We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Souvenir(Monterosso al Mare)
US$ 156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Suisse Hotel Bellevue(Monterosso al Mare)
US$ 233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Adriana(Monterosso al Mare)
US$ 210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Degli Amici(Monterosso al Mare)
US$ 193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Spiaggia(Monterosso al Mare)
US$ 221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Poesia(Monterosso al Mare)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Margherita(Monterosso al Mare)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Porto Roca(Monterosso al Mare)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 5 Terre(Monterosso al Mare)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Marina(Monterosso al Mare)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
55
64
34
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
64
34
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleshuttle servicehotel parkinggnocchirecommend this hotelcroissantslate at nightvisit cinque terresmall roomnice breakfasthiking trailbreakfast buffetrooms are cleanwould definitely stay here againtwo nightsglass of winehill
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We were staying here right when the rains came and the terrible flood/landslide hit Monterosso. Fortunately the hotel is situated high on the hill and was not damaged, however we were stranded in Lavento and unable to return to the hotel overnight. Hotel owners Delia and John were most helpful during this crisis. They were extremely concerned for our safety and assisted us to be able to return to their hotel and then kept us informed about the situation and helped us to plan our transportation out of Monterosso during an extremely difficult time for themselves and their friends and families. The hotel was very comfortable and welcoming, the restaurant is fabulous, even as the drama unfolded a beautiful meal was prepared for ourselves and also the many emergency service personell who had made the hotel a comand post during the emergency.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Monterosso Alto for one night, at the end of an unpleasant day. I'm very happy to say that the inn, the restaurant, and the staff went a long way to restoring a pleasant mood.

As mentioned in previous posts the inn is located at the junction of SP38 & the local road leading "down the hill" to Monterosso al Mare proper. It's not far to the village, but if you've ever traveled the roads in the Cinque Terra you know that there is very little relation between distance and travel time so even though it's only about 5 km., it still takes 20 minutes via the free shuttle to get to town.

The rooms were quite modern and very clean, bathrooms were also nice and clean. I overheard one guest comment (not in a nasty way...more amused than anything) that the rooms looked like they followed the "modern IKEA" motif, but I think that is just a reflection of the modern type of furniture as opposed to the "Holiday Inn" standard you'd find in North America. It didn't detract from the room at all and, in fact, I found it most appealing.

We arrived later in the day, in the early evening. After checking in we decided in favor of an early relaxing meal instead of taking the shuttle in to town...I had the ravioli bolognese and my wife had, if I recall correctly, a penne dish with a cream sauce. Both were homemade and very tasty. The house red wine was local, and quite good. Following the meal I hung around the bar/dining room and talked to the proprietor for a while (he and his wife are a young couple)...got to have my first taste of grappa, which I later described to one of my friends as "like tequila without the nice tequila taste"...and yes, I AM being facetious. Grappa is not to my taste.

Breakfast was pretty typical "continental buffet" fare...fresh breads and some pastries, fruit, juice, cappuccino. I can't recall if there was hot food available for an extra charge - sorry, didn't pay enough attention. The outdoor patio area was nicely decorated and a very pleasant atmosphere for breakfast - it was also a very pleasant place to have a glass of wine or two the evening before.

To summarize, a very nice little inn with friendly and helpful staff. Made our time in the Cinque Terra that much more enjoyable and I wouldn't hesitate recommending it to anyone.

Room Tip: It appeared that at least one room didn't have an attached bath (ours did, but the room next door did not).
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doug_Bowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We only stayed here 1 night...just to get a taste of Cinque Terre. The hotel was about 20 mins away form Monterosso as such but there were local buses and the hotel provided a free shuttle to and from the town. The rooms are on the small side but beautifully furnished and had good bathrooms. There is a great outside seating area for a drink and breakfast. We were given a great recommendation for dinner in Monterosso...the most romantic setting right on the cliff top...amazing to be sitting outside looking at the sea and candles on the steps. The meal was fantastic. We had a car so the free parking was very welcome. The staff were excellent - young and enthusiastic.

Room Tip: Wehad a room at the back. Initially we were concerned about what seemed to ge noise from a generator but this was turned off before we went to bed and not on beofre we were up and ready to go.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naples64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I've read reviews about this hotel being a little out of the way. It is, in fact, above Monterosso and you have to take the hotel shuttle or a taxi into town. We did not find it to be a problem because the hotel was extremely helpful and getting us to and from town. The "speedy taxi" has an arrangment with the hotel after hours so you don't have to pay a fare.

The room we had was clean and comfortable. You have your own bathroom. They provide breakfast and it's a typical European fare and it was good.

We were driving and had a hard time finding the hotel and so we called and they were very helpful and guided us in.

It was an enjoyable stay and we would stay there again if and when we finally return to Cinque Terre!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Clean, modern, affordable rooms with staff that took care of with spectacular service. We were extremely comfortable and felt both pampered and at home here. It's an oasis on top of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews