We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unique little place, which we left with a smile.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta
Ranked #73 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Hungerford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique little place, which we left with a smile.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

From the narrow street outside, the place does not stand out much. However, on the inside the building is tastefully decorated, clean and cosy. Between the decor and the small team of very good staff, the place has its fair share of personality. Our room was simple but clean and well decorated and in the shortened daylight hours of November became our home from home for 3 days. The heating when we arrived was, if anything, overly effective but easily adjustable.

The staff gave helpful, friendly and attentive service at all times - wihout this becoming obtrusive. They took time to recommend a few restaurants (both that we tried were fine) and gave some directions to help find our feet in Bologna. The staff were happy to book restaurants and taxis for us and I suspect they'd pick up the phone to help in other areas if asked.

Despite the small size of the place, there is a small private spa area (bubble tub, steam room, shower, and chairs) which was candle-lit when we used it. There is also a tiny bar area adjoining the lounge and a more private snug of a few tables on a small landing half way up the stairs.

We had a small problem with lively voices or cars/mopeds making noise in the street below - but this happened only a few times (and then only momentarily) and petered out before midnight.

Overall, a firm recomendation and a place I'd be happy to stay at again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    93
    29
    21
    17
See reviews for
32
176
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

I have been staying at this hotel on business in 2009 and 2010, when things went smooth and the experience was lovely. A room was around 200-230 euros for single usage. Trying to book for the same trade fair again for 2012, I was told via email that the room rate would now be 340 euros per night. I checked the hotel's website and found an offer I had not been told about, which I booked (306 euros for 2 nights non refundable and payable within 24 hours by credit card). I was then told that they could not honour my booking as the price had been a mistake. If I had made a mistake booking, however, I would obviously not have been able to cancel. The manager offered free newspapers and bathrobes plus jacuzzi use and a 10% discount, as they are clearly embarrassed. I declined. I have had problems with bookings via a 3rd party website in the past, but never when booking directly with a hotel. Basically they are telling me they forgot to double the price on their online booking function. I would advise fellow travellers to be very cautious when dealing with this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol, uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We had such a nice stay here. Location wise its great, not in the thick of it all but close enough and giving you plenty of opportunity to take a different route back each time through the little streets, accidentally stumbling past the amazing gelaterias and trattorias near by.
The hotel is gorgeous, so tastefully restored and with a little contemporary luxury in the bedrooms. Our deal through voyage-prive.co.uk gave us an hour in the private spa each day which was such a wonderful little treat, I've never been in such a hot steam room.
The staff couldn't do enough to help us and were so friendly. The traffic can be noisy but really isn't that bad - its a single track road and its just the little mopeds that cause the problem. All well double glazed so not noticed once the balcony door's are shut.
Thanks and we'd love to go back

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rics99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
342 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

This will always be held as one of our most memorable stays in Italy. The suite was so unusually designed and artistic - much like the city of music where it is located. The staff was so accommodating and despite how crazy the Orfeo location is (the street never really stops with fast traffic), we did manage to get our bags into the hotel and get a parking card for the lot at the end of the alley. It all worked out beautifully and Il Convento was the highlight of our Bologna visit. Grazie mille.

Room Tip: I think they are all artistic and beautiful. Such a special lodging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfdann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Our arrival started off by the hotel manager rushing out to our taxi to assist us with our luggage even though we hadn't even informed them what time we were arriving!This set the scene for the whole weekend.

He booked us into 3 excellent restaurants that he recommended, slightly off the tourist trail plus also helped us plan our 2 days sightseeing.

The accommodation itself was excellent with a really good sized room plus there is a good jacuzzi and sauna.

In summary though the friendliness and helpfulness of all of the staff really set this hotel apart.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyl563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Art Hotel Novecento
#43 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#7 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#20 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta

Property: Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta
Address: Via Orfeo 34/4, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Santo Stefano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bologna
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#40 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,397
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Convento dei Fiori di Seta 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bologna's dowtown area, il convento dei fiori di eta has been realized following the meticolous restoration of the little church of the nunnery, built in the 15th century. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Convento Dei Fiori Di Seta Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing