We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly helpful and friendly staff - highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta
Ranked #73 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredibly helpful and friendly staff - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed here for a week and had a wonderful time. The hotel is positioned in a lovely part of Bolgna and is about 10 minutes walk to the centre, so really close. The staff on reception were so helpful and friendly, they really made our stay there what it was. They were always there to help with any question we had and regularaly gave us great advice on restaurents etc, They also helped us plan a trip to the local San Luca, even providing us with bus passes for the day.
We moved rooms after the first night due to a slight confusion but although both were quite different they were both very lovely. We really liked the distinctive and original feel to the whole hotel that made it a really different and memorable experience compared to some more clinical places you can end up staying when on holiday.
The rooms were cleaned very regularly but never to the point of it being a nuisance, and it was always a pleasure to come back to the room after a few hours wondering around Bologna.
The spa was small but perfectly formed. I booked an hour there and candles and music were laid out for me on arrival which made it feel really special and very very relaxing!
We loved our stay at Il Convento and I woul definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    93
    29
    21
    17
See reviews for
32
176
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is a very cute place to stay, away from the hustle and bustle of the Centre of Bologna. The bedroom was simple but lovely. There were large doors to open and shutters to close off in the evening. The bathroom was very cool :) Everywhere was easily accessible by foot. Do the Red Bus Tour as it gives you a very good feel of the city layout. We booked the hotel via email and corresponded with Laura who was so helpful and were delighted to meet her once we finally got to the hotel. We loved Eliza and Serena who kept us entertained each time we came by the Front Desk. Without a doubt the staff makes this place an absolute gem :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDALamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We experienced customer service at its finest! The staff went above and beyond to make sure our stay in Bologna was great-- their recommendations Were
Effect!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mush50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Maybe it's a matter of taste, but, for me, the modern styling of the old building misses the mark. The gimmicky modern lighting, for example, was not sympathetic. Many of the bulbs were missing or didn't work giving a gloomy and neglected air. We paid as much for our room as we did recently for s 5star Mayfair hotel and the levels of comfort and finish were in quite different leagues. The hairdryer was broken, the shower, again gimmicky and ostensibly designer-ish was lamentable splashing out water in dribbles too close to the wall to be stood under. There was no ventilation in the ensuite bathroom (and little privacy) so the air was stale. The street outside is very noisy being opposite a school. It is narrow too and local deliveries etc are early and loud. Yes, the staff are lovely but that alone doesn't make this a first class or good value hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msparisScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This truly ancient edifice (originally a medieval convent) has been turned into an ultra modern, comfortable hotel. It is a perfect study in contrasts -- Brunelleschi meets Benigni. Incredibly intimate but also very private. The staff is outstanding, lead by Laura, who will cater to your every whim and seems to anticipate every need. They are all so accommodating without ever being overbearing. The hotel is situated in a part of town about a 10 minute walk from the Piazza Maggiore, so it's convenient, but still happily separate. Some of the best restaurants in the city are quite nearby. There is nothing I can say about this place that isn't superlative. Oh, finally, as a side note, they happen to serve one of the best cappuccinos in the city. I tasted many during my stay and none were as good as the ones that were served in this breakfast room.

Room Tip: If noise is a big issue for you, you might want to ask for a room not facing Via Orfeo. Ours did and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Art Hotel Novecento
#44 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#9 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#8 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#20 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta

Property: Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta
Address: Via Orfeo 34/4, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#40 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,310
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bologna's dowtown area, il convento dei fiori di eta has been realized following the meticolous restoration of the little church of the nunnery, built in the 15th century. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Convento Dei Fiori Di Seta Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing