We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would go back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albergo delle Drapperie
Ranked #46 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I would go back”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The main advantage of this hotel is the location, smack in the middle of the Quadrilatero precinct: you are right in the heart of the city. I was thrilled with it after having stayed at an awful hotel in Bologna on a previous occasion. My room was big, on the top level: you could not see the street below but you could hear it and smell it (the aromas from the Eataly restaurant next door). There were some negatives: the lobby is on the first level up stairs so if you have heavy bags or are frail/disabled that would be a problem (there is a lift from level one to the upper levels). The bathroom had no drainage but the water spilt from the shower (inevitably because of those hand-held shower hoses) somehow disappeared down the crack between the bath and floor during the day. They don't have an efficient breakfast-providing facility: the galley is small and they preorder stuff from outside: I recommend you eat out for breakfast: there is a great caffe` just up the street (Caffe delle Drapperie).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schiltron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    130
    44
    13
    11
See reviews for
28
165
28
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My husband stayed here for 1 night during our honeymoon. When we arrived at the hotel we had to carry our luggage up 3 flights of stairs to the reception (no elevator to the reception). The man sitting at the desk looked annoyed that we had bugged him by showing up. He directed us to our room which although there was air conditioning, never went below 85 degrees throughout the entire night. It was so hot and muggy in our room the entire night, sleep was impossible. The next day, we discovered an extra bonus in our bathroom. Not only was there no shower curtain for the tub, but there was no shower. It was a bathtub with a long handle for the faucet. We literally had to sit in the tub and "shower" sitting down. Had we not been exhausted from lack of sleep, we would have found humor in this. We then went to breakfast (which we were talked into adding during check-in for an extra 5 Euro the night before). Breakfast was also an absolute joke. We were given a couple of thawed out rolls and some water. We went back to our room to pack. While packing, we accidentally moved the top sheet of the bed (which was used to make 2 twin beds appear like a king sized bed - very common in Europe) and discovered that the fitted sheet of one of the twin beds had large brown stains (not visible on the top sheet). Wonderful way to end the trip. Although the hotel is by a number of bars and restaurants, I would recommend paying the extra 15 Euro to spend the night in a hotel with a working shower, air conditioning and washed sheets.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovinglife0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Our stay at the Albergo delle Drapperie was most pleasant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was an unexpected surprise. Although we knew we were close to Piazza Maggiore, with the Basilica, the two towers, the statue of Neptune nearby, we were unaware that we were surrounded by some of the world's finest shopping and excellent Bolognese dining. In addition, the proximity to conveniences such as small shops for water and other travel necessities make this a very desirable hotel. Heartily recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharwood_21218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2011

After a wonderful trip to Venice, Florence and the Tuscany area, we stayed our last few nights in bologna, an area we love for the food and many other things. But this hotel could almost ruin your trip, it felt like we were almost sleeping in a flea bag, one step from being on the street -- bed was totally uncomfortable, soft and lumpy, pillows were old and filthy. The staff was horrible, the night staff could not even speak English or help us with any requests; if you are running a hotel, you need to be able to communicate with your guests -- that is your main job. It smelt liked they washed the floors with dirty water, and I saw the pail one day and almost gagged. A good place to avoid. I don't understand the other reviews on tripAdvisor, how could they be talking about the same place; sounds like they are talking about another hotel. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location which is fabulous. It is really sad that they couldn't live up to the potential of this area and provide a comfortable, friendly and clean accommodation.

Room Tip: Use many reviews and word of mouth, not just TA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAGHW69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionDrapperie, Direttore at Albergo delle Drapperie, responded to this review, 23 July 2011
We remember the customers and the day of their stay. That evening in Piazza Maggiore was an assembly (it was the day before the election day) and the candidate's voice came up to our hotel. All other our guest have understood the situation but not the customers of this review. About the other noises, we're sorry but you can not want to stay in the historic center of a city like Bologna, get a room facing the street, and find the silence of the inns in the country. About the cleaning, customers have not communicated anything to the reception wich in that case would have immediately checked the state of the room. Decor and cleanliness are an important business card and we will never allow our customers to sleep in a room uncared. The hotel was renovated a few years ago, so mattresses and pillows are practically new. About the kindness, the other reviews speak for us. It may happen that a staff member does not speak English, but it is one in five people. We are very sorry that the customers are saying that they do not understand the other reviews on TripAdvisor, but maybe they are just tolking about another hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

spent three nights in this little hotel. it is located in the heart of the oldest part of the city. the room was small with no frilles but was very clean and comfortable with a large window that let us look out over the rooftops of the city. the bathroom was great very modern...ok so the shower was small it was really fun. we took a taxi from the train station which was about a 10 minute ride. the hotel is located in a passage way that host the fruit,fish and vegetable markets daily...which was fun to see how organic all the food is. the location was the best. breakfast was offered to us on arrival that was E5 per person and provided a good start to the day. nice english speaking staff.
and

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designer1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Albergo Centrale
#23 of 104 in Bologna
644 reviews
Al Cappello Rosso
#11 of 104 in Bologna
751 reviews
Art Hotel Orologio
#8 of 104 in Bologna
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Art Hotel Commercianti
#7 of 104 in Bologna
468 reviews
Santo Stefano
Albergo Garisenda
Albergo Garisenda
#58 of 104 in Bologna
128 reviews
San Vitale
BEST WESTERN Hotel San Donato
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo delle Drapperie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo delle Drapperie

Property: Albergo delle Drapperie
Address: Via Drapperie 5, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,549 - ₹ 10,127
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo delle Drapperie 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Albergo delle Drapperie offers 21 rooms, rising in the Bologna historical centre, overlooks the alleyways which connect Piazza Maggiore to the Asinelli's Towers. Albergo delle Drapperie offers you a Liberty and Comfortable design, free wifi connection and a "animal friendly" policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Albergo delle Drapperie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Delle Drapperie Bologna
Albergo Delle Drapperie Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing