We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“major inconvenience at the costumers expense” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa Dei Limoni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa Dei Limoni
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“major inconvenience at the costumers expense”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

There is plenty of beautiful treks throughout Cinque Terra. That's why it is unnecessary to have one of the treks be to reach your hotel. I read the website and was aware of the steps, and I made sure to ask and inform the hotel in several emails that I was traveling with a suitcase and that I would need help. When I did arrive with no help around, I panicked. Later they told me I had to call them rather than send an email because maybe the connection was not working? All I can say is if you have even a medium sized bag, not only is the hike up difficult, it is dangerous and slippery. Not to mention the major construction site that blocks your view looking down to the water. Every customer who I happened to watch arrive had the same reaction. No one there to help them with their bags and they could not believe the climb up to the hotel. My room was the worst in the hotel, right off the main entrance and the windows for my view was the breakfast seating so I had no privacy. Very expensive for little service and an inconvenient location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenniferNYCThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    45
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
94
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We had read the reviews about the non-working air conditioning and steep climb, but decided to tough it out anyways... to our regret. The steps would have been fine to climb two to four times a day without luggage, but with luggage they were like a fitness boot camp, requiring us to change sweat-drenched clothes afterwards. And even though we asked for an air-conditioned room before arriving, we were told when we got there the air conditioning doesn't come on until June 1st.

They did, however, have a fan in the room, which unfortunately barely worked at all the first night, then died the next day for the remainder of our stay. We left messages with management to replace or fix the fan but they didn't reply nor was it mentioned at check-out. This made our stay there pretty uncomfortable, and we learned from fellow travelers that other hotels and BnB's all had air conditioning.

The hotel claims refrigerators in the rooms, ours had none.

The hotel claims to have wifi, but it only works in the lobby (they tell you this upon arrival), and they turn it off at 930pm.

The upside is the location has great views, friendly management, and nice breakfasts, but I'd prefer an air-conditioned room when visiting a city in high, hot season.

Room Tip: For hikers and fit travelers only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SardarG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Marais, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Staying at La Casa Dei Limoni is about travelling, not tourism. If you need taxis and a bus to take you to the door look elsewhere. If travelling is looking for the next adventure, this is the place for you.

I'm 60, my wife and I were hauling heavy backpacks, daypacks, and a ski bag. We walked into Old Town and heard the school kids singing in the square and the local band playing - celebrating 150 years of Italian unity. We headed up the street, and yes, up the steps. We were met almost at the top by Valentina coming out of the lemon grove. She escorted us up the remaining steps to the hotel.

She squeezed fresh lemons for our welcoming lemonades, and served us lemon cake just out of the oven. We too stayed in the room just off the lobby and we loved it. We spent little time in our room because there is so much to see and do, but Valentina and Massimo are the reason we enjoy staying in small "mom and pop" places. Genuine, caring people who work hard to make your stay an enjoyable one. Bonissimo and thank you!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grandmaraistravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

My girlfriend and I booked a room in Casa Dei Limoni for 3 nights for the duration of our stay in Cinque Terre. Casa Dei Limoni is located in Monterosso which is the most north village in Cinque Terre. The house is located on a hill at the end of main street, overlooking the whole village. It's a newly renovated - and nicely decorated with a modern touch - farm house surrounded with lemon and olive trees. Generally all the 5 villages are pretty quite at nights and not much of a night life however it seemed like Monterosso is better than the other 4 in that sense and that was why we chose Monterosso as our base.
Our room had a nice balcony overlooking the village - beautiful view - which we used every morning to have a cup of tea and enjoy the view. They also served continental breakfast which was decent and included deli meats, cereal, fruits and yogurt and so on.
Just as everyone else mentioned, there is a stairway to get to the house which was not a problem at all (we were expecting worse). You should be prepared for some hiking if you go to Cinque Terre anyway.
Overall we were very happy with our stay and would definitely recommend Casa Dei Limoni to anyone who plans to stay in Monterosso.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diehard84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

The B&B itself is clean and more or less comfortable, but it is out of the way, and the climb up with luggage (ours was minimal), truly strenuous. Our room was directly off the main lobby, without as much as a hallway separating it, and although our confirmation said that we would be getting an "ocean view" room, it actually faced the mountain and highway (not a bad view, but certainly not the ocean). The complimentary breakfast was plentiful. The manager/owners were polite and helpful (if not particularly friendly) and gave really good recommendations for dinner (Belvedere restaurant--- excellent). All that said, I would probably consider trying a different place to stay than Casa dei Limoni next time I'm in Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.0 km away
B&B Il Parco
B&B Il Parco
#1 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.4 km away
Il Timone Camere
Il Timone Camere
#7 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Locanda a Ca du Gigante
Locanda a Ca du Gigante
#19 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 km away
Bellambra - first class rooms and vacation apartment
Bellambra - first class rooms an...
#11 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 km away
Alle 5 Terre
Alle 5 Terre
#20 of 50 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Dei Limoni? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Dei Limoni

Property: La Casa Dei Limoni
Address: Via Soviore, 6 | Localita Balanello, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,191 - ₹ 14,071
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
La Casa Dei Limoni Hotel Monterosso Al Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing