We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breakfast with a room”
Review of La Serra sul Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Serra sul Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“breakfast with a room”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We had a wonderful time in the Cinque terre, only enhanced by the warm welcome and lovely room at La Serra sul Mare. The highlight was definately breakfast! We were given a lavish breakfast of eggs, juice, coffee, crepes, fruit, yoghurt, breads and spreads and even tiramisu! The room was very comfortable and quite spacious. We also appreciated the free taxi service down the hill to the village (and even more appreciated then taxi ride back). We had a small balcony overlooking the sea where we could sit and recouperate after walking the track at the end of the day too. It was a fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: One of the rooms on the corner of the house with a view to the sea, we enjoyed our downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pfsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
110
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This small B & B was easy to find by car, had parking available and the 2 owners could not have been more hospitable from the moment we arrived. Our room was quaint and beautifully decorated, very romantic for our honeymoon. We stayed 2 nights but could easily have stayed longer. The 3 highlights for us include; the free taxi service to & from Monterosso town centre (not far but very steep climb) available early until midnight! The views from the B & B were breath-taking, uninterupted views on the ocean and hills and the peace & quiet to go with it & above all THE BREAKFAST was magnificent; plate after plate of delicious foods brought to our table on the terrace; fruit, eggs, pastries, yoghurts, crepes, cakes, cofee & juice - more food than we'd ever eaten for breakfast! A nice touch was having a snack left in our room each day. Perfect place to relax & we highly recommend, can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms - all have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in June and we never wanted to leave. Where to start on how perfect this is! OK well I will try. Firstly and the most important of all, Fanny and Sabrinia the mother and daughter owners are the most beautiful people we have ever met, they are so friendly, helpful, kind and generous. They treat you like you are their favourite family members. Their breakfasts that they cook (Fanny having a owned a restaurant previously for maybe 30 yrs I think) are the best in the world and we have travelled all around the world. They just bring out one beautiful course after another and the tables are decorated so beautifully with roses and rose petals scattered around the table. The view from the terrace eating breakfast overlooking the sea is just supberb!
The rooms are very nicely decorated with the most beautiful views from every room and they leave lovely treats to eat in your room when you get back from your sightseeing every day.
They also provide a free taxi to take you down to the village and back again as often as you like. How many places would do that?
It is so much nicer staying up high on the hills overlooking Monterosso as opposed to staying down in the village. We wanted to stay in the village in the first place but could not get accommodation where we wanted to so as a second choice chose La Serra Sul Mare. We are so glad now that the other place was full otherwise we would never have stayed at this wonderful place. If we were to rate this place we would give it a 10/10 or 100%. More if that were possible.
Oh how we wish we were still there. Would love to stay there for about a month and just chill and relax. But there could be one problem with that, we may not fit into any of our clothes at the end because of those wonderful delicious breakfasts every day, but we would not miss one of those breakfasts for all the money in the world.
Thanks so much Fanny and Sabrina for giving us a slice of heaven on earth if only for a few days. It will live in our memory forever till the day we die.
This is the only place you should ever stay if you visit Monterosso!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vinmaz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed for four lovely nights here and it was fantastic. The owner and her daughter treat you like you are their family not guests, you are served a scrumptious breakfast that most people cannot finish, with leftovers put in your room for later. The room was immaculate and the owner even provides a taxi to town and back, although we prefered to walk into town as it was all dowhill and get a taxi back. If you are thinking of going to Monterosso you could not do better. We have travelled far and wide and to find an establishment such as this gem is rare indeed.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I really had a hard time choosing which hotel to stay in during my recent trip to Cinque Terre. My mom and I were traveling together, and this was her first time in Italy, so I wanted to make it a really special experience.

I narrowed my hotel choices down to two: La Serra sul Mare and another hotel that is not right in Cinque Terre, but a train ride away. Finally, after lots of reading, I landed on La Serra sul Mare, and I am SO glad I did. Here's why:

The hostess: Fanny is an incredible host, and her cooking is fit for royalty. Each day at breakfast she outdid herself from the previous day, which was hard to imagine. Also, there were delicious, home made treats left in our room every afternoon, which we enjoyed after a long day of hiking or swimming. On the last day, she even gave us the recipe for her delicious lemon bread. I'd love to move to Cinque Terre and have her teach me to cook!

Location: The location is ideal. I am SO glad we didn't stay outside of town somewhere. It was just perfect being able to hop in a taxi (for free--they have a deal with the B&B) and be in town three minutes later, or come back to the room quickly to change without having to wait on a train schedule. I was in Cinque Terre earlier this year and stayed near La Spezia--I will never do that again after the convenience and beauty of staying in Monterosso.

View: breathtaking, no matter which room you are in, because all rooms face the Mediterranean.

Decorating: From the Italian-country decor to the fresh flowers everywhere, this place just feels like you've stepped into another, more perfect world.

Value: La Serra sul Mare is an excellent value for the money.

In summary, you won't regret staying here. Just book early, because rooms are going to go quick once this place is discovered by more people! My mom and I agreed yesterday that we never wanted to leave Cinque Terre or La Serra sul Mare. We're already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beachgirl428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.5 km away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
609 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#8 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
592 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#14 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
298 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Villa Adriana
Hotel Villa Adriana
#9 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
438 reviews
6.5 km away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Serra sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Serra sul Mare

Property: La Serra sul Mare
Address: Loc. Serra, 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,955 - ₹ 16,624
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Serra sul Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Serra Sul Mare Hotel Monterosso Al Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing