We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a nice surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropolitan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metropolitan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

I wasn't expecting much in Bologna, but I was so happy about our choice of this hotel.
Modern, comfortable, convenient, and absolutely the largest room with the largest bathroom, and MOST COMFORTABLE BED I have ever had in Europe.
The shower was enclosed glass that was visible from the bedroom, and there were colored lights for the shower and above the bed that I suppose were supposed to enhance a romantic mood - we thought they were a little funny.
The breakfast was good and plentiful, and nicely presented.
We had a room off the olive court which was also a nice surprise - a little private courtyard in a large city.
The staff were very friendly and accomodating.
I was walking through the hall and saw a cleaning person in another room and asked to see it. The people had checked out so she let me in. There was an exercise bike in there, and the room was just as big and nice as ours. The bathroom was a little smaller but just as nice. She said the first three floors of the hotel had just been renovated in the last year.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms or even one off the courtyard if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank likecomfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    477
    97
    21
    6
See reviews for
246
543
114
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed with a group of friends in a quad room in this nice hotel in the center of Bologna. The hotel offers reasonable value for money and is a comfortable, clean, hotel in a good central location which is easily reachable (with public car-parking nearby).

The room (1 double + 2 single beds) and the bathroom were both of a good size and very clean.

A few small things that could be improved:
- shower does not have doors or shower curtain on one side, so the whole bathroom floor gets wet if you're not very careful
- the breakfast has a good choice and quality, but there are many tiny dishes on the buffer, which look cute but are not very practical. it would be better to have larger dishes (for example of fruits and sweets) on the buffet instead of a multitude of small ones, especially since the space in the breakfast room is quite limited

Service in the hotel was always good, professional and friendly. We would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peri&rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We recently spent four nights at the Metropolitan Hotel Bologna and were most impressed with our stay.

The rooms very large by European standards, finished nicely and very clean. The location is very central. Our room was on the first floor, right above the two bars that are at the entrance to the hotel. We did find some noise flowed up from the bars, but this didn't bother us at all as we were generally out at night, and if not we found it to be a pleasant ambience - but if you really want quiet maybe request a room on a higher floor.

The breakfast buffet was exceptional, one of the better ones we encountered during our trip around Europe. The staff were extremely friendly, especially the front desk staff. Having free WiFi was an important feature for us and we didn't have any problems with the system - there is also a computer in the lobby for those who don't travel with one.

Would definitely recommend and will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Metropolitan for just one night in May. The hotel is on a quiet street and the room was very nice. The price was an exceptional value. We checked in fairly late in the evening. Our only complaint was the night receptionist who was most unhelpful on simple requests (An example - Q -could you recommend a good restaurant near to the hotel? A. -The City is full of good restaurants. While absolutely true, not particularly helpful to tired travelers.) We would have rated the hotel much lower had it not been for the day staff - who were wonderful and exceptionally helpful.
Would stay again, but would only check in during the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel kindly honored our request for an upgrade given the room price of our standard room was much less now than two months ago. The front desk person helped us get the most convenient parking place in Bologna. The room is comfortable and we are able to get a cross draft for cooling (too early for A/C). The bathroom is large but has some mold in the grout in the shower. We had to request our room to be serviced on of three days, but it was quickly remedied. The front desk helped us with some calls in Italian for things we were looking for. They also gave us the location of a laundromat which surprisingly had an English-speaking attendant. Breakfast included many little choices.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank msanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#9 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Hotel Porta San Mamolo
#10 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Savhotel
#3 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolitan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolitan Hotel

Property: Metropolitan Hotel
Address: Via Dell'Orso 6, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bologna
#7 Family Hotel in Bologna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,765 - ₹ 28,046
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropolitan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, minimalist, inspired to Far East suggestions..Design Hotel in Bologna The Metropolitan Hotel has been completely renovated according to the news hospitality concepts.Modern comforts melt into an exclusive inner design combined to a long tradition of family of Hoteliers.The Metropolitan Hotel is perfectly located in the Medieval city centre of Bologna, in a walking area a few steps from Piazza Maggiore.Exotic flavours from Far East will seduce guests along the enchanting and relaxing atmosphere of the breakfast room to taste several Eastern teas an herbs infusions together with fragrant brioches and a creative selection of fresh fruits.Our Staff will be glad to suggest you the best Restaurants of the City, the most exclusive Shops and Outlet and to arrange your visit to the legendary cathedrals of motors: homeland to Ferrari, Ducati, Lamborghini and Maserati brands.And for those who want to stay in elegant apartments, maintaining the benefits and services of a hotel, are available to the new MET'S APARTMENTSParking at 100mt from the Hotel (price reserved for our customers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Metropolitan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing