We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luna di Marzo
Nearby Hotels
Locanda del Sole(Riomaggiore)
US$ 171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Locanda Ca da Iride(Riomaggiore)(Great Value!)
US$ 208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
US$ 189
US$ 183
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Scogliera(Riomaggiore)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
NiRia(Riomaggiore)
La Baia di Rio(Riomaggiore)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Due Gemelli(Riomaggiore)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Affittacamere Edi(Riomaggiore)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Sol Levante(Riomaggiore)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Internet
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
111
70
14
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
70
14
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busamazing viewsclosest townthis place is a hidden gemhotel is locatedcinque terrebit inconvenientbus serviceterraced vineyardsoverlooking the seabeer or winethe hotel is cleancatch the traingreat terracesmall villagegood sizeclosed due
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My worst experience in years travelling. First of all the hotel is not in Riomaggiore but in a very small town. To go to Riomaggiore you need about 10 min in car and there is a bus service that takes half an hour. First lie. Second lie: the breeakfast. Usually breakfasts anywhere in Italy are abundant and delicious. We were the second couple there are got 2 small, old crossaints, a piece of jam and two watered coffees. The last and worst lie: the service. The owner seems to be the only person in service and apparently he hates it because he mistreat us from beginning to end. Since yelling at us for taking a cup during "breakfast" (while he was busy on his desk) to applying very unfair rates. This hotel is a scam and gives a bad reputation to a paradise like Cinque Terre. Save yourself and choose someplace else in this beautiful area.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PattiDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManarolaVolastra, Responsabile reception at Luna di Marzo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Good morning.
We preferred to make some clarifications to this review:
On our official website and 'clearly indicated the location of the hotel. Shuttle service and car takes about 5 minutes to cover the stretch of 1.8 km from the weigh in Manarola. Taking the footpath (no. 6d) about 25 minutes. A continental breakfast is served from 08.00 to 10.00, for those who decide to have breakfast after this time we offer coffee cappuccino croissant marmalade and fruit juice. The lords have warned of their early departure at 16.00 the same day, so we charged for the night because 'in October and' impossible to rent again room.We are in agreement with the gentlemen in defining the Cinque Terre, but a paradise to live with a completely different spirit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

First I would like people to know that Luna Di Marzo is in Volastra and not the town of Riomaggiore. This town has only one restaurant however there is a shuttle bus that will bring you to Manorella from where you can take the train to visit the different areas of CInque Terre and also to eat at different restaurants but the shuttle stops at 7:45 p.m. so you are back at the hotel at 8 p.m. with a t.v. that is only Italian except for one channel. Now for the hotel. We had the room with the balcony, Amazing views very clean room, lovely bathroom but unfortunately the soundproofing of this hotel is terrible. You can hear everything Showers, toilets flushing people talking. Once all the guest are sleeping it is very quiet for no noise from outside .As for the welcoming it was terrible. We had the impression that the hotel manager who is the owner hated his job. Very sullen and seem to hate to be disturbed. For example: The first morning we were there we found out that the breakfast was buffet. The manager was sitting at his computer and merely pointed at the food that was set out on a small table. The utensils were praticly hidden from view. So we went to get what we needed to eat outside .My husband pourred 2 glasses of orange juice and the manager arrived very annoyed at him for doing so .He was the one who poured the juice and coffee. How were we to know? All the other hotels ,the personnel comes to ask you what you want to drink . The next day we waited and he was sighing the whole time he was preparing the coffee. As beautiful as the views are from the hotel I do not recommend it

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank madddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My 21-year-old daughter and I stayed here for two nights. The views are incredible and the gardens and vineyards surrounding the hotel are lovely. The room was spacious and very well maintained. The breakfast was very good. But the reason I am taking the time to write a review is because we received outstanding service from Eugenio. Due to poor planning on my part, we had a bit of a problem, but Eugenio came to our rescue and resolved it for us. I would love to stay at Luna di Marza again, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind scheduling their time around the bus service. I think the beauty of this place more than makes up for any inconvenience due to remoteness.

Room Tip: Room number 8 has the best balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank jfvigil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Stayed at Luna di Marzo for three nights. Hotel is located in Volastra, up the hill from Manarola. Overall, it is a comfortable and decent hotel, however its location has some drawbacks.
First the positives
1) the view is amazing. On top of the hill looking out over the Mediterranean with Manarola to your left and Corniglia to your right.
2) Rooms are modern and comfortable
3) Breakfast is simple, but decent - continental breakfast with the option of scrambled eggs
4) Staff are friendly
5) Nice hikes down to Manarola and Corniglia (25 mins and 1 hour respectively)

The negatives:
All about the remoteness of the location. Volastra is a good 40min+ hike straight up hill from Manarola. There is a shuttle bus which links Manarola to Volastra - comes every half an hour or so and costs €1.80 per trip (unless you have unlimited travel included in your Cinque Terra Pass). Also, the shuttle bus stops at 7pm each night which makes dinner decisions difficult.
Currently there are no eating options in Volastra as the one restaurant in under renovation.
If you choose to eat in Manarola, the hotel manager, Eugenio will kindly drive down to pick you up when you are ready. Just make sure you let him know that you plan to eat out before you do so. Given the inconvenience of dragging Eugenio down to pick you up, one feels slightly reluctant to stay out too late (have dinner anywhere other than Manarola/have a drink after dinner)

Overall a decent hotel, but one needs to be mindful of potential inconveniences to wait for shuttle/organise pick-up from Manarola to Volastra. If you have a car then the hotel would be perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank LilSco24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

My wife and I absolutely loved our stay here and we wished could have stayed a couple more nights. The location is remote and very quiet compared to the busy towns in Cinque Terre. Although we were away from everything, we were only a short 5-10 minute shuttle bus ride back down the mountain to the towns. It was actually very nice to walk down through the vineyards in the morning to get into town and only takes 20-25 minutes, We found it to be a beautiful way to kick off our day.
The is accommodation is very clean with stunning views and a very nice breakfast restaurant that overlooks the ocean. Eugene is extremely helpful and wanted us to be comfortable while we were there.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Billy77_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews