We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelin is RIGHT!”

Osteria Francescana
Ranked #5 of 834 Restaurants in Modena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 71 - US$ 212
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Our travel agency was able to secure these coveted reservations for us on a trip to Modena. We could only get a lunch reservation, but were not disappointed in any way!
(Except that we didn't get to meet Massimo Bottura)
There is very little left to the imagination in this experience, as the entire event is filled with delightful culinary and design imagination! eccentric ambience that drew us in...
We chose the "full tour" menu which included wine pairings. Each course was "art meets food" experience. Our favorite (we agreed) was the 5 ages of Parmigiano Reggiano!
It is impossible to relate this experience in writing. From the first moment, we noticed the professionalism of the staff, and the seamless movement of the meal, with wine and drinks that brought out the best in the associated dishes.
What we discovered as the afternoon went on is that this experience is what you want it to be. When we arrived, we felt we needed to be quiet and deliberate in our dining. After watching the staff and other patrons, we realized this is not a "stuffy" experience unless you want it to be! By the end of the lunch (hours later), we were chatting with those around us, and we even had a photo taken with kitchen staff! Delightful!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ItalophileTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 2,177 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

We actually went in the summer before Chef’s Table on Netflix. What struck me most was the level of service we received during our entire meal. Every detail of the meal and service is carefully planned and executed. It’s not just a meal, it’s an experience.

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank CaliAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Absolutely amazing! We all loved it. Pure art! We went there today for lunch and it was an incredible experience. We had Tutto menu and some extra dishes. The service was impeccable and very friendly, especially as we were with children. It’s not true that they are robotic, at least they were not today. We can’t wait to go back and obviously cannot recommend it enough.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank 921Maya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

Our visit to Osteria Francescana was truly a once in a lifetime experience. I tried to get reservations, was unsuccessful, but added our names to the waitlist and kept our fingers crossed. To our delight, two days before arriving in Modena, we received a call that there was an opening available. Thank goodness for the waitlist/cancellation list. Because of this, we were able to enjoy the best meal of my life. The whole experience was surreal. The service was exceptional and meeting Chef Massimo was a treat.

The only problem with a once in a lifetime experience is now I want to make it a twice in a lifetime experience :)

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Sassbrydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

This place is everything that restaurant should be,this comes from GM of 5star hotel in Beverly Hills..that is all i got to say...thanks to our waiter Mario

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank lidijahoustonirvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Francescana also viewed

Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 

Been to Osteria Francescana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing