We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect Location, Small Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of I Portici Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
I Portici Hotel
Ranked #20 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Small Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I've stayed in this hotel for one night. It was a business travel. The location is absolutely perfect. The ambiance of the hotel was impressing. Staff was not polite. Breakfast was OK. Computer in business center is free. However the rooms are very small! Rooms have no carpet! Small TV had 5 channels. The refrigerator was working like a tractor. Doesn't let you sleep so I pulled out the plug. The room was cold in the autumn. The Hotel doesn't let you to control the air conditioner. Close to the airport; 15 minutes. There were a lot of hotels on the same street. I'm sure there are better ones.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Senol84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iportici, Sales Department at I Portici Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Google Translation
Gentile Ospite,

mi spiace se il suo soggiorno non ha corrisposto pienamente alle sue aspettative.

Al fine di non trasmettere un messaggio fuorviante alla community di Tripadvisor è' mia personale premura precisare quanto segue:

Le dimensioni ed il design delle nostre camere è evidente sul nostro sito e sui principali canali on e off-lin: camere singole con letto francese (120 cm) 12-18mq - camere doppie 22-35mq;

I minibar delle nostre camere, per quanto non siano eccessivamente rumorosi, saranno presto sostituiti con un modello nuovo;

I nostri TV hanno un portafoglio di più di 20 canali, metà dei quali sono internazionali;

Per ragionevoli questioni di igiene abbiamo preferito non avere la moquette. Il pavimento delle nostre camere è in parquet oppure in pregiato marmo palladiana.

Un'ulteriore perplessità riguarda il suo giudizio sul nostro staff, il quale - come segnalato dagli innumerevoli recensori della community di Tripadvisor - si è sempre mostrato cortese e professionale. Ovviamente, sono a sua completa disposizione, qualora ritenesse opportuno comunicarmi maggiori informazioni a riguardo.

Spero di averla nuovamente come nostro ospite; sono certo che saremo in grado di superare le sue perplessità.

Cordiali saluti,

Pasquale Noli
Sales Department
I Portici Hotel Bologna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    466
    156
    59
    29
See reviews for
149
524
89
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

We were told when we check in he chose a "quiet" room for us. When we walked in the room around 1PM, the room was very very dark. There was a tiny little window that faced the courtyard. The room was clean and quiet, but it didn't feel very comfortable. The breakfast was also very expensive (30euros), which we did not get, so it could be worth it?

The location was great. Walking distance to great restaurants and other sites.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kokochan420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We found this hotel by recommendations on the internet and were very pleased. The staff was extremely attentive and the venue unique. A very convenient location for walking into the old historic center. Bologna is a great walking city because of its beautiful and bountiful porticos. Rain or shine, walking is fine.

Be sure and ask the staff to show you the "refrigerator" - a bit of hidden history.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullard, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Pasquale Noli greeted us and found out I was Italian by birth. We had a regular room reserved for the night, but he upgraded us to the "Imperial Suite" in the penthouse. OMG is all I can say. Ultra modern and sleek. HUGE. Amenities were unbelievable. Service Impeccable. I would stay here all over again and will any time we come to Bologna. HIGHLY RECOMMEND..

Room Tip: The penthouse is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iportici, Sales Department at I Portici Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Madame,
I really thank you for your kind review.
It was a great pleasure to met you!!!
I hope to see you soon.

Pasquale Noli
Sales Department
I Portici Hotel Bologna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Friendly and helpful staff. Nice modern design in a renovated historical building. Convenient location.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank criticara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Starhotels Excelsior
#21 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Portici Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Portici Hotel

Property: I Portici Hotel
Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 69, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bologna
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#15 Business Hotel in Bologna
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,508 - ₹ 42,633
Hotel Class:4.5 star — I Portici Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your I Portici Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
i Portici Bologna
Hotel i Portici

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing