We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced undercooced”
Review of La Barcaccia

La Barcaccia
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We came to this restaurant on recommendation and were deeply dissapointed. We both had a fish we like very much despite of price. It was not the fish they advertise or it was very purely prepared. Smelled badly and absolutely tasteless. On top of it it was not even properly cooked. When we complained we got 6% discount and no apology. And location is on the side street with no view, so I cannot see how they became so popular.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pepazdepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely little restaurant about a block from the harbor. It is quiet and has a mix of local Italian and foreign tourist clientele. The Italians at the next table had a massive lunch of seafood risotto and other dishes and ate it all with gusto. We shared a delicious mushroom pizza - thin crust with big chunks of wild mushrooms. Friendly service but, as with most Italian restaurants, you need to remind the server eventually to give you " Il conto ".

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank BostonNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Pasta was hard and undercooked. Another one was supposed to be traditional with pesto, but it was without taste. We had to ask for oil and salt. For that price it is really not worth it.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Desana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Monterosso has become as busy as Venice or Disneyland, so I am sure everybody struggles to cope including restaurants.

We had almost good if very informal service with quite lengthy waits. We did come at the peak of lunchtime, still one of few advantages of an international tourist focus spot is supposed to be readiness to provide good service at all times of day.
We had reserved and were guests of long-time regulars so this must be as good as it gets.

One of the dishes I tried was very good and in fact an interesting idea and novel to me: a combined platter of 5 different ways to make anchovies. Stuffed mussles in tomato sauce that others tried looked good, but in a very small serving (4 or 5 per person, I am afraid).

The other dish I tried was trofie (fresh pasta thin dumplings) al pesto, cooked OK if without the green beans and potatoes that do typically come with the recipe. Pesto itself, which is supposed to be quite zesty with garlic and sheep cheese and nutty with crumbled pineseeds, was as dull as the most basic sauce you get at supermarkets in Northern Italy, with very little nondescript cheese, zero garlic and pineseeds. Even basil, which is supposed to provide the main green herbal flavour, lacked any.
I understand another first course was similarly dull: pansoti (vegetable-and-cottage-cheese-stuffed ravioli) with walnut sauce. Others may have been better.

We opted out of pizzas and mixed small fry because both looked unimpressive on others' tables when we entered.

I am unsure about the total price; individual items were priced high, 10 to 13 euros for a starter or first course - as expected in one of the main streets of such a busy and popular little village.

We did like the company and overall experience, would still look elsewhere next time.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank GianlucaMarcellino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Don't go and don't waste your money like we did! For Everything that we needed the waitress had to be reminded endless times and faces as though we were from another planet. We ordered 5 main dishes and 4 of them came more or less simultaneously but the trofie pasta with pesto - came after EVERYONE had finished their main course and no warning was given that this dish takes longer to cook. This dish was horrible! Tasteless and was served for a weird reason with green beans and potatoes, as tasteless as the pesto which was not worth to eat. The waitress claimed that this is how Ligurian pesto is served - which is not the way other restaurants in the region serve this dish and not according to pesto we are used to and the dish was left untouched. Even after we complained about it no reimbursement or compensation was suggested. The chips- Margherita pizza was mediocre and chips were dry. The romana pizza was ok but light on the anchovies. The gluten-free pasta was undercooked and the tomato sauce plain and tasteless. The fried seafood was completely unexciting, dry and a small and the oil used for frying was bad. This portion was left barely eaten . We only went there because of the TripAdvisor 4-star ranking which is completely and utterly undeserved. Walk a few meters to find a better restaurant. The only advantage of this restaurant is a gluten-free menu. We asked for mixed salads as starters but got them in the end, after the main dishes! The green and mixed salads were good and generous. The restaurant seemed totally unconcerned about our obvious dissatisfaction.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Toya1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Barcaccia also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to La Barcaccia? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing