We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best....”

Trattoria da Giovanni
Ranked #175 of 936 Restaurants in Trieste
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Food quite bad compared with prices...
There is several places in Trieste which is a better choise. Would try something different tomorrow.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank JensAndreB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2016

Locals told me this is the place to do for local traditional food. I had mixed boiled meats and enjoyed my meal although they did give me an enormous amount of sauerkraut which I'm not a big fan of. The meat was nice and tender and there was plenty of it. Clearly I misread the vibe and got wine instead of beer. Duh. Seems like it's a favorite with locals and I heard quite a bit of German(?) being spoken there.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AGourmandTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Our Airbnb host suggested this restaurant for quality local cuisine. What a find. Loved sitting amongst the locals.
Food great and service you need to find.

Friendly people

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank dfb_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

I am from Trieste, I live abroad and I am a chef and a restaurant owner. I have stopped by to get some take away for dinner as many friends have suggested this place.
I have order a mix boiled pork meat and a portion of cabbages Crauti.
The bill was 15 €. When I got back home I got a sour surprise. There were 1 frankfurter sausage, 1 smoked sausage and a few slices of dry pork. The sausage I saw the lady just took out from a pack and boiled in the water for few minutes.
What a scam, what a ripoff.
Never again here, there are much better places around town.
Shame on you.

Date of visit: November 2015
1  Thank andreasb803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Other than sitting outside enjoying the sights and sounds of Via San Lazzaro, there is nothing to recommend about this restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank EastVillageDenizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria da Giovanni also viewed

Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 

Been to Trattoria da Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing