We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good 3 star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera
Ranked #35 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 13 September 2011

The hotel is very clean and the staff is also very helpful.
We were working at the fair (SANA) and we need to bake sth, first I saw the faces which were not very satisfied but than we solved everything. they baked for us cheese lollipops which were perfect.
I want to thank you mister who is working in the bar ... I don't know his name ... he is original from Asia. (I think)

The only bad thing is very expensive internet or maybe I am just spoiled with free internet connection in other hotels.

The location is perfect for business and for those who works at the fair.
They have a free shuttle bus to and from the hotel, departing just before the fair opens and coming back right after the fair closure ... they adjust with fair schedule.

Just across the street the is a shopping centre with some shops, like OVS, Coin, Dechatlon, Coop and others.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms in front of the elevator or those when you exit on you left. In front of this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S0nny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed 7 nights in the hotel, so we had the ability for deep analyzing of the hotel.
Location is good, near a shopping center.
Car is a must.
2 hours from Firenze and Pisa, 10 minutes from Bologna.
The air condition did not work well and the room was very hot including the corridors. Only the lobby was with good air condition.
Breakfast - the same food was every day (was ok).
In one of the days a large group that stayed in the hotel finished the whole food and we had nothing to eat…
The lazy waiter did not do his job and only after few clients claimed, he brought some food but not everything. Even the tables stayed in a real mess.
The next day there was another big group but this time was a nice waitress (with short hair cut) who was excellent and hard working - She was diligent & perfect - Bravo!
No free Wifi at all – very disappointing.
No self service laundry (with tokens) - very disappointing.
No electric kettle in the room - very disappointing.

This hotel is good for maximum 3 nights stay no more.
A little disappointing if you compare it to other holiday inn hotels around the world.

Room Tip: In summer, ask for a room with good and strong air condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomersNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is clean and very good positioned if you visit the Bologna Fair.
The big minus is the confort that this hotel offered for the price that you pay. No minibar / refrigerator in the room! And you really need because of the weather.
The breakfast is poor and the waiters are not very polite!
I will never return at this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mihaiBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLQFA, Direttore at Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for your comments. Because of the rules / policy of the Chain, all Holiday Inn Express hotels in the world cannot have in-room minibar. I would like to remind you that vending machines are available 24h in each floor.
I will investigate on breakfast buffet and waiters behaviour, instead. I would like to welcome again at the Holiday Inn Express hoping you can change your opinion regarding the breakfast!
Thanking for your support, I remain

Best regards,
Alessandro Barlesi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

This hotel keeps what you expect from Holiday Inn Express. Small but clean room. a shower which was powerful even in the morning when everybody was showering. The fair is still a good distance away, so trade fair bus or own car are still needed.
There is a huge selection of shopping malls incl. Decathlon and a mega-grocery within eye sight.
5 stars (not my usual four) for the excellent bed, and the fun+friendly staff.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
Thank Eikoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLQFA, Direttore at Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2010

Dear Eikoor,
thank you for your feedback. I will inform my staff immediately about your comment.
This is the best way to motivate everybody to do their job beyond all expectations.
Hoping to welcome again at the Holiday Inn Express Bologna Fiera, I remain

Best regards,
Alessandro Barlesi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Last summer this property was outstanding. Everything worked. It might be working again, but our stay was unlike last year's. First, the ice machine was broken. We were given two small plastic cups of ice, and told the hotel couldn't spare any more. For a property that is accustomed to North Americans, providing ice should be important.

Second, there was a huge tour group at the hotel. This property is used to tour groups, and it is a convention hotel. The breakfast was very busy with the tour group taking up nearly every table. When they left, it would be time for replenishment, but the staff set about cleaning up from the group. At dinner, the server told one of our group, a vegetarian, that the requested plate --a favorite-- had meat. It did not.

Our biggest concern is the apathy towards Priority Club members. There are parking spaces designated for members, but the water on the dresser was to be purchased at 1.20/bottle. They could offer the water, or free internet, or some other token to acknowledge Club membership.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuViPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLQFA, Direttore at Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2010

Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for your comments. We apologize for the inconvenients that occurred during your last stay at the Holiday Inn Express Bologna Fiera. We will try to improve immediately our service in order to satisfy our guests.
For your information we already ordered a new ice machine for guest's use but it will be delivered only after Sept. 03rd, because summer holidays. I will try to investigate about breakfast and dinner in order to solve waiter's behaviour, instead.
At your disposal for any further information you might require, we remain

Best regards
Alessandro Barlesi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Donato
Hotel Cosmopolitan Bologna
Savena
Best Western Plus Tower Hotel Bologna
San Donato
Novotel Bologna Fiera
Novotel Bologna Fiera
#36 of 102 in Bologna
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo Panigale
Hotel Bologna Airport
Hotel Bologna Airport
#32 of 102 in Bologna
1,214 reviews
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#21 of 102 in Bologna
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera

Address: Via del Commercio Associato 3, 40127 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#34 Business Hotel in Bologna
#38 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: ₹ 3,758 - ₹ 8,662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Bologna Fiera is a four-star hotel complex with 161 bedrooms, a good restaurant and a large outdoor car park. It is located in between of the FICO Eataly World and Fiera di Bologna exhibition center. Just in front you you find the Meraville Mall and it is only a few minutes from the city centre, Bologna Airport(BLQ) and the motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bologna-Fiera Hotel Bologna
Bologna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing