We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoia Hotel Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Savoia Hotel Regency
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Really Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed two nights at the Savoia Regency, which is easily accessible by car and only a short bus ride into Bologna. We had lost our luggage on Air France flying into Venice and the front desk staff could not have been more helpful in helping us to communicate with the company in Venice that dealt with missing luggage. The rooms are nice and very reasonably priced and include a good breakfast buffet. All in all, a well priced hotel with an above average staff. The night we arrived everything was closed as it was almost 11PM, but the bartender made us grilled cheese and ham sandwiches. The grounds are beautiful and include a swimming pool and walking areas and although you are within the city of Bologna, you feel as though you are at a small resort. I would readily recommend a stay of any length at this hotel. The short bus ride to the city center is pleasant and the locals were very helpful, watching us so we did not miss our stop. One slight disappointment was the restaurant which I had heard good things about. However, we were there on a Sunday night when almost everything else is closed, and they served a fairly lackluster buffet, but it was convenient and their outdoor dining area is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanibelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    429
    75
    17
    12
See reviews for
265
334
28
402
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

we have been coming to this hotel for a number of years now, and each year we feel like coming home a bit more. The staff remains more or less unchanged, the manager welcomes us, and the reception desk is not just profesionally friendly but genuine friendly. If they can help you with any trifle, they will.
The rooms are spacious, and not noisy. On the negative side, we would say that the hotel is becoming a bit the victim of its own success. The swimming pool can be quite crowded at peak times, and some of the staff at the bar do not always wear a generous smile.
The breakfast is very good, though I notice some people complain about the lack of bacon and eggs, and sausages.But overall, it is wonderful to wake up in the peaceful surroundings of this hotel very near Bologna, but without the hustle and bustle of the city.
You do not have to take your car to get into the city, but it's a 10 minute bus ride into town (Bus nr 20, just on the other side of the main street).
A very nice hotel with an excellent restaurant nearby, in peaceful surroundings. What more do you want?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We staid with our two adolescent children. Very pleased with the stay. Staff very welcoming and trying to make the stay as nice as possible.
Terrific price -quality booking;

Only minus is the distance from the city centre, otherwise perfect

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robfets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Had a great stay, staff were really friendly and helpful, the restaurant was amazing and really good value. would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidd37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

This is not a 5 star hotel, it gets good reviews because it is a well run 4 star and it does what it does well and for a good price. Should it have been more expensive I would probably not give it a 5 star rating.

Rooms not to my taste, salmon pink and a bit dated, but large and nice bathrooms/shower room. In August the services are a little sporadic, we didn't always receive a turn down at night and have our towels refreshed and there was no laundry service.

The pool is not large but we didn't have a problem getting seated.

The service is good though there was an exception in the bar area, but that was a one-off.

The one disappointment was the restaurant. It was not bad but not great either and we did eat there every evening during out stay so we gave it plenty of chances. Perhaps the chef was on holiday but it is very surprising to see it so highly rated on trip advisor, service in the restaurant mixed too.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottish8traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,075 reviews
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoia Hotel Regency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoia Hotel Regency

Property: Savoia Hotel Regency
Address: Via del Pilastro 2, 40127 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bologna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#6 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,084 - ₹ 23,583
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Savoia Hotel Regency 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SAVOIA HOTEL REGENCY, where classical and linear designproduces special effects in a refined and elegant environment. Every detail is devides to satisfy any demand: the real art of welcome!SAVOIA HOTEL REGENCY surrounded by a 2 hectares Park , with a swimming pool and a kids area, is located in a privileged area closed to the Exhibitions Center and represents a preference point for Business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Savoia Hotel Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Bologna
Regency Hotel Savoia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing