We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediterranean and marmalade delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Steno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mediterranean and marmalade delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Villa Steno for a week in September and were so grateful at having discovered such a wonderful hotel in a very quiet location with a beautiful view over the town and out to the Mediterranean from the balcony where breakfast could be taken. The accommodation is without fault and totally spotless and the air-conditioning was really appreciated as our first couple of days saw a level of high humidity and heat. Carla and Matteo are very attentive hosts and Carla's pastries and homemade lemon marmalade at breakfast time were memorable. The hotel is only minutes from a range of restaurants in the town. Monterosso is perfectly located for walking along the coast and sometimes returning by train, the service is quite frequent. If you have the opportunity a visit to Porto Venere is well worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coastwalker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    81
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
345
554
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Driving in to Monterosso on a damp afternoon in early summer, I was worried that it might not live up to my expectations.......but that worry was short lived! Villa Steno was welcoming and above all, an Italian experience.Bursting with hospitality and views,it also had the most wonderful pathway to reach the town centre... past lemon groves, through old iron gates, then between century old buildings out onto the street....a short, but magical stroll. The views from the hotel were serene, the breakfast fresh and varied. Villa Steno was the perfect place from which to explore Monterosso and the whole of the Cinque Terre...a place where you felt that you were not just a visitor, but could soak in enough to be considered just a little bit Italian! Thankyou!
Fiona, Australia

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, B.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

After our three nights in Hotel Villa Steno in Monterossa al Mare this October, we agreed that it is one of our favourite European hotels. Carla and Matteo's management of this small boutique hotel provides a welcoming atmosphere. The rooms are immaculate with modern bathroom amenities, free WIFI and large, comfortable beds. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel's location is worth the upward hike to enjoy magnificent views of the old town and the sea. (Note: taxi service to the front door is available.) The buffet breakfast selections were substantial and easily sustained us throughout the day. We thought that Monterossa al Mare was the ideal village to explore the Cinque Terre from and the Hotel Villa Steno an excellent choice to stay in.

Room Tip: West facing rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinterVictoriaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Certainly the best hotel we stayed at during our tour of Italy. The staff were extremely
helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was fantastic. Great view and the room
opened out to a relaxing garden area form which the view was awesome - across the town and
out to the sea. The room was larger than the usual Italian hotel room and the hotel provided free internet service complete with computer! Just a superb hotel.
(Caution! If you are not confident on your feet there are 130 steps from the main street to the
hotel entrance ! but worth every step when you get there.)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, MS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Of our recent vacation in Italy, we liked this hotel the best. Its balcony views of the Cinque Terre were wonderful. The breakfasts were so very good, the rooms were lovely, the staff were all so friendly and helpful - oh wow, wish I were still there in Monterosso, sipping coffee from my balcony at the Hotel Villa Steno!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterosso al Mare hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.1 km away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Property: Hotel Villa Steno
Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,452 - ₹ 18,177
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing