We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor English with excellent food, service, and care! The english isn't a factor!”
Review of Retrogusto

Retrogusto
Reserve with
Retrogusto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 81 Restaurants in Maranello
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Enzo is the manager or owner of the business, and although his English is poor, he cares deeply about his customers and is proud of his food. The experience was wonderful. We stayed three nights and ate her three nights with no regrets. We cannot say enough about the food, service, or value. Next trip to Maranello or any nearby city will include a return visit. Good value. Come hungry!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaMaranello, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Retrogusto, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear John,
first of all we thanks for your visit in our building!
We thanks, also, for your very nice review: it a big pleasure reading these worlds, from our clients, because we understand that our clients are satisfied with us and our job!
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2018

I was very disappointed at Retrogusto. We arrived and quickly make our choices for dinner. The waiter kept pressuring us to order off the menu. We told him what we wanted but he kept hiding behind the fact he did not speak good English and kept repeating "is ok". We ended up not eating anything we wanted and we paid almost two times more than the value of the dishes we wanted to try. Not only that, the food we were brought was very average. Unfortunately, the restaurant put us in an odd situation. We paid the bill and left. Surely we will never return to this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roibeard81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaMaranello, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Retrogusto, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear Roibeard81,

We think that the problem was caused by the difficulty of understanding with the Manager because, usually, the customers report good satisfaction in the attention and service offered.
Concerning foods we try to do our best, usually, with very good results, unfortunately, we are not always able to satisfy everyone's taste!!
We are really sorry for the bad experience you reported!
!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We came to Retrogusto thinking It was just a normal restaurant but It is the best restaurant we have visited In italy (even better than michelin star restaurant). We ate polenta with tartufo And something made of pumpkin And potatoes And tartufo as a starter, 3 types of pasta And 3 types of dessert. All pastas were absolutely fantastic: the classic one with ricotta And spinach with butter And salvia, the masterpiece with pumpkin And ricotta And spinach one but with meat sauce. The best option is to Ask the Owner to prepare something special not from the menu. :)

Thank Basia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaMaranello, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Retrogusto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Basia,
thanks for your visit, your review and your kind worlds about us!
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

I was in hurry and I asked them to prepare something special or dish of the day and my wish was completely satisfied. Beautiful and peaceful location , amazing food and friendly staff. Recommend

1  Thank Class-invictus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaMaranello, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Retrogusto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Class-Invictus,
thanks for your nice review and, also, for recommended us!
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

I stumbled upon Retro Gusto by chance, after a visit to the Ferrari museum just around the corner. Enzo (who I later found out, thru an online search, is the owner) greeted us at the door and led us to our table indoors (our choosing). The decor is stylish, clean and very comfortable. After we had water and were comfortable in our seats, Enzo proceeded to explain that we could either choose from the menu or let him send us some dishes to try. If we didn´t like his choices, he would change them at no charge. We trusted Enzo knew what he was doing. We were in for an experience of a lifetime! We had the best 4-course meal of our trip at Retro Gusto... thanks to Enzo and his staff. He has a God-given talent to customize his dishes to create an unique and amazing dining experience after a few simple questions about us and our food restrictions. A few minutes after each course was brought to our table, Enzo would leisurely walk by to see whether we were satisfied with his choices or not. By the time the 3rd course was delivered, I was practically full, but there was no way I would not eat it, because I could tell it would be delicious. And it was the case! Even though the servings are rather small (for american standards), it fills you up because you want to eat every last bite of it. So, when you are in Maranello... do yourself a favor and stop by the Retro Gusto Ristorante and enjoy an italian meal like no other!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank noemypm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVillaMaranello, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Retrogusto, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear noemypm,
thanks for your visit and your very nice review about us and our job!
We hope to receive your visit in another occasion and, in the meantime, we wish all the best!
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Retrogusto also viewed

Maranello, Province of Modena
Maranello, Province of Modena
 
Fiorano Modenese, Province of Modena
 
Maranello, Province of Modena
Maranello, Province of Modena
 

Been to Retrogusto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing