We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise in Modena”

Osteria Romana di Modena
Ranked #186 of 848 Restaurants in Modena
Price range: US$ 28 - US$ 283
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We work every day to get food and wines of excellent quality,some dishes for vegans, environment warm and soft lighting for relaxing with cool music by time, bathrooms always clean and fragrant, fair and polite service Italian menu translated into French and English. Dog parking. Visa and Mastercard, air conditioning, seating outside.Free Wi-fi.
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We ended up in the Osteria Romana by incident because our chosen location was closed due to the holiday season.

What a nice surprise. Outdoor seating in aside a small downtown road and very friendly staff.

As we were here for lunch on a hot sunny day we just ordered a variety of small dishes (crostini, meatballs and tagliata). Everything prepared in an excellent way and really delicious.

We are a German family and travelled many times to Italy. This was food which ranks very high on our scale. Not the typical mass of mid or low quality pasta or pizza but a decent and well priced surprise for lunch.

If we are around again we will come back!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank thoknapp1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2018

We reserved a table here due to the amazing reviews on Trip Advisor. It was our first night in Modena and we weren't really sure what to expect as far as the standard of food was concerned. We each had a pasta dish which seemed to be their specialty. 3 out of 4 opted for the chef's special homemade pasta in different sauces. Whilst it is accepted that al dente is the correct way to serve pasta and we are each comfortable with that, it was felt that this had been taken a step too far resulting in the pasta being chewy and unpleasant, moreso in one of the dishes. Our first choice of wine was no longer available and so we opted for the recommendation by the waitress, which didn't disappoint. Overall we left feeling as though we'd had an ok meal, nothing entirely memorable but in pleasant surroundings. Only after we'd eaten in other establishments did we benchmark this and felt it was only average compared to what we'd been served elsewhere and for the money.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 382maureent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

My friend. a local of Modena, told me that Osteria Romana was a MUST in Modena, and let me tell you, it did not disappoint!

Osteria Romana served up a very memorable dinner. It started with a house specialty, some smoked wild boar that was a touch spicy and delicious. It reminded me of some of the finest beef jerky I’ve had back home.

For starters I had freshly made SUPLLI FRITTI which are fried balls of rice, red sauce and cheese. They were delicious. My friend had FIORI di ZUCCA, which were fritters with zucchini flowers and melted mozzarella inside, which she told me were fantastic.

For the main meal, I enjoyed a large portion of TONNARELLI a la GRICIA, which is thick pasta in a cheese and pepper and bacon sauce. It was very savory and tasty. My friend enjoyed the MELANZANE alla PARMAGIANA (aubergines) and said it was amazing :). The TIRAMISU was rich, creamy and sweet.

We chose to enjoy the outdoor ambiance with the great weather. The interior was decked out in really cool decor. There were hundreds of autographed photos of famous personalities all over the wall. Even the bathroom was something to behold, with candles and roses and curtains. You could tell that someone clearly wanted you to “experience” this restaurant, not just eat there.

The staff were friendly and could speak English very well. The menu was also in English. The prices were reasonable and the food and ambiance make it very special. Enjoy!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Rob13501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

just dropped by for a lunch, found out it was roman cuisine, but fine. especially their artichokes and home made pasta for the cacio and pepe

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mnielsen1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

The interior is rather busy, but has a certain cosiness about it: the walls are covered with photos and movies stills; an occasional gilt mirror, a silenced TV in a corner.
Booked for one o'clock we chose two starters of fried pumpkin flowers but were advised these were off, as it wasn't the best time for them. Fair enough but why then were they on the menu? Instead we had two starters of chicory in an anchovy-based sauce.Tasty but not so abundant. A third guest had a bruschetta, two slices, which looked nice but again not so much.
We went to the mains of secondi: two saltimbocca with side dishes of roast potatoes, the latter we were again advised were off. This was the lunch sitting; there was a long birthday table which was still empty: how could an half-organised restaurant run out of potatoes at 1pm? Instead we went with the Roman artichokes, boiled style. These dully arrived (just 2, for €10) five minutes before the mains. The third diner had polpettone; maybe five in the bowl.
A carafe of house red (€8), two bottles of water, three coffees. With the covers (€3each) the damage was €108. €36/head. Service is friendly if a bit slow. Noise levels OK considering this is Italy. A tad pricey considering the amounts. Left feeling slightly less sated than I usually like to feel, and usually spend 30percent less for equivalent. Twenty metres away is the wonderful Fantino, a much better bet.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Romana di Modena also viewed

Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
 

Been to Osteria Romana di Modena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing