We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in beautiful town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
Ranked #10 of 17 Manarola B&B and Inns
Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place in beautiful town”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I stayed one night in Manarola and love this beautiful town. Franco is hospitable but barely speaks English. The hotel is upstairs of a restaurant that serves good breakfast. It's right at the end of tunnel when you leave train station. Although you can hear sound of train or people talking in the room, I still enjoy this ambiance.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    24
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
47
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hainburg an der Donau, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We went to Italy for a longer weekend and staid in Florence, Manarola and Milan. But for much more better Prices - with Breakfasts, minibars, TV, Internet etc... At Franco's you get a nice spacious 1 Bedroom apartment, separate living area and bathroom and one Kettle to make coffee and a fridge to store your food. However make sure you bring with you your own plate and knife, as this "basic" things are also not provided... Well 70€ just for a sleep over is for europe far too expensive!
Location is good - just outside the Train station tunnel, red building with an restaurant downstairs. We thought it will be noisy, but it wasn't, the only noise was coming from some kids playing football on the street at 23:00 ;) As Francos guests you get at this restaurant 10% discount, but we found this restaurant also a bit pricey, but I guess this was all Cinque terre...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

The room was exactly as shown in the pictures, but the bathroom was even better. It is large compared to many European 3 star hotels, with brand new fixtures (including a bidet), and kept spotlessly clean. It also has a large window, opening onto the outdoor entrance stairs, with wooden slatted shutters for circulation without losing privacy. The beds and pillows were comfortable, towels thick and plentiful, and we had a fan, fridge and coffee-making facilities in the room.

Franco is a gruff but friendly man, and we had no problems communicating with him, even though we don't speak Italian. The noise was more than we expected, though the trains were the least of it. The town's recycling bins are just across the street, and late at night as well as early morning, each restaurant dumps their stuff with a terrific crashing noise. Each bin is cleared once a day by a different truck (glass, plastic, paper, regular trash). But it must be said that there was no noise at all between midnight and 7am.

For late risers and light sleepers, it might be better to look elsewhere. But otherwise, the rooms are ideally located because they require no climbing through the streets, 2 minutes walk to the railway station, 2 minutes walk to the swimming area, a minutes walk to the viewing terrace/town square, a minute's walk to the grocery store, a minute's walk to most of the restaurants, and the balcony is a wonderful place to chill out in the evenings. Thank you, Franco!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Mostly I have found trip advisor to be really accurate with their recommendations however this was definitely an exception. Where do I start. Well firstly, there was a sign on the bathroom door which said when you want your towels changed just leave them on the floor and they will be collected. So, on the third day I did just that. The towels were still there three days later when I checked out.
Also, Camere Franco is directly above the turning point for vehicles in Manarola as well as all the recycle bins for the centre of town. So early every morning you get vehicles driving down, dumping all their bottles in the recycle bin (crash bang!!), and then reversing to head back up the street again. The reversing sound for vehicles in Italy sounds like a smoke alarm.
Oh, but it gets better. The accommodation is pretty much directly above the train line which thunders underneath the town day and night and you hear every single one, some more than others as not all trains stop in Manarola so they are louder. The walls in my room vibrated when some trains passed.
So all in all I left my stay there totally sleep deprived and vowing I would never return. By far the worst accommodation I had during my one month holiday. My recommendation. Stay in the backpackers. It looked far better. Don't get me wrong, the Cinque Terre is absolutely beautiful and I loved the region and the walks between the villages but don't stary in Manarola. My favourite town was Monterosso al Mare because it was on the beach, every train stopped there and lots of choice for places to eat.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whateva61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We loved our stay at the Camere Franco of Ca' de Capun. Franco was so nice and welcoming, he gave us some of his homemade Limoncello when we arrived and gave us helpful sightseeing and restaurant info for the Cinque Terre. We had a huge room with a balcony overlooking the tunnel of the train station and a private bathroom for a very good price (I think it was 65 euros per night). It is a very easy walk from the train station, which is nice when you are transporting heavy luggage. There is no air conditioning, but the fan kept us plenty cool. Manarola is my favorite of the 5 towns, and I would definitely stay at Camere Franco again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkladybug85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manarola
7.5 km away
Albergo Marina
Albergo Marina
#18 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
598 reviews
1.4 km away
Locanda del Sole
Locanda del Sole
#2 of 11 in Riomaggiore
295 reviews
0.9 km away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#4 of 11 in Riomaggiore
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Il BoMa
Il BoMa
#5 of 32 in Riomaggiore
362 reviews
0.1 km away
Da Paulin Rooms and apartments
0.0 km away
Ca' de Baran
Ca' de Baran
#14 of 17 in Manarola
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' de Capun Camere Franco? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' de Capun Camere Franco

Property: Ca' de Capun Camere Franco
Address: Via a. Discovolo 296, 19017 Manarola, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Manarola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manarola
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,340 - ₹ 9,852
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca de Capun apartments is a small association formed by property owners who rent out apartments and rooms via the web. The properties are all situated in the historic centre of Manarola, a small town inside the Cinque Terre National Park. The apartments and rooms have been recently renovated to offer maximum level of comfort and exceptional value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ca' de Capun Camere Franco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing