We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable, good b'fast, strange location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Porto Antico
Ranked #10 of 91 Hotels in Genoa
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, good b'fast, strange location”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Everything about this hotel was fine; clean, comfortable room with well-equipped bathroom; good breakfast, friendly staff. However, its location is somewhat strange. Other reviews point out that parking is across the main road in an underground lot and the hotel provides a ticket which does save you a bunch of Euros. However, if you attempt to actually drive to the front of the hotel in order to check in, you'll find that the street is one-way in the wrong direction; so you'll have to drive in via a street (only a block long) which is pedestrian-only except for a few oddball hours for commercial deliveries. As traffic signs in Italy are merely suggestions, I entered that street in my car and found my way to the hotel before local law-enforcement would notice. Be forewarned that you should probably park the car in the underground public lot at the Porto Antico and then roll your luggage to the hotel a few hundred feet away.

But that's really the only negative and, in fact, that short, one-block drive was an adventure, of sorts. Porto Antico is quite interesting and the marina full of muli-million dollar boats is something to behold. We enjoyed our evening walk along the harbor.

I believe part of the movie "Summer in Genoa" was filmed right in this area.

Anyway; if I ever return to Genoa, I'd stay at this hotel again because I know now where to park. :D

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    564
    106
    10
    8
See reviews for
532
273
35
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The two of us stayed there for one night, as we were on our way to Firenze. This hotel was choosen as it is in the city and has parking facility. Parking is actually across the street in public parking but the hotel has special daily rate which is cheaper.

Though it was a short stay but we like the hotel, cute typical European building, room is clean, wifi worked well, some restaurants nearby. Breakfast is also good.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekristanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I don't think I've been in a room that was better layed out than this one. It was not large, but there was space to store your things, the bath was well layed out. It was totally modern & clean. The breakfast was adequate. Lots to choose from, but more BW business. the wifi worked great. Would definitely return to this hotel (vs any other in Genoa)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

A compact room in a present hotel, everything clean and well presented, comfortable bed, good self serve continental breakfast with added local touches, we enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is in the old part of Genoa near the port area, nice walking around the hotel in the old streets, markets shops and the port district, perfect for us on a one night stay. The welcome at reception included details of where we were and a map as well as information about the port and aquarium. The rooms are compact but well designed no view but a window that opened, bathroom was clean, everything provided, good hot shower, the breakfast room was bright and clean. The foyer area has a movie playing on old Genoa and an original roman column embedded in the wall. We found this a comfortable, well run hotel that was perfectly located to explore a little of this very authentic and interesting neighbourhood.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janex52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

This was a great hotel with very friendly staff and a wonderful family room. the hotel was spotless and well set out.
Our only negative comment is that our navigator couldn't get us there. it is across the road from the port, however, there are roads above each other, so the navigator was directing us to the main road which was a fly over, with the hotel below it. There was no way we could find how to get onto the road we needed.
It would be a good idea to get very good directions before you leave.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musicluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Genoa hotels
Righi
NH Collection Genova Marina
Piccapietra
Best Western Plus City Hotel
Grand Hotel Savoia
#1 of 91 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Piccapietra
Best Western Hotel Metropoli
Melia Genova
#2 of 91 in Genoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Porto Antico? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Porto Antico

Property: Best Western Hotel Porto Antico
Address: Via al Ponte Calvi, 5, 16124, Genoa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Genoa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Genoa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Genoa
#12 Business Hotel in Genoa
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,416 - ₹ 11,794
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Porto Antico 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Porto Antico in Genoa,is a 3 stars hotel situated in the center of Genoa close to the Old Port of Genoa and the Aquarium of Genoa, welcomes you in the comfort and relaxed atmosphere of its rooms.All of the rooms' hotel are air conditioned and soundproofed, equipped with 26-inch LCD televisions with calcium Mediaset Premium, Wi-Fi for laptops, and safe maximum size of 15 inches.Experience the excitement of living in the historical center of Genoa Renaissance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Porto Antico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Porto Antico Hotel Genoa
Best Western Genoa
Best Western Hotel Genoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing