genova, only a few steps away from the Piazza Principe railway station of Piazza Principe. The hotel is like a fairytale as entering the hotel feels like getting on board of a marvelous transatlantic liner Grand Hotel Savoia offers 117 luxury and comfortable rooms including deluxe rooms, executive rooms, classic rooms, family rooms, junior suites, secrete suite and presidential suite. All rooms feature individual climate control, soundproofing, parquet flooring, coffee and tea maker, LCD TV, free Wi-Fi, mini bar, 1 complimentary bottle of water, safe box for laptop equipped with plugs to charge batteries, bathrobe, courtesy and vanity set. Every room has been studied to create a unique atmosphere, that makes it different from the others. At Salgari Restaurant, where all the details and furnishing have an historical importance, you will taste some of the best examples of typical Italian cuisine and discover international dishes as well. Grand Hotel Savoia disposes of 6 Meeting Rooms, two of them on the top floor with a magnificent view on the historical centre and the harbor. The meeting rooms, all with natural light, are equipped with the latest technologies: videoconferencing, free Wi-Fi connection, screens, complete video and data projection capabilities , microphones, radio- microphones. All meeting rooms offer different setting solutions. Cocktail bar and Executive Lounge. Free Wi-Fi connection in the whole building. Grand Hotel Savoia offers a charming SPA centre with bio-sauna, aromatic showers, massage area and pool. Moreover, on the Top Floor you will find a panoramic solarium with two big Jacuzzi. Fitness Area free of charge for all the Guest with the newest equipments. Children will have fun in the Pirate Garden with its galleon, a treasure well and lots of games. Private parking, cost E 25.00 per day, valet service included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing