We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic and friendly Hotel Touring, Bologna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Touring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Touring
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic and friendly Hotel Touring, Bologna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at Hotel Touring. Each night we watched the rooftops from our small balcony, as the red and beige colored roof tiles changed hue in the dusk.
The hotel is located a leisurely 10 minute walk away from the Piazza Maggiore. We stayed a week. The English-speaking staff was always helpful in recommending a restaurant or a walking tour or a museurm. Each took time with us reviewing maps and plotting routes. This was our second time here and it was lovely.
There are sidewalk cafes everywhere, which is handy since in our retirement we do not have the energy to walk long distances. So we stopped at different cafes every day and sat to watch the world go by. Everyone rides motor scooters or bicycles and the women dress much more formally on their way to work or college than most Americans do. Colorful scarves and dark toned leather shoes were part of the daily fashion show.
The hotel is run by a family and the care everyone puts into their jobs is obvious. The city publishes a map that we took everywhere and plots three tours: cathedrals, underground water courses and handicapped accessible routes. Each day we found a new restaurant, a new food specialty shop and a new way to get to the city square and back. The staff recommended our favorite Trattoria, within a few blocks, called Trebbi. Although we do not speak Italian, we found that if we followed the protocol of basic politeness and some greetings in Italian, everyone we met in the city was able to get across a message of some sort, using fluent English to handgestures! We recommend Hotel Touring and plan to go back every spring!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony. The roof tiles across the city and church steeples and the two histo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnesotatravelers40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTouring, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
It was a pleasure having you as guests! thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    514
    83
    18
    14
See reviews for
215
561
138
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Great location -- short walk to the center of the city. Very good breakfast. We found the staff very helpful, but we had spent a lot of time in Bologna in the past. We were in a room around the corner from the hotel in a completely separate building. The room was big, but miserably furnished and not very comfortable.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AIS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTouring, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thanks for your review, we look forward to give you one of our best room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergy, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is such a charming and serene place to come home to at the end of the day. Hotel Touring is tucked in a small street, away from the center's bustle, so you're guaranteed a good night's sleep. But in fact it is only about a 10 minute walk to Piazza Maggiore through some of the loveliest porticos in the city. It has all the little touches that make a stay memorable -- a lovely reading room, a small patio for coffee, and a rooftop where you can enjoy aperitif and good photo-shooting. But most of all, we appreciated the staff's warmth, helpfulness, and genuine concern for their guests' comfort. The room my daughter and I had was good-sized, and so was the bathroom. The staff kept the facilities clean and in good shape. Certainly, when we return to Bologna, it will be back to Hotel Touring.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurorita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTouring, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you very much and see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

The best thing about Hotel Touring is the view from their rooftop. You get a good look at the city, and they even have a small hot tub. The breakfast was typical and good. The down side was that it was a ways away from the central part of down down a small alley, and it was a tiny room. I mean really tiny. The staff was friendly and helpful. Basically the place is fine for a one night stop over like we had, but I would not recommend it for longer than that. There just isn't anything to make it stand out. Okay...not great.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTouring, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thanks for your review, we regret that your stay was "just so-so", we hope you come back soon to offer you a very special room. you will not regret it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Often times I look to websites to gather a certain perspective on the varying types of hotels I can stay at during my trips, and oftentimes I am left even more confused, with so many varying opinions and options...Just stop searching for more hotels in Bologna and book your stay at Hotel Touring.

Best staff-- so thoughtful, so insightful (they will tell you anything and everything you need to know), and they are all very charming and beautiful ;) ciao bella

Best rooms-- so comfortable, so clean, modern, spacious beyond measure

Best patio- the patio has the most beautiful view of Bologna, sit and lounge, order dinner and relax and take in the view!

Best service-- breakfast is THE BEST, their food is wonderful, they even sell you bottled wine, water etc ANYTHING you want, they got

Best people-- like I said: courteous, helpful, attractive, awesome!!!

~romina

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rome K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTouring, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Touring, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you very much from all touring Staff! Ciao bella!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#9 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Touring? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Touring

Property: Hotel Touring
Address: Via De' Mattuiani 1/2 | Piazza Tribunale, 40124 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#17 Family Hotel in Bologna
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,932 - ₹ 30,704
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Touring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Touring is a 3 star hotel in Bologna, situated in a quiet location in the old town a short walk from Piazza Maggiore, the Church of San Domenico. A few steps from the Galleria Cavour, the temple dedicated to international brands and made in Italy, as Gucci, Luis Vuitton, Prada, Cartier, our bed and breakfast remains within walking distance from the main touristic places as Piazza Santo Stefano, Torre degli Asinelli. Garage and Traffic Restriction Pass, WIFI area, Wonderful rooftop terrace, well maintained and green. Among the offers of services during the summer, the charm of our bologna hotel bed and breakfast is completed with the opening of the magnificent Jacuzzi on the 5th floor.A moment of pleasure that will make your stay unique in Bologna, whether from us for businees and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Touring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Touring Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing