We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get there early”
Review of Trattoria Aldina

Trattoria Aldina
Ranked #22 of 835 Restaurants in Modena
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 11 November 2018

We had an old guide book in which this restaurant was recommended. We had just left the market and the via luigi Albinelli runs just along the side. We walked up and down the street but could not find the Trattoria. We looked at the address in the book and went to see what had replaced it. Nothing had. There was a plaque on the wall saying that it was on the first floor. (Hoho). It was now almost midday and there was already a queue going up the stairs. We're English so we joined it.
The restaurant was full 10 minutes later.
The room is nothing grand but full of locals. There is no menu but the prices of the courses are on a board on the wall. The precise choices are given to you by the waitress. There is a choice of three for each course and we had no problem choosing.
By one o clock, tables were becoming free, so if you miss the opening, try an hour later.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thegreentrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Opposite the market on the first floor you could easily walk past but, don’t! We had a late Friday lunch and the place was packed with a happy, contented buzz. Menu is limited but so what; the food is delicious - simple, fresh & tasty. Staff were friendly too - all very busy but still smiling and happy to patiently explain the dishes. And great value too! What’s not to like?

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 866milesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

easily missed, this little restaurant found on the building's 2nd level offers what feels like a true Italian experience. No menu, so hope you can get by with your Italian... or you can always point. Lasagna was delicious. Spaghetti with squid, and fritters were great. Great lunch.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank vtsui1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

You need to know where you are going or you won't just happen upon this location. It's upstairs on the first floor.
Open for lunch during the week- although we arrived at 2:00p.m. (arrive before 2:30 and you will be served). We hoped to stop by for dinner one weekday evening but dinner is only on weekends - (Fri & Sat. nights).
There is no menu but there were many options for the first pasta course and enough choice for second course with a number of possible sides. We enjoyed the tortellini in brodo, tagliatelle ragu, and shared a secondi - an extremely tasty roast veal in a gravy and a side of spinach (generous portion). Tagliatelle was absolutely excellent as was the veal.
Clearly this is a well regarded local find.
There is a fresh produce market right across the street - which closes at 2:30, so might want to time your visit there with lunch.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mvginhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

I went with my family for lunch, and finally found this gem up a flight of stairs.

We were early which was lucky as it quickly filled up, no reservations possible.

There is the menu of the day, and dishes are served promptly. We had pasta and Lambrusco, a great experience!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Hanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Aldina also viewed

Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 

Been to Trattoria Aldina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing