We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Good Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Colonnina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Colonnina Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Good Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

I chose La Colonnina Hotel because of the tripadvisor reviews. I was not disappointed in this hotel or in Monterosso as the Cinque Terre town we chose to stay in. Hot after our travelling, we were immediately offered their splendid lemon drink to cool us. Our room was comfortable with an excellent bed. We chose a room with a balcony but given it was October, we did not sit out there much. It and the roof garden would be excellent in hotter weather. A problem with the hot water supply in the hotel was dealt with efficiently. Most importantly, every one of the reception staff was exceptionally helpful, particularly with advice when an unexpected train strike eventuated!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    127
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
98
246
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Three friends and I, all working in the South African Tourism industry have just returned from a wonderful two week trip touring Italy. Staying in mostly four star hotels and having been disappointed at the standards in general, we were kind of dreading what we would find at a three star hotel out of the city ! However, we need not have worried as this little gem of a hotel put all the other hotels we had stayed in to shame. Firsly location wise, it is a ten minute easy walk from the station or 7 euros in a taxi. It is nicely located just up from a piazza where there are several restaurants and trattorias to chose from and where the prices were a lot cheaper from those in the big cities. Our room was one of the newly refurbished rooms with a lovely terrace, however I also saw some of the rooms that have yet to be refurbished and there was really nothing wrong with them. For the first time, we were able to swing a cat in our room and had space to move around. There were also lovely bathroom amenities included. The view from the room, looked over the village, but up on the 4th floor is a lovely terrace that also enjoys a view of the sea. Breakfast is served each morning with a basic but appetising continental selection, in a lovely light airy room. My only small complaint would be that the breakfast supervisor needs to possibly undergo some customer service training - she was a bit matron like. The girls on reception though were completely different and for us really made the hotel stay special. Apart from speaking very good English and always being very helpful with regards to local information, they went beyond the call of duty several times when assisting one of our party who had broken his foot a few days before in a scooter accident. On the day we left, there were torrential rains and we almost did not make it to the station on time, however we eventually got away and left with extremely fond memories. The next day though, we were very shocked to read in the local newspaper in Milan our next stop, that Monterosso and neighbouring Vernazza had been practically wiped out from trecherous floods, that saw the hill behind the village cause a landslide. Several people are meant to have sadly died too. Since my return a few days ago, I have unsuccessfully tried to call the hotel to check they are ok - but cannot seem to get through. Hopefully this village can recover from such an experience, I for one would like to go back again one day.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This friendly and welcoming hotel was in a great location for walking the Cinque Terre and visiting the beautiful villages. The welcome was so friendly and the room was excellent, clean and well equipped. Location was ideal, close to the attractive village with many welcoming restaurants. We enjoyed a very enjoyable stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Monterosso at the the Hotel La Colonnina. From the moment we arrived we felt immediately welcome - the front desk staff were so friendly, helpful and genuine. The nicest hotel staff of any of the hotels we stayed in in Italy. Our room was clean, simple and modern. Good size and we had a balcony off our room which we didn't fully utilize as the mosquitoes were out in full force during our visit. The location was great - just up the hill a bit from the town and very quiet and peaceful. It was so easy to walk to restaurants, the hiking trail, the beach, the ferry and even the train station (10 min). We really enjoyed our restaurant experiences on the coast as well - especially Il Casello up on the hill, overlooking the sea. It was by far our best restaurant experience in Italy - the food was great, the service warm, friendly and charming, the atmosphere and views - magical. We went back twice as it was so memorable. Also had a great meal at the Belvedere. The hotel also has a lovely rooftop deck where you can go and relax with a glass of wine and enjoy the views. The breakfast was great and served in a lovely, large and bright room overlooking the courtyard. A great way to start the day. Overall - highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AllysonJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We had been to Monterrosso for a wedding five years ago, and had stayed at the splendid, but expensive Porto Roco. This time we opted for the Coloninna, which turned out to be a good, more affordable, option. Their breakfast was nice, with a large selection of fruits, crossaints, drinks and other breakfast items of your choice. It's only a block or so from Piazza Garibaldi and the beach, so you can be right in the middle of the action without the noise or hustle-bustle if you like. They also have a couple of community porches, including the rooftop, where you can just relax and enjoy wine or snacks bought in the great little shops in the surrounding streets.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.1 km away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Colonnina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colonnina Hotel

Property: La Colonnina Hotel
Address: Via Zuecca 6, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Hotel La Colonnina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing