We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pizza heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Domus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Domus
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Maranello
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Pizza heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Great hotel in Maranello. Restaurant produced put of this world pizzas as suggested by another reviewee.

Great hotel. Would definately return.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haveacappio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    45
    45
    13
    10
See reviews for
20
39
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

staff very courtious and helpful nice room for a hotel of its vintage in walking distance of everything ferrari

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

My husband and I recently spent a night at the Hotel Domus because there were no rooms available at the Planet Hotel. I'm not saying the Planet would be better, but it seems to be newer, which often implies a better standard of room.

The hotel location is nice, along the main square of town and just a few minutes walk from the Ferrari museum, shops etc. Being on the square makes it feel more like a real town, but make no mistake, we thoroughly enjoyed the Ferrari museum and assorted Ferrari spots. It's a lot of fun and very unique.

We were greeted by a very friendly hotel receptionist and the lobby area is reasonably attractive, as are the hallways. We chose a junior suite, since the price (99 euros) was so reasonable; maybe a weekend rate? The good news is that the room was very spacious; actually two rooms, a front area with table and chairs, armoire and a second area with bed, TV and windows on two sides (which made the bedroom area very light, but the table area was very dark). The disappointment was the fact that the room smelled very musty (over time, the a/c seemed to improve the situation), the curtains and bedspread were very cheap fabric, there was an obvious stain on the tablecloth covering the table, and not all the electric sockets worked). The bathroom was quite large, with what seemed to be a relatively new big shower/jacuzzi tub enclosure in the middle. On closer inspection, though, the enclosure was beginning to have mildew in the joints and the overhead part of the shower never worked, just the handheld shower. Still, the floor and wall tiles seemed new, the sink area was fresh and fine, as was the toilet.

Breakfast was served in a very lovely room with a skylight; nice and bright and spacious. The selection was excellent and the staff kept everything filled, plus they were always available to make a fresh cappuccino or latte.

We had dinner in the adjacent restaurant (Carisma) which is separately owned. The food was very good; the service a bit odd. All of the service personnel seemed quite young and they seemed to have no supervisor, so there was a lot of chatting among themselves. We were the only non-Italians in the room that evening and I wonder if the staff was uncertain about handling us, although I speak enough Italian to get by. For example, we ordered the "buffet" (an antipasto bar set up in the front), but no one ever told us to go help ourselves. I asked one person, who said she would make it and bring it -- but she never did. I asked a second person who finally said it was self-service. We weren't always sure what was happening (do we pay the waiter or go up to the cash register?) but the food was worth it. And just down the block there is a world-class gelato shop for dessert!

All in all, the Domus is okay, especially for the price, but I'd definitely try the Planet next time. The problem may be financial -- most people must stay in Modena or even Bologna or Parma -- not in Maranello, so the hotel can't charge the prices it needs to really maintain the rooms to a higher standard. Either that, or someone's not inspecting the rooms often enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

The setting is great - right in the heart of maranello town centre, The pizza restaurant attached to the hotel is absolute buzzing focal point of the town. Test drivers, people buying Ferraris and other enthusiasts from all over the world.

the food was good and the staff friendly

The room we had overlooked the sqaure which has the town hall and the room had air con and we couldnt believe that it also had a jacuzzi bath in a 3 star!

its very homely and was excellent value.

Fantastic Receptionist, who actually moved her car so we could park as the hotel car park was full

the factory and museum is only 5 mins round the corner!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gregorw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

We enjoyed the stay. The staff was extremely helpful. The food and service at the restaurant next door was great. We were charmed by the town and enjoyed the museum. The room was large and clean and the bathroom had just been remodeled. The elevator music-opera-was delightful....

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugTampaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maranello
1.2 km away
Hotel Maranello Palace
Hotel Maranello Palace
#1 of 7 in Maranello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Maranello Village
Hotel Maranello Village
#4 of 7 in Maranello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.8 km away
Planet Hotel
Planet Hotel
#5 of 7 in Maranello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Villa Maranello
Hotel Villa Maranello
#3 of 7 in Maranello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Locanda del Mulino
Hotel Locanda del Mulino
#2 of 7 in Maranello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
8.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Modena Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domus? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domus

Property: Hotel Domus
Address: Piazza della Liberta' 38, 41053, Maranello, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Modena > Maranello
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Maranello
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,528 - ₹ 7,075
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domus 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Domus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Maranello
Best Western Domus
Maranello Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing