We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,339)
Filter reviews
1,339 results
Traveller rating
347
681
225
55
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
347
681
225
55
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminaldirect accesscruise shipnice hotelhotel is locatedold townjunior suitebusy roadroom was spaciousstayed for one nighttop floorport areaharbourtaxicityeurosgarage
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,339 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed two nights before joining a cruise and really enjoyed it.

The Volobus from the airport stops very near the hotel and provides and inexpensive way to get from the airport.

We received a warm welcome and had nice room with a balcony and great views of the port.

It’s around a 15 minute walk into the old town but there’s a metro station around 5 minutes away too.

We both slept well and enjoyed our nights here

The only downside was breakfast. The array and quality of food on offer is good but the coffee is from a vending style machine and it’s either the coffee or milk or both but the taste wasn’t pleasant. Also be sure to be sat at breakfast on time since the stroke of 10h will see the staff rush to clear everything away

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LoveTravel809450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for your candid review. We are happy that your enjoy your stay, and apologize that something did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.
Sincerely,
Ilaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

As I was working on business in Genoa, I arranged to stay for a week at the Holiday Inn.

It has good facilities including the breakfast and evening meals.

For those on business, the Internet access was Ping: 1 ms, Download: 19.40 Mbps & Upload: 18.44 Mbps, which was great to stream Netflix.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Client,
Thank you for your stay and for the time take to leave your opinion!
For us and for other future guests your review is very important and helpful.
Hoping to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Genoa City, we remain.
Best regards,
Ilaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

We stayed at the beginning and end of a bike touring trip and the hotel store our bike cases for us.
The rooms have modern facilities and were very pleasant. My second room at the end of the trip had a musty smell, coming from the curtains, which was annoying.
Breakfast was not included in our rate and was just about worth the 15 euros cost.
It took 40 minutes for a not very pleasant walk into the old town, but we subsequently found the Metro to be a very convenient route in and out, just make sure you buy tickets in advance from a Tabachi, the station did not have functioning ticket machine, the ticket is valid for 90 minutes for bus and Metro once validated.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank bwudcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Client,
Thank you for your stay and for the time take to leave your opinion!
For us and for other future guests your review is very important and helpful.
Hoping to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Genoa City, we remain.
Best regards,
Ilaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

I've got a long list of what I didn't like but let's start on a good note!
Breakfast was very good. €15 for a nice breakfast with real DIY orange juice.

What I didn't like:
- Parking
You have to leave your car in a parking which is dirty and then drag your luggage out and walk along the sidewalk because parking doesn't have direct access to the hotel's lobby!
- Clogged bathroom sink.
This one is a clear sign that the hotel doesn't care. because this problem could be easily reported during housekeeping and fixed
- Shower with no curtain to contain the splashes
Again - as I've seen it in other hotels in Italy - the curtain rod is installed but for some reason they decided the curtain is not really necessary
- Smelly bed and bedding
- Location
Location is what makes this hotel good and bad simultaneously! If you want to use the port then great it's in walking distance otherwise there is nothing interesting about the location with the craziest traffic/driving style you could imagine.

Footnote: This hotel is under IHG license but managed by a different entity.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Amir R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.
We regret the standards of service fell short of your expectations and we ask you to accept our most sincere apologies.
We are ready to welcoming you again upon your next stay, trying then to regain your confidence.

Yours sincerely,
Ilaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

4 night stay Mon/Fri in interconnected rooms on 4th floor. Not much of a view out on to the elevated bypass, but it was nonetheless quiet. Our double rooms were clean and modern, with a small mini bar, free electronic safe and aircon.Good free wifi connection. Staff were efficient and helpful and gave us good recommendations for Restaurants etc.
As an IHG member we got a free drink on arrival. The bar puts on free finger food each evening, which was great.
Breakfast was in the Newport Restaurant on the first floor. It was the usual buffet arrangements. The cold offerings were better than the cooked ones in my opinion.
We got a taxi to & from the airport. Note that they make their own rules here so expect to pay any price up to about €25 for the short transfer!

30 mins walk into centre, but used the nearby Metro station at Dinegro. 3 of us used a 24 hour travel ticket (max 4 persons) at €9, which is a bargain. It covers Metro, buses and other AMT transport, like the Funicular. Note that Metro closes 9pm daily, but there are plenty of buses after that time to get you home.

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jandlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOAIT, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Genoa City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Dear Client,
Thank you for your stay and for the time take to leave your opinion!
For us and for other future guests your review is very important and helpful.
Hoping to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Genoa City, we remain.
Best regards,
Ilaria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews