We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Helpful, friendly staff. Some noise issues...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albergo delle Drapperie
Ranked #46 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location. Helpful, friendly staff. Some noise issues...”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Great hotel. Nice staff. Helpful. Some of the rooms/locations can be loud, so make sure you get a room that is quiet.
One suggestion: please put felt pads on the bottom of the chair legs (on the chairs in the rooms, in the breakfast area, etc...). I found some felt pads in the hardware store down the street.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    133
    45
    13
    11
See reviews for
29
168
29
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
845 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

In a pedestrian area and you have to take your luggage up a flight of stairs (so know this going in) but it is not a problem. The hotel is clean and the bathroom is a nice size almost as big as the room. We had a nice little window that opened out to the street but it was too noisy to have open (we had the window closed so we could not hear the noise in the room). Bologna is beautiful but very crowded and noisy. It might have been because we were there over the weekend, during the week might be better. It is worth the visit, though. The hotel is close to the sites and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed one night and found it an acceptable place. The location is excellent with lots of sites, shops and good restaurants all within short walking distance. Had a double room on the first floor which was slightly small, but clean, quiet and comfortable. Based on other reviews, we did not order breakfast, and stopped for our coffee and pastry at the cafe on the corner that cost us much less than 5 Euros per person.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I think I had high expectations of this hotel because of the good reviews and maybe a little because of their website. Although now that I'm reading other recent reviews, they're not that great either. Mind you, I booked back around March. The price was decent at 85 EUR a night. Breakfast is another 5 EUR per person on top of that if you choose to have it at the hotel. There is a fruit stand and a bakery literally across the street from the hotel. We bought two pastries and two pieces of fruit for 3,50 EUR total rather than 10 EUR for what I was told is a pastry and juice (by the guy at the desk). I was only in Bologna for a little over 12 hours, and from what I saw the location is quite good, in the old centre of town and also not far from bus stops and the train station.

The reception desk and first set of rooms are on the first floor of a building with no elevator, up 25 steps and nobody to help with luggage. The décor is quite dated. I stayed in room 103 with a “king bed”, which was two beds pushed together. Two terrible beds. They were quite obviously very old. Thin, worn out, and we could feel the springs pushing through all night. Very uncomfortable. The air conditioner in the room is incredibly weak. We had it on the highest fan speed at the lowest temperature and couldn’t feel a thing. The hot water from the tap never came on, and it took several minutes to get hot water in the shower. The shower leaked everywhere all over the “marble” floor, so when I stepped into the bathroom while my husband was showering I almost slipped. The free wifi just happened not to be working. Thankfully the guy at the front desk helped me to check in for my flight the next morning on his computer.

I wouldn’t let the location of this place entice me. I’d rather stay somewhere comfortable and pay the extra money, on top of being in the old town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissWanderlustCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The main advantage of this hotel is the location, smack in the middle of the Quadrilatero precinct: you are right in the heart of the city. I was thrilled with it after having stayed at an awful hotel in Bologna on a previous occasion. My room was big, on the top level: you could not see the street below but you could hear it and smell it (the aromas from the Eataly restaurant next door). There were some negatives: the lobby is on the first level up stairs so if you have heavy bags or are frail/disabled that would be a problem (there is a lift from level one to the upper levels). The bathroom had no drainage but the water spilt from the shower (inevitably because of those hand-held shower hoses) somehow disappeared down the crack between the bath and floor during the day. They don't have an efficient breakfast-providing facility: the galley is small and they preorder stuff from outside: I recommend you eat out for breakfast: there is a great caffe` just up the street (Caffe delle Drapperie).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schiltron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Art Hotel Orologio
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#12 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Albergo Centrale
#22 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Commercianti
#8 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Santo Stefano
Albergo Garisenda
Albergo Garisenda
#54 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo delle Drapperie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo delle Drapperie

Property: Albergo delle Drapperie
Address: Via Drapperie 5, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,057 - ₹ 9,537
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo delle Drapperie 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Albergo delle Drapperie offers 21 rooms, rising in the Bologna historical centre, overlooks the alleyways which connect Piazza Maggiore to the Asinelli's Towers. Albergo delle Drapperie offers you a Liberty and Comfortable design, free wifi connection and a "animal friendly" policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergo delle Drapperie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Delle Drapperie Bologna
Albergo Delle Drapperie Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing