We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Hotel”
Review of I Portici Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
I Portici Hotel
Ranked #23 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Marton, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Elegant Hotel”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Simple elegance in appearance but from my experience a very well run hotel. The room was uncluttered, the bed very comfortable, the shower of good quality.
Staff, polite and friendly. Service prompt.
Breakfasts served in a beautiful room, food tasty and fresh. Good strong coffee.
Good position for exploring Bologna, and easy distance from Station.
Room had a balcony which made it even more special!
Independencia can be noisy, but that's not the hotels fault.
Hotel of character, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank river50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    512
    173
    64
    32
See reviews for
166
571
90
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel over Easter weekend and found it to be the first of many fantastic surprises in Bologna. The hotel itself is beautiful in a oddly classic and modern way. Simple uncluttered rooms capped by the stunning ceiling murals left over from its previous life as a city palace. The only slight complaint would be the very tiny televisions mounted on the wall. We had a 15 foot wall with a 13inch tv mounted in the middle. After a few days we realised the location was perfect....a 10 minute walk to the main piazza and food markets- 10 minutes to the University district that is loaded with great restaurants- and a 5 min walk to the train station which made a day trips to Parma, Modena, and Florence so easy and enjoyable. Breakfast was fantastic, the bar was good with a perfect balcony facing the park, and staff were flawless. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in 419 which was large and very nice....its just that it faces the street which can be a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Wonderful surprise in Bologna! We stayed here in May '08 as part of our Europe trip. We made the reservation online and wound up picking this place because it was close to the central train station and the price was hard to pass up. We got into Bologna late in the afternoon and we got a little lost because we weren't exactly sure how far the hotel was. We thought it was much further than it was, so much so we initially passed it and then found it when we doubled back. Once we got there and walked into the lobby, we felt completely out of place. By comparison to the folks we saw walk in and out of the place, we must have looked completely disheveled. Regardless of our appearance, we were warmly welcomed by the hotel staff. Most of the front desk were young adults and they all spoke English as well as other languages. The place looked quite new, so I asked the person who checked us in and they confirmed that the hotel was still relatively new. She gladly handed over the keys and told us how to get to our room.

The room was huge...or perhaps it was an optical illusion. The room had a very high ceiling and was scantily furnished. The room had 2 twins, a small desk with chair, and not much else. The bathroom was also large and elegantly decorated. Our room overlooked the courtyard, but luckily there were black out drapes provided. The only down part was there was quite a bit of noise coming from the hallway. The door was undercut so that's where the noise (and light) came from. If not for that I would be very comfortable in giving this hotel and Excellent rating. The on-site restaurant and bar were packed during the time we were there, but we didn't get a chance to use either during our stay.

For the price, it was very hard to beat the location and service. If back in Bologna, would love to stay here again, even if just for one night.

Room Tip: The high ceiling rooms do make the room noisier than they should be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Early in October, we (an American couple in our 60s) spent 6 nights at I Portici meeting Italian friends. The property is a converted city mansion, beautifully restored,backing up to a large city park. Our room was spacious and clean. The staff were very helpful and the Terrazza bar is a restful and pleasant place for a drink or light meal (inside or outside). Since the property is just inside the pedestrian-only zone, there was no noise problem and walking to the Piazza Maggiore is only a 10 to 15 min trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJCGrandRapids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The rooms are beautiful, and we had a massive ceiling, with an outside view to the park which was wonderful to look out into. The hotel is in the best location one could hope for, close to the train station and right in the center of one of the most important streets of the city, within walking distance of most places.

As others say, there is a fair problem with the floorboards, since one can hear heels clicking on the other floors, however it wasn't that much of a problem in our case. Also, there is free wifi.

Room Tip: With a park view and probably in the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank predius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 103 in Bologna
1,501 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,437 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#10 of 103 in Bologna
801 reviews
Starhotels Excelsior
#25 of 103 in Bologna
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Portici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Portici Hotel

Property: I Portici Hotel
Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 69, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bologna
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#15 Business Hotel in Bologna
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,300 - ₹ 35,045
Hotel Class:4.5 star — I Portici Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your I Portici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Portici Bologna
Hotel i Portici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing