We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard walk but worth it”

Footpath Monterosso - Vernazza
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 136.72*
and up
Cinque Terre Sailing Day Trip from La Spezia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hard walk but worth it”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We walked on Easter Monday and started about 9am. Walk is hard, climbing up steps for what seems an eternity but the views up and down the coat are magnificent. You walk by the terraced vineyards and across bridges that are very old. Walking into Varnessa you can still see the devestation of the floods with parts of houses washed away.
Make sure you leave early for this walk, we encountered few people until we were about 30 mins from Varnessa, much nicer to without crowds as the pathways can be very narrow.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,731
    639
    142
    41
    51
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kiev
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“breathtaking”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

the path gives breathtaking views on the sea and vernazza, Amust of the cinqueterre

Helpful?
Thank veronika s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“We got engaged here!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

It was incredibly romantic! Look out for the steps down to the sea. We had a great time jumping from rock to rock in the sea.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank caitpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wrong way - Go Back!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We were two fit, though septuagenarian travellers, and found the direction Monterosso to Vernazza very steep indeed. On completion, we were told it's much easier to do the walk in reverse!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank ellafj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Paths 8b and 9....Not for the unfit but a satisfying hike.”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The coastline path has closed (due to flood damage) so I took the long route over the hills. (The signs at Vernazza said that 8B was also closed). There were a couple of slips that had covered the path, but these were safe and easy to pass (perhaps if it had been wet then might have been less safe).
The climb up out of Vernazza is steep so be prepared. The path is pretty good on this side...mostly well maintained paving. After a long climb you come to the road. Turn left and follow the road north until you find the start of the 8b path. This meanders along and is quite rough. A lot of small ups and downs, on rocky ground with some lose gravel, so one needs to take care. Then more walking along the road. Now the turnoff onto Track 9 down to Monterosso can be a bit hard to pick. It drops down from the road, past a couple of holiday villas then past the church. Then turn down the hill. Now the descent to Monterosso is steep, and on a well-formed but heavily cobbled surface for the most part. There are now views as you descend through a pine forest, but that is good because you have to concentrate on your foot placement on each step because of the size of the stone base. I found this to be the hardest part of the hike. For those with lmited time or fitness, I'd suggest perhaps doing the climb up from Vernazza and then retracing your steps.
The whole trek (Vernazza to Monterosso) took me 2.5 hours, and I am a fit and quick walker, so allow plenty of time. There is nowhere on the path to get water, so make sure you take plenty.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew_NZ120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Footpath Monterosso - Vernazza also viewed

Vernazza, Cinque Terre
Cinque Terre, Italian Riviera
 
Cinque Terre, Italian Riviera
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Footpath Monterosso - Vernazza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing