We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Maranello”
Review of Planet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Planet Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Maranello
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in Maranello”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed at the Planet Hotel during a Summer trip to "Motor Valley" in Italy. We had stayed in Bologna for a few nights, then took a train to Modena and then a local bus to Maranello. Yes, we were there so my husband and son could see the hometown of Ferrari.

We really liked the Planet Hotel - we got the Family Room - which had a loft that our two kids loved. The room also has a really big outside deck with a table and chairs, so you can sit outside and relax.

As others have noted, this hotel is directly across the street from the Ferrari factory, which my son thought was super-cool. However, it is a bit tricky to find the hotel because the lobby is located behind the building. There's a grocery store and a retail store in front and you need to walk around the back in order to find the lobby. There is a sign out front, but it's easy to miss.

The breakfast that was included was very good and the cappuccinos were excellent. Hotel staff were very helpful and informative. This is a great base to visit Maranello and, of course, it is Ferrari heaven. Everything, including the Ferrari Museum, is within easy walking distance, which is awesome because transportation within the city is somewhat limited. It was really a thrill to see and hear the sound of Ferraris driving all over the place.

A few tips: Be aware that the bus schedule is very limited on Sundays. We missed our bus back to Modena because we were standing at the wrong bus stop and had to wait another two hours for the next bus to come along. Also, we thought it would be fun to rent bikes and pedal around the city (bikes are available right outside the Ferrari Museum). However, you have to be 18 or older to ride them, so if you have kids, that won't be an option for you. Lastly, taxis are almost non-existent, so if you want to head over to Modena (approx. 40-45 min. away), the bus is the only practical way to go.

All-in-all, we had a great time and Planet Hotel was the perfect place to enjoy the city. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you're traveling as a family, get the Quad (Family) Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadHatterMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    89
    29
    5
    0
See reviews for
59
65
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Location was great. My husband is a huge Ferrari fan and the whole purpose of the visit to Maranello was to visit the museum and see the test track. We booked a junior suite overlooking the track and was a good sized room with an upstairs area with 2 single beds with tv. Air conditioning was great as you could control via mote control and sitting on the balcony listening to the tv (Sky tV so over 1000 channels and a few even in English!) was great for me. Easily within walking distance of things Ferrari.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellereich3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Planet Hotel offered a central place for us to stay while visiting the Museo Ferrari. As a family of four we were given, the two floor suite... double bed on first floor, double and twin at top of winding staircase. The balcony offered great views of the Ferrari Factory. This hotel is an excellent choice for families, as it offers a little more space than most European hotels. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was fresh and adequate to get us started.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

I am not a Ferrari enthusiast so I will judge the hotel for what it's worth as a hotel alone.
I selected this hotel because it was the nearest hotel I could find to Bologna Fair. My trip was a last minute decision and I could not find a room under 200euros (in Bologna). I booked a double room at Planet hotel for 100euros (incl. breakfast).

CONS
The hotel looks (and is) old.
It is situated inside an industrial area!!!
Some may say that it is exactly opposite to the Ferrari factory gate (but that does not change the fact that it is an industrial area full of high chimneys).
It is too expensive for a hotel 40Km away from Bologna (unless the sole purpose of your trip is to visit Ferrari).
It is definitely NOT a 4-star hotel, more like a 3*.
Poor breakfast. Definitely not 4*.

PROS
It has plenty of parking spaces available (free of charge).
It offers Wi-Fi access (free of charge).
The staff is very polite.
It was very very very quite and the bed was comfy! I had a very relaxing sleep.
The room was OK. Not spotless but clean enough. The bathroom was large and the toiletries adequate.

Bottom line. A nice little hotel at an industrial area. If you are not a Ferrari fan you won't miss much if you don't stay there. If you have no other choice but to stay in Maranello (like I did) it is a clean hotel with very polite staff and a bit pricey rooms (for what it offers).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ZPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Located opposite the Ferrari factory and short walk to the Ferrari museum, this hotel is a functional 3 star property though they claim to be 4 stars. The owner is very friendly and helpful as is the staff. Almost a family-style run hotel. The breakfast is functional, continental fair - no frills. The rooms are of a decent size and they have free high speed internet which is nice. It is located right next to the Ferrari Store as well as a supermarket so you can buy stock up on your food items if required. The bathrooms are large too which is usual for European hotels. can't really order any other meals in the hotel unless you given them prior notice so you may have to order pizza or step out to one of the few restaurants in the area.

Recommend it for short stays for people either passign through Maranello on work or if you are a die-hard Ferrari fan!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maranello
0.9 km away
Hotel Maranello Palace
Hotel Maranello Palace
#1 of 7 in Maranello
286 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Maranello Village
Hotel Maranello Village
#3 of 7 in Maranello
1,020 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Villa Maranello
Hotel Villa Maranello
#2 of 7 in Maranello
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hotel Locanda del Mulino
Hotel Locanda del Mulino
#4 of 7 in Maranello
370 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Domus
Hotel Domus
#6 of 7 in Maranello
148 reviews
7.1 km away
Locanda Del Feudo
Locanda Del Feudo
#1 of 1 in Castelvetro di Modena
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Hotel

Property: Planet Hotel
Address: Via Giovanni Verga 22 | Ex Via Fornace, 41053, Maranello, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Modena > Maranello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Maranello
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,123 - ₹ 9,525
Hotel Class:4 star — Planet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Planet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Hotel Maranello

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing