We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dirtiest, most uncomfortable place with uncaring staff ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albergo delle Drapperie
Ranked #47 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2011

After a wonderful trip to Venice, Florence and the Tuscany area, we stayed our last few nights in bologna, an area we love for the food and many other things. But this hotel could almost ruin your trip, it felt like we were almost sleeping in a flea bag, one step from being on the street -- bed was totally uncomfortable, soft and lumpy, pillows were old and filthy. The staff was horrible, the night staff could not even speak English or help us with any requests; if you are running a hotel, you need to be able to communicate with your guests -- that is your main job. It smelt liked they washed the floors with dirty water, and I saw the pail one day and almost gagged. A good place to avoid. I don't understand the other reviews on tripAdvisor, how could they be talking about the same place; sounds like they are talking about another hotel. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location which is fabulous. It is really sad that they couldn't live up to the potential of this area and provide a comfortable, friendly and clean accommodation.

Room Tip: Use many reviews and word of mouth, not just TA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAGHW69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReceptionDrapperie, Direttore at Albergo delle Drapperie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2011

We remember the customers and the day of their stay. That evening in Piazza Maggiore was an assembly (it was the day before the election day) and the candidate's voice came up to our hotel. All other our guest have understood the situation but not the customers of this review. About the other noises, we're sorry but you can not want to stay in the historic center of a city like Bologna, get a room facing the street, and find the silence of the inns in the country. About the cleaning, customers have not communicated anything to the reception wich in that case would have immediately checked the state of the room. Decor and cleanliness are an important business card and we will never allow our customers to sleep in a room uncared. The hotel was renovated a few years ago, so mattresses and pillows are practically new. About the kindness, the other reviews speak for us. It may happen that a staff member does not speak English, but it is one in five people. We are very sorry that the customers are saying that they do not understand the other reviews on TripAdvisor, but maybe they are just tolking about another hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 119 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2011

spent three nights in this little hotel. it is located in the heart of the oldest part of the city. the room was small with no frilles but was very clean and comfortable with a large window that let us look out over the rooftops of the city. the bathroom was great very modern...ok so the shower was small it was really fun. we took a taxi from the train station which was about a 10 minute ride. the hotel is located in a passage way that host the fruit,fish and vegetable markets daily...which was fun to see how organic all the food is. the location was the best. breakfast was offered to us on arrival that was E5 per person and provided a good start to the day. nice english speaking staff.
and

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designer1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

I stayed there with a friend in December 2010. The location is terrific, right in the city center and near all kinds of cute shops and good restaurants. Great for doing any kind of walking exploration around Bologna (we took a cab from the train station but you could also walk if you don't have too much luggage to carry). The staff were very welcoming and very accommodating with any of our requests for help or information (and ordered us delicious pizza one evening). Our room was a bit tiny for twin beds, but it was very clean and well-maintained. We had a very nice stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

The hotel is ideally situated on a small pedestrianised street selling lovely fresh produce in the centre of Bologna. The reception is on the first floor via staircase but lift for further floors. Staff very helpful and accommodating when I was unwell and had to stay an extra night, they rearranged another booking so I did not have to change room. Breakfast, basic continental style. Fantastic New Year's Eve meal and entertainment at Franco Rossi Restaurant, but be aware of boisterous celebrations in the main square - fireworks, music & burning representation of old year. Bologna town is charming and very Italian and a great base to explore surrounding area eg: Florence, Modena, Venice. For motor enthusiasts: Ferrari museum, Masserati, Lamborgini and Duccati are also produced nearby. Bologna is well worth a visit but not for "kiss me quick" types!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areasix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Had one night here on Dec 26 - we knew lots of restaurants would be closed but the hotel was totally on top of the situation and able to recommend two they knew would be open. internet in the bedroom was only available on the 2nd floor and they gave us a choice of a room with shower on this floor or a room with a bath on the 3rd - the room on the third floor was so nice we dumped any emailing ideas and went for that. Nice to have been given a choice. Its right in the middle of foodie paradise, we were delighted to wake up and find ourselves surrounded by fab delis and fruit and veg places, great croissants in the bookshop/cafe right next door too. Parking in the city is not easy - the hotel can give you a 24 hr permit for 7€ but spaces are very limited, all the main sites are in walking distance so leave the car further out and take a bus or cab into town to avoid the stress if you can. Charming staff, spacious warm room with good beds in a lovely part of town for 75€ - can't be bad.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Marina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Al Cappello Rosso
#10 of 102 in Bologna
830 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#14 of 102 in Bologna
537 reviews
Art Hotel Orologio
#9 of 102 in Bologna
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albergo Centrale
#24 of 102 in Bologna
722 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#28 of 102 in Bologna
278 reviews
Santo Stefano
Albergo Garisenda
Albergo Garisenda
#54 of 102 in Bologna
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo delle Drapperie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo delle Drapperie

Address: Via Drapperie 5, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: ₹ 6,597 - ₹ 11,047 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo delle Drapperie 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Albergo delle Drapperie offers 21 rooms, rising in the Bologna historical centre, overlooks the alleyways which connect Piazza Maggiore to the Asinelli's Towers. Albergo delle Drapperie offers you a Liberty and Comfortable design, free wifi connection and a "animal friendly" policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albergo delle Drapperie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Delle Drapperie Bologna
Albergo Delle Drapperie Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing