We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice if you travel in Bologna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel San Donato
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Very well located in the center of the city, minutes walking to any major touristic objective in the Center.
Hotel is located in an old palace, so it is an historic building. I fully recommend you to climb up to the roof (forth floor) where the city view is unbelievable. Staff was friendly and check in us at 12.00 o'clock although the official check in is 14.00. Rooms are spacious, clean and a big bathroom well equipped. The minus was the bed which was not so comfy I was expected.
Wifi in my room was not existing. I have to go on the floor lobby to have the signal. Good breakfast which for Italy I may say is unusual.
I think if you are going there by car there can be a problem because the hotel is situated in the heart of the historical city, very tiny streets most of them one way or only pedestrian.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mustaine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (768)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel San Donato
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 276 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Best Western San Donato in early Oct 2011 for one night as a break from the trip from Cinque Terre to Venice.

The location of the hotel is great, its about a 3-4 minute walk to the main square but is set back from the main roads enough so that its quiet. We actually walked from the train station and it only took about 10 – 15 mins but you would need a map as its not that simple to find.

We were greeted very well by the reception staff and even though we were checking in at noon (check in is not officially till 2pm) they had no problem letting us into the room. The room itself was quite nice, if not fantastic. It did have a fridge which was nice to keep drinks cold, that bathroom was very large with a good shower, the bed was VERY hard (which we don’t like), there was an electronic safe in the cupboard which was a nice touch. The best feature of the room was the balcony, huge, with a great view although very strange that it did not have any furniture.

The roof top terrace was very nice, a great spot to take photo’s of the city or to enjoy a bottle of wine pre dinner (and yes, as others have said, there are only chairs and tables up there, no service of any type but that is fine if you know that is the case).

Breakfast was actually quite good. We got a spot on the terrace outside as soon as we arrived (lucky perhaps). There was a good (if not great) selection of hot and cold items and they served you fresh coffee if you ask for it (although the coffee was not very good).

All in all we quite enjoyed out time in the hotel and would recommend for anyone who wants to be close to the action on a short stay in Bologna.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Savitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I can absolutely recommend this hotel. It is located in a stylish historic building that has been well modernized. The staff is very friendly and helpful, both at the reception desk and at the bar. They provided me with all the information I wanted. They always greet you with a smile.
The bar (which offers various snacks and drinks that are very reasonably priced) has a nice roof terrace with a nice view on the second floor. On the fourth floor, there is also a panoramic terrace with deck chairs from where you have a magnificent view on the city.
I had a single room which was spacious and very clean. Safe, modern TV, minibar, air conditioning,… it was all there. Although I only stayed for two nights, the entire room was cleaned after the first night and the sheets and towels were all replaced.
The location is another advantage of the hotel. It is located in the historic centre of the city, near the university area. Many places of interest are on a very short walking distance from the hotel.
I have stayed in other four star hotels which were more expensive for less quality than this one. The hotel is definitely worth its four stars.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joris27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This is my third review of a Best Western facilty--honestly, I am not a shill for this chain; I choose them because I have been consistently impressed. The San Donato is a typical Best Western in Europe: exceptionally: well-managed, excellent service, more than adequate facilty, wonderful breakfasts, reasonably priced. The service here was truly exceptional, with Mariana and Martina and others at the desk providing help and constant cheer. Those who tended the small bar were also friendly and efficient and kept us full of snacks. The hotel is near the university of Bologna, which gives it a lively atmosphere. Good views from both the fourth and second floor roofs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OdieStPaul_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We have travelled all over Europe extensively and read some of the reviews on this property. The location is indeed very good. You are in the middle of the old town - but this is where it stopped. It started with having big difficutlties in finding our way in reaching the hotel as there are constructions going on all around in the area. Check in was in a cold atmosphere and you could feel the front desk staff just wanted to get rid of us quickly. The room was on the 3rd floor and looked uncomfortable and old - this first impression was confirmed when we layed in our beds at night and felt the old mattress. Air condition was there but just did not do any difference (just blowing out some air). They advertise a roof top terrasse on the 4th floor which they have BUT there is no service whatsoever (no bar - nothing) We really felt that they missed a big opportunity there. The breakfast buffet was OK but again service was very weak AND only half of the guests could sit on a nice patio outside - the rest of us had to sit inside which was less attractive. Parking is expensive despite the fact that it is located within the hotel's court yard (was 24 Euro a night). The hotel seems to lack a good manager as it definitely has potential. The property really relies on its good location but as already mentioned this is were it all stops.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimberAntwerp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 102 in Bologna
815 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#13 of 102 in Bologna
524 reviews
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 102 in Bologna
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 102 in Bologna
885 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,525 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#30 of 102 in Bologna
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel San Donato? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel San Donato

Address: Via Zamboni 16 | CENTRO CITTA', 40126 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > San Vitale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#30 Family Hotel in Bologna
#35 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: ₹ 6,600 - ₹ 23,484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel San Donato 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel housed in 17th century structure, situated near main theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Donato
Best Western Bologna
Bologna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing