We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Nearby Hotels
My One Hotel Bologna(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$ 79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Relais Bellaria Hotel & Congressi(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$ 104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 125
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savhotel(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ramada Encore Bologna(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$ 63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 161
US$ 89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bologna Airport(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$ 76
US$ 71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suite Hotel Elite(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$ 80
US$ 62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Il Guercino(Bologna)(Great Value!)
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (832)
Filter reviews
832 results
Traveller rating
212
369
179
45
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
369
179
45
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationroof terracesingle roomhotel is locatednice hotelbuffet breakfastcentral bolognastar hotelnice breakfastcity centreold citythe main squarethree nightsroom was largemini barvisit bolognapiazza maggiore
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 832 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel is all about location, which is excellent, near the University (therefore lively) and the twin towers (therefore close to the main city sites. So far, so good. Where the hotel fell down is that it is very noisy (as mentioned by many other reviewers) and finding a set of ear-plugs in the bathroom was not encouraging. Walls are indeed paper thin, and the use of floor tiles instead of carpets magnifies the noise - as we discovered during preparations for departure in a nearby room at 4am.
The other annoying thing about the hotel was the immensly frustrating access to the (admittedly free) WiFi, which requires guests to sign a form, and ask for a separate access code per phone of lap top, and the need to re-log on endlessly as access just shut down time after time for no apparent reason, requiring a new log-on. Anti-terrorist legislation we were told, but this was the only hotel in Italy (with quite a few sampled) that required this annoying procedure.
Apart from that the hotel was quite good, although I am not sure that we will use it again the next time we visit Bologna.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passyparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of what you could consider red Bologna (it is surrounded by red buildings). There is parking and it is included in your fee. The breakfast was good, but nothing extraordinary. Heating in the rooms could be improved. Here is the breakdown:

The good: Price and location. You cannot beat either. You are within walking distance of all the nice piazzas and buildings, as well as bars and restaurants. And the price is extraordinary. Additionally the staff went out of their way to help. I was there in 2012 when it was snowing all over Italy and the staff helped us remove the snow from our car.

The bad: It is a little old and needs a renovation. Especially the bathrooms and the heating systems.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend when you don't want to splurge in a hotel. If it is a special weekend go to a nicer hotel, otherwise if you are on a budget like I was it is perfect. Additionally, ask the front desk to help you with dinner reservations, they sent us to an amazing restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atlacatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I booked this hotel on booking.com and got a very reasonable rate for its location. The room was 74 euro per night which included breakfast. Hotel is a bit hard to find and unfortunately our GPS was of no help because it is located on a pedestrian street which the GPS can't account for so you end up driving in circles until you ask someone how to get to the hotel. Just go to the square where the twin towers are and park the car and put the flashers on. Walk about 80 yards to the hotel and get your parking token to use their lot. Here is where it got a little sticky for me. When I checked out my bill had a 24 euro per night fee on it for parking. When I booked the room the site said hotel parking available and when I checked in the girl at the desk made like it part of the stay. It was like" yes, please go and get your car and bring it in this way, this is our parking for the hotel. It is actually the center courtyard for the hotel and there is no indication that it is a pay for parking situation. I now know that it is very important to read all the detailed info when using booking.com as it pertains to parking fees and internet wireless fees etc....The hotel offers a very substantial warm breakfast and the rooms have a beautiful terrace overlooking the center courtyard as well as a roof deck. I would recomend this hotel as a great value if you're not driving a car and if a 24 euro per night parking fee is in your budget then you won't do much better as far as location and value are concerned.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is a superb hotel in a very perfect city location. The staff ae so helpful and kind. They told us of some wonderful places to eat dinner. I would stay there anytime in Bologna.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room with balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ballard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This is a very nice hotel in a lovely neighborhood. It is worth the trip for the terrace alone: from the top floor you can see 360 degrees of Bologna roofs -- stunning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank expatRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews