We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine in my experience”
Review of I Portici Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
I Portici Hotel
Ranked #23 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Modernist, minimalist décor, but everything worked out fine for me. Centrally located, friendly staff, nice outdoor terrace with entrance to a public park. I got a rock bottom room rate, so it was a semi-posh stay at a Motel 6 price.

Hint: they tell you breakfast is 15 euros and when you look shocked the price suddenly drops to 10.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trobaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iportici, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at I Portici Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. Indeed, Palazzo Maccaferri's location, with the Montagnola Park at the back and the Pincio terrace on the side is exclusive to us and has no equal in Bologna.
As for the price of our Breakfast, it is justified by the fact that our jams, marmalades, muffins, croissants and cakes are all homemade daily, and the cheese and cold cuts are all typical DOP products.

Thank you again for your comment. We are looking forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Best regards,

Nicola Berto
Guest relations
I Portici Hotel Bologna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 573 of 1,467 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Rooms large with minimalist modern appointments. Bathrooms tight but nice!!
Air conditioning limited to summer so rooms poorly ventilated unless you open the windows.
On main street in Bologna which is very noisy even if windows closed so don't expect to sleep well with warm room and windows closed due to street noise.
Service average- they don't explain anything about room and breakfast was good but service not good to get coffee, clear plates, etc

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank mtnbikerScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Dear Guest,

I wish to thank you for leaving us your opinion. It appears as our services did not fully meet your expectations.

I wish to apologize for the trouble with the air conditioning. This spring has been very atypical for Bologna, with temperatures varying wildly from day to day. This made it hard for us to guarantee constant comfort in every room. We are carefully studying a new solution which we are confident will grant an adequate room temperature throughout the year.
Also under completion is a completely new insulation of Palazzo Macceferri's facade, which will stop most noise coming from Via Indipendenza.
On the other side, I am happy to note that you enjoyed the unique style of our Hotel, a skilful mixture of contemporary design and classical features. Should you wish to visit us again in the future, I will make sure that you try one of our rooms facing the Montagnola Park, a feature that few Hotels in Bologna can boast.

Allow me to thank you again for the time you took in leaving your opinion.

Best regards,

Nicola Berto
Guest Relation
I Portici Hotel Bologna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Simple elegance in appearance but from my experience a very well run hotel. The room was uncluttered, the bed very comfortable, the shower of good quality.
Staff, polite and friendly. Service prompt.
Breakfasts served in a beautiful room, food tasty and fresh. Good strong coffee.
Good position for exploring Bologna, and easy distance from Station.
Room had a balcony which made it even more special!
Independencia can be noisy, but that's not the hotels fault.
Hotel of character, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank river50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel over Easter weekend and found it to be the first of many fantastic surprises in Bologna. The hotel itself is beautiful in a oddly classic and modern way. Simple uncluttered rooms capped by the stunning ceiling murals left over from its previous life as a city palace. The only slight complaint would be the very tiny televisions mounted on the wall. We had a 15 foot wall with a 13inch tv mounted in the middle. After a few days we realised the location was perfect....a 10 minute walk to the main piazza and food markets- 10 minutes to the University district that is loaded with great restaurants- and a 5 min walk to the train station which made a day trips to Parma, Modena, and Florence so easy and enjoyable. Breakfast was fantastic, the bar was good with a perfect balcony facing the park, and staff were flawless. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in 419 which was large and very nice....its just that it faces the street which can be a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Wonderful surprise in Bologna! We stayed here in May '08 as part of our Europe trip. We made the reservation online and wound up picking this place because it was close to the central train station and the price was hard to pass up. We got into Bologna late in the afternoon and we got a little lost because we weren't exactly sure how far the hotel was. We thought it was much further than it was, so much so we initially passed it and then found it when we doubled back. Once we got there and walked into the lobby, we felt completely out of place. By comparison to the folks we saw walk in and out of the place, we must have looked completely disheveled. Regardless of our appearance, we were warmly welcomed by the hotel staff. Most of the front desk were young adults and they all spoke English as well as other languages. The place looked quite new, so I asked the person who checked us in and they confirmed that the hotel was still relatively new. She gladly handed over the keys and told us how to get to our room.

The room was huge...or perhaps it was an optical illusion. The room had a very high ceiling and was scantily furnished. The room had 2 twins, a small desk with chair, and not much else. The bathroom was also large and elegantly decorated. Our room overlooked the courtyard, but luckily there were black out drapes provided. The only down part was there was quite a bit of noise coming from the hallway. The door was undercut so that's where the noise (and light) came from. If not for that I would be very comfortable in giving this hotel and Excellent rating. The on-site restaurant and bar were packed during the time we were there, but we didn't get a chance to use either during our stay.

For the price, it was very hard to beat the location and service. If back in Bologna, would love to stay here again, even if just for one night.

Room Tip: The high ceiling rooms do make the room noisier than they should be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#9 of 102 in Bologna
1,570 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
913 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 102 in Bologna
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#8 of 102 in Bologna
837 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Portici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Portici Hotel

Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 69, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bologna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#15 Business Hotel in Bologna
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: ₹ 6,097 - ₹ 32,043 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — I Portici Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your I Portici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Portici Bologna
Hotel i Portici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing