We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“658 arches to the top”

Santuario di Madonna di San Luca
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 85.40*
and up
Private Tour: Classical Bologna Walking Tour
More Info
US$ 118.36*
and up
Private Tour: Bologna Cycling Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #6 of 332 things to do in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“658 arches to the top”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We heard it is the longest portico in the world. You must like walking and be a stayer because it is a long walk from Porta Saragozza to the top counting the arches which is numbered from 1 -658. After a while you will see more and other sides of the city even viewing "endless" arches round each bend. Bring your own drinking water etc. it was disappointing nothing to be bought on the top. But we got a nice tranquil view of the city and hills behind. Just do it!!"

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Odd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,641
    750
    168
    35
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Long, but worthwhile, climb”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Longest porticoed walk in the world, or so I read, somewhere. We walked from the historical center of Bologna. The first portion, to the Arch of Meloncello, is flat and a relatively easy couple kilometers walk. From Meloncello to the church on the hill, however, is another 1.5 or so kilometers and is a fairly steep climb. It is fascinating to watch the different people heading up the hill: some are making a religious pilgrimage, reading the bible; others are jogging up the steps or along the roadway, or riding a bicycle up the roadway, using the ascent for physical exercise.

The church itself is interesting, but the real joy of the climb for us was the view of the Bologna area from the heights of the hilltop.

For those who want to get to the top but don't want to walk, there are buses and there is a little roadway train.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steep climb well worth it”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Beautiful basilica, as well a lovely views of the city. Long steep climb - good exercise in the morning. A real highlight. Other villas and parks in the area.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 156kraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort lauderdale florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“disappointing after climbing steps forever”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I had read the positive reviews for walk, views and church at the top. So I thought we were give it a try but it just seemed like we were climbing steps that just never ended. Several times along the way we talked about just turning back but numerous other people were going so were thought it must be worth it. In fact, at one point someone who saw that we were thinking of turning around said it was really worth the effort. So we kept going and going and when we finally got to the top all I could say was Really? To me and my husband this was not something I would recommend unless you are interested in the background of San Luca or for religious reasons it is important to you. The views were ok and we just thought this took way too much time for too little reward. I do give many kudos to the people I saw jogging up - amazing effort to them. The best thing was Sorbetteria Saragozza(Via Saragozza 83) on the street leading to the start of the walk. Fabulous gelato and really special combinations - highly recommed this gelato place. I think it is related to Sorbetteria Castiglione (Via Castiglione 44 and closer into town).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank chezrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unusual walk in the long portico.”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The walk up to St Luca has to be one of the most unusual walks around. It's about 3km if you do it all, but we missed out the level part alongside via Saragozza by getting a no. 20 bus from Ugo Bassi to the arch at Meloncello, where the portico goes over the main road and starts to climb. It's just like one side of a cloister, but goes on and on uphill in a mixture of sloping parts and steps. The surface is a bit uneven in places, and you need to look out for the locals running up and down the portico, maybe trying to work of the excesses of Bolognese food! The basilica at the top is open for visits, and you can go up to the dome inside if you wish, but when we went there, despite notices to the contrary, it closed for lunch from 12-30 to 3-30. There's nothing else at the top, not even a cafe, so take plenty of water with you if it's hot. (There are some toilets round the back of the church - these don't shut for lunch). Good view of Bologna from the top, but it's often hazy. There's a handy cafe when you get back down, just by Meloncello Arch.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rbrtfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santuario di Madonna di San Luca also viewed

Bologna, Province of Bologna
 
Bologna, Province of Bologna
 

Been to Santuario di Madonna di San Luca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing