We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food ”
Review of Selmi 22

Selmi 22
Ranked #20 of 847 Restaurants in Modena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 17 - US$ 45
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Plenty good food in Italy for sure but this is a real gem. Fantastic food and friendly helpful staff. Steps away from the church plaza this is a restaurant frequented mostly by locals but you will feel very welcome there. Our main course was a lobster spaghetti dish with a glass of local white wine. Great place you will love it.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank patrickbJ9451FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2018

We are all fans of pasta and fish in our group so this small restaurant specializing in seafood seemed an ideal choice.

We arrived with a reservation and were seated "outside" in a small glassed-in patio on the side of the street with a decidedly uninteresting view.

Our waiter was helpful in answering questions about items on the menu and then was prompt in bringing food to the table.

However, the results were a bit disappointing. Tuna tartar appetizers were overly seasoned with chopped onion. A spaghetti with clams was tasty but nothing special. A filet of branzino was slightly overcooked with an odd mix of puree of potato and celery.

Wine selection by the glass was limited but the pinot grigio and sangiovese on offer were good and reasonably priced.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidlocke2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

Small and cozy restaurant. Superb food and drinks to go with it.
Friendly staff and owner (staff a bit lacking in English language - but that only made the place more genuine).

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank nanoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Beautiful little restaurant just down from the cathedral. Really friendly staff and excellent seafood.

We’d been out for a big lunch so fancied some lighter seafood for dinner. This restaurant met all expectations - with had a mixed cold seafood platter to begin, followed by prawn gnocchi for main. The flavours were wonderful - the sauce the gnocchi came in was so rich - delightful.

I would highly recommend and consider it deserving of its top 10 restaurant status on trip advisor.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank RichardKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We had a very nice dinner at Selmi 22. We had a plate of three fish carpaccios to start and it was so delicious. I had a plate of pasta with anchovies for my main dish. It was good, but there was a lot and I couldn't finish the plate. We received good recommendations for wine, and all of the staff were very attentive and helpful. I would definitely eat here again. The prices were more reasonable than we initially expected.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jinnimae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Selmi 22 also viewed

Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 

Been to Selmi 22? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing