We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice for stay in Bologna”
Review of Grand Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Elite
Ranked #49 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Reviewed 7 April 2012

It was very easy and cheap to get from BLQ airport to hotel by bus (6EUR). I get off on bus stop Ospedale Maggiore and next continue about 500 m same direction.
There is a big hotel sign on the building so it was easy to find the hotel. But to find the hotel door was a rebus. Entrance is in the passage and it is easy to overlook it.
Reception staff was were friendly and everything went quickly. The room price was very good for Bologna and the high quality, breakfast did cost additional EUR 12 per day.
Internet WiFi connection was expensive and I used the mobile 3G network instead.
Hotel is in distance to centre what is disadvantage for night return.

Room Tip: Ask the quiet room as there is a noise from the street in the evening and morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DigiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 270 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just returned from staying at the Grand Elite. It represents good value for money. It's clean, the staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, although there was a lack of jam/marmalade and fresh fruit. It's a very dark hotel, mainly due to the dark wood panelling. It could do with a make-over. The TV channels are very limited, and the reception poor - not that we watched TV much. The train station is 30min walk, and the city centre about the same. If you are looking for a great pizza check out La Bella Napoli - it's a 20min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravellerUK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EliteBologna, Direttore at Grand Hotel Elite, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad to inform you that we already solve the TV channels reception problem. We are really sorry that you remark a lack of jam/marmalade and fresh fruit since breakfast buffet it is normally plenty: anyway we will dedicate more and more attention. Finally we inform you that the property soon will provide to restyle rooms and suites.
We hope to welcome you back to Bologna and remains,
yours faithfully.
Marco Bertuzzi – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a BA city break package. The value for money was excellent and we had a really nice stay here.
Plus points:- VFM; nice size rooms and well mainatined; good breakfast.
Negatives:- dark corridors (wood panelled and low lighting); location.
Location explained:- the hotel is good 20m min walk into the centre, and then there is a lot to walk around. Not a problem for us as we like a walk and it helps move some of the calories you will pile on in Bologna as the food in this city is excellent. However the train station is quite a trek - at least 30 mins by foot - but the busses stop right outside the hotel, and taxis are fairly cheap.
Taxi from airport was E13, so between 4 of us was cheap enough.
City itself is very nice, but probably my least favourite of all Italian cities I have visited - but that's not to say it's not worth seeing. Food and wine is great!
Day visit to Parma was lovely day out, and that is a lovely place as well.
Back to the hotel - get a room at the back (we were in 118 and 119) as the road at the front is busy and I suspect these rooms would be noisy.

Room Tip: Geta room at the back (see main reveiw)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Plus- Very good location, easy access by bus from the airport and easy way to the city center by two buses or also on foot. A safe surroundings . Camfortable and quite a big single room with everything you need. A decoration is interesting , not modern but in style. Tv-sat on the cupboard not hooked under a ceiling.
Minus- A little noisy AC and sometimes a smell of cigarettes which penetrates probably through the AC.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gigella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with my family this December. Our room was very spacious,comfortable and clean. Breakfast was not included in rate however we had a kitchenette and could make ourselves breakfast. The hotel is conveniently located within a few mins away from the centre or else by bus which is frequent. Bus stop right in front of the hotel. Staff were very helpful . It is also very close to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scerris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
Suite Hotel Elite
Suite Hotel Elite
#21 of 102 in Bologna
1,993 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#28 of 102 in Bologna
285 reviews
Reno
Hotel Maggiore
Hotel Maggiore
#20 of 102 in Bologna
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amadeus Hotel
#44 of 102 in Bologna
688 reviews
Ramada Encore Bologna
#16 of 102 in Bologna
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Elite

Address: Via Aurelio Saffi 36, 40131 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Bologna
#31 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: ₹ 2,656 - ₹ 25,806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Elite 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Grand Hotel Elite for 50 years does not betray the wishes of its guests by offering even today the same refined atmosphere donated by precious materials, elegant details, the quality of living in spacious comfort rooms, unique in the functional solutions, a real its objection in the hotel reality. luxury 4 star hotel, high quality cuisine, perfect spa area for their physical fitness and meeting rooms where you can gather for the demands of work: you will find all this and more at the Grand Hotel Elite, 4-star hotel in the center of Bologna Near Marconi Airport and Central Station, not far from the Stadio Dall'Ara, the Fair and the city center, this beautiful hotel suite gives you a unique stay with many plus and daily attention to your service. Inside you'll find a furnished room in vintage style, where furniture and decorative elements recall perfectly the elegance of the '70s: a luxury of the past, which the Grand Hotel Elite is brought to light, perfectly combining it with good facilities and staff always attentive to your needs. A choice of this property with the view to preserving the unique character of the structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing