We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise!”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We had an amazing time in this hotel. We arrived late by train and Delia(one of the owners) came to pick us up with no problem. The hotel is a short free shuttle ride(in winter runs till 5:00 pm)from the train station. We stayed in Monterosso just after the unfortunate landslides but still had a wonderful time even though most of the city was shut down. Honestly, we had no problem just relaxing at the hotel while drinking wine and sitting next to the fireplace with" Elvis"( their very cute dog.)The room was very nice and clean, and they provided some nice bath soap and lotion. The bed was also very comfy. You should definitely eat at the restaurant as well, and the pesto pasta is a must! We felt like part of their family, and would/will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    57
    27
    14
    5
See reviews for
34
77
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We were staying here right when the rains came and the terrible flood/landslide hit Monterosso. Fortunately the hotel is situated high on the hill and was not damaged, however we were stranded in Lavento and unable to return to the hotel overnight. Hotel owners Delia and John were most helpful during this crisis. They were extremely concerned for our safety and assisted us to be able to return to their hotel and then kept us informed about the situation and helped us to plan our transportation out of Monterosso during an extremely difficult time for themselves and their friends and families. The hotel was very comfortable and welcoming, the restaurant is fabulous, even as the drama unfolded a beautiful meal was prepared for ourselves and also the many emergency service personell who had made the hotel a comand post during the emergency.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Monterosso Alto for one night, at the end of an unpleasant day. I'm very happy to say that the inn, the restaurant, and the staff went a long way to restoring a pleasant mood.

As mentioned in previous posts the inn is located at the junction of SP38 & the local road leading "down the hill" to Monterosso al Mare proper. It's not far to the village, but if you've ever traveled the roads in the Cinque Terra you know that there is very little relation between distance and travel time so even though it's only about 5 km., it still takes 20 minutes via the free shuttle to get to town.

The rooms were quite modern and very clean, bathrooms were also nice and clean. I overheard one guest comment (not in a nasty way...more amused than anything) that the rooms looked like they followed the "modern IKEA" motif, but I think that is just a reflection of the modern type of furniture as opposed to the "Holiday Inn" standard you'd find in North America. It didn't detract from the room at all and, in fact, I found it most appealing.

We arrived later in the day, in the early evening. After checking in we decided in favor of an early relaxing meal instead of taking the shuttle in to town...I had the ravioli bolognese and my wife had, if I recall correctly, a penne dish with a cream sauce. Both were homemade and very tasty. The house red wine was local, and quite good. Following the meal I hung around the bar/dining room and talked to the proprietor for a while (he and his wife are a young couple)...got to have my first taste of grappa, which I later described to one of my friends as "like tequila without the nice tequila taste"...and yes, I AM being facetious. Grappa is not to my taste.

Breakfast was pretty typical "continental buffet" fare...fresh breads and some pastries, fruit, juice, cappuccino. I can't recall if there was hot food available for an extra charge - sorry, didn't pay enough attention. The outdoor patio area was nicely decorated and a very pleasant atmosphere for breakfast - it was also a very pleasant place to have a glass of wine or two the evening before.

To summarize, a very nice little inn with friendly and helpful staff. Made our time in the Cinque Terra that much more enjoyable and I wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: It appeared that at least one room didn't have an attached bath (ours did, but the room next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doug_Bowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We only stayed here 1 night...just to get a taste of Cinque Terre. The hotel was about 20 mins away form Monterosso as such but there were local buses and the hotel provided a free shuttle to and from the town. The rooms are on the small side but beautifully furnished and had good bathrooms. There is a great outside seating area for a drink and breakfast. We were given a great recommendation for dinner in Monterosso...the most romantic setting right on the cliff top...amazing to be sitting outside looking at the sea and candles on the steps. The meal was fantastic. We had a car so the free parking was very welcome. The staff were excellent - young and enthusiastic.

Room Tip: Wehad a room at the back. Initially we were concerned about what seemed to ge noise from a generato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naples64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
178 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I've read reviews about this hotel being a little out of the way. It is, in fact, above Monterosso and you have to take the hotel shuttle or a taxi into town. We did not find it to be a problem because the hotel was extremely helpful and getting us to and from town. The "speedy taxi" has an arrangment with the hotel after hours so you don't have to pay a fare.

The room we had was clean and comfortable. You have your own bathroom. They provide breakfast and it's a typical European fare and it was good.

We were driving and had a hard time finding the hotel and so we called and they were very helpful and guided us in.

It was an enjoyable stay and we would stay there again if and when we finally return to Cinque Terre!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
1.7 km away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
8.3 km away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.2 km away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel 5 Terre
Hotel 5 Terre
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monterosso Alto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterosso Alto

Property: Hotel Monterosso Alto
Address: Loc. Colle di Gritta, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,759 - ₹ 13,996
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monterosso Alto 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Monterosso Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing