We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, clean and helpful folks”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Baia di Rio

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Baia di Rio
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
“great location, clean and helpful folks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This was a very nice location, inland a bit but with great sea and town views. I especially appreciated it the nights the sea was rough; being in a bit helped deaden some of the noise. It's located at the crest of one of the paths from the train station to the main plaza which worked out very well because Emiliano and Maristella me us at the station and drove us to the front door. When we left, hauling our stuff down the hill to the station was a welcome change from what seems to be constant up-hill walking in the area. The room was comfortable and very clean. Emiliano and Maristella don't live on the premises, but were around periodically and changed towels. Beautiful town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    95
    22
    15
    5
See reviews for
55
260
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This hotel was so nice, clean and locally owned. We had a sea-view room for 3 with a balcony and the views were incredible. Emiliano and his mother were the most welcoming people and he even picked us up from the train station upon arrival. The beds were comfortable and all you could hear were the waves washing up on the harbor at night. There was also a train strike in Cinque Terre on the day of our departure and we ended up staying there one more night thanks to them. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed two nights in La Baia di Rio on the tail end of our trip through Italy. Our room had a great view of not only the sea, but the village as well. It was exactly what we needed - a place to relax while we explored the towns of Cinque Terre. Yes, you have to walk up a winding hilly road or up some stairs - but guess what - you have to do that where ever you stay. The town is built into a cliff so if you have issues going up and down hills/stairs, you might want to think about other destinations. Emiliano and his mother were quite helpful and gave us a good introduction to the town and some basic directions to find our way around.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I did a lot of research when I had to decide where to stay on the Cinque Terre. My choice to stay in Riomaggiore was mostly influenced by the reviews of the La Baia di Rio - we had to stay there, so Riomaggiore it was!

My husband and I stayed in the Marco Polo apartment. Wow! What can I say? The most perfect setting you can wish for! The most hospitable hosts you will ever find! The best view over the Cinque Terre possible! I certainly made the right decision.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilzedewet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

We booked into La Baia di Rio as a very last minute confirmation (we were already in Genoa and made the decision overnight to move on). When we emailed, Emiliano was fast and helpful with responses. On arriving at the train station, Emiliano's mother met us at the train and insisted on helping my wife drag her suitcase up the hill to the hotel. On the way, she kept pointing out various points of interest and spoke in pretty passable English. When we arrived, she settled us into our suite and gave us her suggestions to make the most out of our time in Cinque Terre. The suite itself was lovely, with a terrace that had an awesome view of the village and sea. The only downfall of our stay was the fact there is minimal soundproofing and we had the misfortune to be next to a bunch of noisy Americans (from the sound of it, probably the people who posted the last review). Overall the service was great, the hotel facilities were pretty good and it was definitely value for money in what is a horrendously overpriced part of Italy. Would stay again happily.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riomaggiore
1.8 km away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.4 km away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Villa Argentina
Hotel Villa Argentina
#7 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
8.6 km away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.7 km away
Due Gemelli
Due Gemelli
#9 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Baia di Rio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Baia di Rio

Property: La Baia di Rio
Address: Via Telemaco Signorini #177, Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
La Baia Di Rio Hotel Riomaggiore
La Baia Di Rio Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing