We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but you can do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astoria Hotel Bologna
Ranked #84 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
467 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“OK, but you can do better”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Book in here for 5 nights as most hotels were full due to a trade fair. It is OK, but no more than that.

Good points: the reception staff were helpful and the hotel perfectly clean. There was a minibar in the room, which is not always the case in this class of hotel.

Bad points: the furniture in my room was old fashioned and the bathroom very small. The food at the breakfast buffet was quite good, but the room too crowded and the service poor. There are better locations: both for accessing local transport and walking into the medieval centre.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    140
    191
    66
    69
See reviews for
76
179
55
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The Hotel Astoria was a little too far out of centre for my taste. It's a very quiet neighbourhoud, but I would have preferred a shorter walk. Luckily the hotel had a bike that I could rent. The staff is very friendly, and breakfast is adequate, but the room smelled of cigarette smoke and the bathroom was very small. It was ok for a couple of nights, but if I had known I would have looked for something a little more in the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bologna hotels

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We ended up here because our B&B was a no show and the other recommended hotel was full. The carpet was filthy and smelled and the decor was dark and dreary. The bathroom was spotless, though. The staff was helpful, since our A/C didn't seem to work, we inquired and it needed to be turned on by them. Breakfast was nice. We were very close to the train station, which is what we wanted, but wished we had a Guida Rossa for other suggestions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

we wouldn't stay if we didn't have to. very poor standard. shower is disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikeGeckinli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This hotel is way too far, about 1.5 kilometers, from the main piazza and if you want to see the sights it is better to stay near the Duomo/piazza where there are excellent cheap hotels. While they are further from the railway station, a taxi to the station is only a few euros. As for this hotel, my room had cigarette ash on the window sill, which meant it had not been cleaned properly and had been let to a smoker, the bedcover had cigarette burns on both sides, and the room smelled of cigarette smoke forcing me to air it with both window and door open. It was a heart-breaking introduction to Bologna (a fabulous city).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schiltron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
Porto
Millennhotel
Millennhotel
#65 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Nuovo Hotel del Porto
#34 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Panorama Hotel
#31 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Hotel Albergo Atlantic
Hotel Albergo Atlantic
#19 of 104 in Bologna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Porto
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#81 of 104 in Bologna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Mercure Bologna Centro
#49 of 104 in Bologna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel Bologna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel Bologna

Property: Astoria Hotel Bologna
Address: Via Fratelli Rosselli 14, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 104 Hotels in Bologna
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,977 - ₹ 11,280
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel Bologna 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel Bologna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bologna Astoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing