We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Porto Roca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Porto Roca
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Beautiful views, as mentioned by many previous reviews. This is really the reason to stay here. (Although note that beautiful views mean walking a pretty intense hill back up to the hotel!)
We were on the first floor, which meant a small balcony with only one chair. We were disappointed when we first saw but in reality we did not spend much time in the room. I did not find the rooms to small, as other have mentioned.
The service was excellent. We found the staff very helpful and they provided great restaurant recommendations in town. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant with the exception of the buffet breakfast, which I found to be the standard Italian breakfast buffet - good, but nothing over the top.
Others have mentioned that there was not a pool - we were there mid-May and they were re-doing the pool. It looked nearly complete.
Overall, we had a wonderful stay and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Upper floors had better balconies - try and request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    191
    60
    40
    14
See reviews for
103
325
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Hotel Porto Roca is an old school place with beautiful flowers that line the driveway up to the reception area. Our room, 304 was on the top floor. The rooms are small for the price, but the balcony and terrace with the most incredible view are actually larger than the room. That said, the room had more than enough room for our two mid size bags and the bathroom was large enough with a real shower (i.e enclosed area). If you want a larger living space (i.e. bed ,desk, etc.) and a smaller bathroom, try the 2nd floor ocean views. Dinner at the hotel was not what one would expect for the ambiance and service level of the establishment. Most of the dishes we observed were very traditional and lacked creativity in our opinion.  My beef fillet in balsamic sauce was overcooked as were the accompanying vegetables. However, my spouse's rabbit was prepared perfectly. Service was attentive, but I wouldn't want to be asked to recommend a dish if I was a waiter there. Prices were on the high side. The bar area is inviting and a drink on the terrace overlooking the garden with views of the ocean in the afternoon is memorable. The barman, Simone, will take good care of you. Wifi reception was not good from our room and not consistent from the lobby. Breakfast was similar to all places we visited in Italy on this trip with the exception of the added scrambled eggs and bacon that wasn't available at other places except for Bologna Hotel Pisa. Pickup by taxi from the train station is free, but call ahead to the hotel to arrange.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have the best view, but I think you get more living space and nearly as good a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redroverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

No pool as advertised. Only one chair on small terrace of double room. Staff is helpful but can only imagine it is an issue with ownership. Location is good.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with large terrace. DO NOT book through Expedia or any of it's affiliat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeliHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We had an excellent meal at the the hotel restaurant. We walked up the hill to the Hotel and asked the bar area waiter if we could have a drink and could he make dinner reservations which he promptly arranged.
Our meals were excellent with great service and the view from our table on the terrace was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfbb0541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We checked in to the Porto Roca for a 4 day weekend- what we found was a fantastic hotel with very friendly staff- everyone went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. We drove to Monterosso al mare & note that there is no parking @ the hotel (a good thing) so you need to park in the main parking lot in Monterosso (15 Euros/24hrs) Its a safe lot- so dont worry. We waited for a taxi @ the taxi stand right up from the lot (if you have heavy bags- make sure you park as close to the ramp as possible as the taxi stop is just up from that- close to the sports court) Waited for a taxi- you need to take a little taxi as the road leading up to the hotel is VERY narrow- we didnt feel like waiting so we hoofed it through town & then up the hill (we should have taken a taxi- its a 5 min ride) A beautiful walk though with beautiful views of the sea & beach. Checked in, no problem, was shown to our room that had the most spectacular view....... Large 2 room suite with a beautiful terrace with 2 lounge chairs, an umbrella & 2 chairs & a table. Ample room for afternoon sunning & having some great local wine. Room was nicely appointed. Ceiling fans, a/c's in both the living room & the bedroom- not really needed yet though- but they worked. Nice modern bathroom, dual sinks & lots of counter space & electrical outlets. Jetted tub & good shower- its one of those with all the jets all over- which were a little "aggressive"- there are plenty of options in that shower though.. It seemed a little small though with the door closed- but it was a good shower- great water pressure & good hot water & it was clean! Didnt really use the toiletries- but there was a good supply of them. Bed was firm with nice linens & nice large pillows- there were also extra in the walk in closet. Flat screen t.v in both the bedroom & the living room- worked well. There is no clock in the room- not that you really need one when you are on vacation :) Room could have used a radio or something you could hook up an Ipod to to play some music though. Taking the hike to Vernazza you can hop on the trail right from the hotel & you can see the pool that is under construction- nearly done & its going to be FABULOUS!!!! I asked when it was going to be complete but really didnt get an answer- hopefully soon for the summer season- they are nearly there. Although- hopefully they put up some sort of a barrier so everyone on the hiking trail wont be staring @ you while waiting to buy the tickets for the hike. We would certainly go back to be able to hang out @ this pool- the views will be fantastic!!!! We ate dinner @ the hotel 1 night & it was great- no complaints, great food, service, wine & view from the restaurant terrace. Feral cats are around the property & are there to control the rodent population- they are all over the village as well- great mousers. We took to one that was on the terrace that loved a little bit of steak we were feeding it :)
Would really recommend this hotel if you are looking to go to the Cinque Terre- Monterosso is the largest of the 5 villages- it has been rebuilt form the floods of October- Vernazza still has some repairs to go- but they are almost there. Recommend that you hike form Monterosso to Vernazza & not the other way around. Bring water & start early so its cooler & it takes 2 hours & worth it. It starts out tough then gets better.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room that has a large terrace that has the lounge chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
6.5 km away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.6 km away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#6 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#5 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Roca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Roca

Property: Hotel Porto Roca
Address: Localita Corone 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,318 - ₹ 50,187
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porto Roca 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porto Roca is located 200 metres from the historic centre of Monterosso and at the start to the 5 terre path. Its extraordinary location between land and sky on the sea offers a relaxing oasis far from noise and stress of everyday modern life. It boasts 40 air-conditioned rooms and 3 suites. Our chef offers traditional and typical local dishes in our panoramic inside and outside restaurants overlooking the sea and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Porto Roca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Roca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing