We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The perfect location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Haymarket, VA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The perfect location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you are looking for the perfect location, atmosphere, and ambiance, then this is your spot. Located directly on the Piazza Unita D'Italia, the Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta is the perfect spot from which to explore the city of Trieste. Checking in was surprisingly simple by car. There are temporary parking spots located directly to the side of the hotel from which you can offload your luggage and turn your keys over to the valet. The hotel staff was exceptionally professional and helpful, and upgraded us to a junior suite directly overlooking the piazza (with no prompting). Breakfast is served every morning in Harry's Bar, and is a great value. My wife and I were able to explore the entire downtown area on foot from this location in a matter of only a few hours. Grand, glorious, and historical.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    169
    34
    20
    10
See reviews for
66
236
23
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

If you’ve ever been a member or a guest of a British Military (or Commonwealth) Officers’ Mess then you’ll appreciate the dilemma of this hotel. It is a real dichotomy, as it struggles to balance the values, traditions and standards of a bygone age with that of a modern hotel. Does it manage it, no, not really.

You are paying an inflated price because of its location. I was overlooking the main city square, Piazza de Unita d’Italia, and I could just “see the sea,” but to balance this there is no on-site parking. This is either 1.40 euro per hour into a nearby meter (make sure you’re in a blue bay, not a yellow one!) or a 23.00 euro a day fee for a nearby private garage.

The entire hotel is back to the 50’s (not sure if that’s 1950’s or 1850’s!) It really needs a make-over, and given what they charge, I’m sure this could be achieved. The nearby Hotel Victoria mixes past elegance with modern facilities, and pulls it off, but is not as well located as the Duchi d’Aosta is.

Breakfast was standard Italian fare, but I’ve had much better. Staff were most polite, English speaking and helpful, but the majority didn’t seem very happy.

Rooms were small and tired, clean but dated. Much of the furniture is ‘antique’ rather than just old but all just a bit tatty around the edges.

Much is made throughout the city, and in other hotels of anywhere even vaguely associated with the Irish author James Joyce, who was resident in Trieste about 100 years ago. The Grand Hotel Duchi d’Aosta can make no such claim, but as Trieste was once the 4th largest city of the former Austro-Hungarian Empire, it has had many prominent figures stay under its roof, including Admiral Nelson and Lady Hamilton during their protracted journey back to England in the summer of 1800, although the hotel makes very little of its past illustrious guests. Perhaps they should, it might help justifying the costs!

Would I stay here again? Yes at a push, but not through choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Nice old athmosphere. Seems to be in good condition. Excellent location in tourist centre and close to harbour area. Traffic sound can disturb! Very good breakfast for my taste.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MinaMatkustaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Duchi d'Acosta and really enjoyed the Past. An early surprise was the matter of Keys. We were not given an Electronic Key but a Key to the Room dating back to the early times of the Hotel. The Key even had a Tassel, which at a time was probably a very Receptive and Respectable Entry Key. IT was a VERY Nice Treat.

The Room was Decorated in Very Good Taste , Representing the Past in a Very Modern Manner. Art Decor was from an Earlier Time.

Every Feeling of the Hotel was very Calming, and Top of the Line from the Past brought into the Present.

The Hotel Stay was Excellent,the Breakfast was Excellent and the Dining Experience at Harry's Bar on the Square was very Relaxing, the Food was Superb.

The Location of the Hotel was very Good. Close to the Harbor,where many set Sail From to America at the turn of the 20th Century.

If you really want to Flavor the Past in a Modern Setting this Grand Hotel is for You.

Trieste is Definitely a Place to Visit.

The Square in the EVENING Darkness is Lit up with BLUE Candlestick Lighting which made Us sink into a very relaxing outdoor experience.

Room Tip: They Probably were all Great, but we only did stay in One and found it very clean, service excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank openeyetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
140 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 671 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

This was a back-up solution, for the Savoia Excelsior was fully booked. I was confident, as signs all over Trieste advertised The Grand Duchi as the only other 4-star property in town.

I was put off when stepping in the lobby, as the style could not have been more different. This was looking ... old style. But OK.

Nice welcome from front desk, and very fast check-in.
I was surprised by the terrible decoration in the corridors, with window displays filled with what looked like "things" my great grand mother would have discarded 80 years ago. But anyway, I do not usually sleep in the corridors.


I am not sure what my reservation was for, but I was probably upgraded to a room with a full front view of the main square. The only recent device, besides the TV, was the double-glazed window. I realized how good it was at soundproofing, when I opened the window after failing to get some cool air out of the aircon unit (working?), and it was the last week of october. Old if not fine furniture, but that was reasonably ok. The whole room, including the ceiling had been painted dark yellow sponge style, think 1980s. The bathroom was green, with a spa shower stall, and a hanging greenery with its very own lighting. OK amenities included bathrobe and slippers.
The lighting equipment was weird. Unoperating switches on the night stand, probably remote operating back to the 1960s, the size of a decent phone, including an emergency switch that did blink powerfully to no avail ... A set of loudspeakers on the floor : what were they for, I still have no clue.

Cleanliness was not an issue. It is overall clean. It should be noted that the mouldings on the walls carried a cake of dust, that only I thorough finger could peal. NOT:GOOD. ANd I would not be overly confident in the headboard, which must have been sitting there for ... some time.
House keeping was good. Not great. They never put a new bulb in the bedside lamp. They never replaced the room service order form for breakfast. Which I realized only after removing all my clothes, and as I failed to reach the front desk via the phone, I had to dress again and do down. A pleasant lady took my order, and assured it would be replaced, which never happened. Worth noting that in the folder, I could choose among 5 forms for non-functioning items.

Wake-up calls are big for me. I rely on wake-up calls, to be on time, and save timme sleeping. Well it always came 5 to 10 minutes after the requested time. One day, room service knocking on my door actually woke me up. Wake up call came 15 minutes after schedule.

If they want to sell this as a boutique hotelm and really take advantage of their great situation, all theu have to do is keep the outer walls, knock down all the inside, hire a decent architect and a designer, and put some money in the refurbishing. Since the last major one must have occured at least in the 1950s, I am sure the owning family has savings somewhere to do just this.

In the meantime, i will gladly go back to Savoia Excelsior, and not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuchiTrieste, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
I apologise for the issues you raised.
I will take measures so that they are not repeated.
I feel it necessary to inform you that also during the most recent renovation, we sought to keep intact the Mitteleuropean atmosphere and charm which the architect Geiringer (also creator of a world famous hotel in Vienna) instilled in this building on 1873. Our notion of historic hotel means that successive architectural alterations must be limited to guaranteeing the modern comforts (air conditioning, internet, television, etc.) leaving the rest of the building unaltered so as to allow the guests, who have a different taste to you, to enjoy the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trieste hotels
0.2 km away
Starhotels Savoia Excelsior Palace
1.0 km away
Victoria Hotel Letterario
0.1 km away
Urban Hotel Design
Urban Hotel Design
#7 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Residence L'Albero Nascosto
0.8 km away
Albergo alla Posta
Albergo alla Posta
#6 of 50 in Trieste
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.4 km away
Continentale
Continentale
#5 of 50 in Trieste
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta

Property: Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta
Address: Piazza Unita' d'Italia 2, 34121, Trieste, Italy
Region: Italy > Friuli Venezia Giulia > Province of Trieste > Trieste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Trieste
#3 Luxury Hotel in Trieste
#7 Romantic Hotel in Trieste
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,281 - ₹ 24,871
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Duchi D'Aosta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Trieste
Grand Hotel Duchi d Aosta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing