We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely breakfast shame about the lost wallet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Internazionale
Ranked #27 of 102 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This is not going to be easy but I will be as factual as I can.
First the good things. The breakfast is amazing and one of the best I have enjoyed anywhere. There are suberb Italian hams and cheeses, egg and bacon, breads and pastries, cereals, fruit and yoghurts and on top of all the superb Italian cakes. Lunch is not needed. The staff are efficient and helpful and the location right in the heart of the city could not be better.
Now for the downside. Our room was on the small side, it was hot (this was a warm March) and I shudder to think what it would have been like in July with the useless air-conditioning (and it is). I know this is a city centre but the rooms that face the street are noisy and the traffic noise goes on late and starts early. You may find sleep difficult. Then there was the mysterious case of the vanishing wallet. I normally wore the wallet around my neck and I know I left in our room when we went out as I thought it would be safer there. We left at about 9.30 pm. The room was locked and there was a "do not disturb" sign on the door. When we returned about 2 hours later a bag of information for me had been left on our table and the wallet with 200 euros and my debit card was not in the room. We noticed the loss the next morning and informed the front desk staff and found out that someone had been to our room at 10.46 - persumablly the delivery of the bag. We never found any trace of the wallet although we looked everywhere. The staff seemed surprised and the manager excused us one night of the bill but the loss spoilt our stay in Bologna. I hasten to add that I have travelled in China, Mexico and in many parts of Europe but this has never happened to me before. We did not inform the police on the advice of a friend who has lived in Italy for several years and told us that we would waste the day waiting and fail to achieve anything.

The Hotel reminds me of a London hotel with Italian touches. The decor is English/American with fitted carpets and no shutters and not really suitable for hot summers. There are frescoes on the stairs as if someone has tried to make the place look more Italian. Overall it is not a bad place to stay but I would recommend asking for a room facing the courtyard and locking all your valuables in the safe.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Speakasifind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 397 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2010

My wife and I stay here 5th to 7th March 2010, based on reviews from Tripadvisor, as usual. The hotel was fantastic, huge room, huge bathroom, absolutely fabulous breakfast served till 11 am, staff very friendly and always someone who spoke English. The food in Bologna is the best in the world, each restaurnant just gets better, the Irish bars are great also, and even have smoking sections, nice one! This is not a tourist resort, it is a university town. Food, drink and shopping is all very reasonable. Highly recommend for a gourmet weekend away.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HugeDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Great location on the Via Indipendenza, easy walking distance to the Piazza Maggiore and the rest of the city. Lovely clean rooms, good spread at breakfast, very friendly breakfast staff, all round good value location in Bologna.
My one gripe is that the staff on reception at check in could have been a little bit more on the ball, they got the room requirement mixed up but resolved it. They also overcharged by 22Euros on check out but have since resolved this too. Despite these errors I'd still recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiontra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

I had a very relaxing stay at the Hotel Internazionale and can't find too many things to fault.

We were in Room 205, which I believe is a larger room. It was very clean and roomy. The beds were also exceptionally comfortable - very firm. The room did not face the street, and was therefore very quiet.

Breakfast was also good - I was surprised that they offered cooked items, rather than the standard continental breakfast.

Location was very good - close enough to the station, but also to the historic town.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to others visiting Bologna.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anchmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 14 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
0.1 km away
I Portici Hotel
I Portici Hotel
#26 of 102 in Bologna
1,495 reviews
0.3 km away
Metropolitan Hotel
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 102 in Bologna
1,583 reviews
0.3 km away
Royal Hotel Carlton
Royal Hotel Carlton
#17 of 102 in Bologna
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Starhotels Excelsior
Starhotels Excelsior
#24 of 102 in Bologna
1,737 reviews
0.9 km away
Al Cappello Rosso
Al Cappello Rosso
#10 of 102 in Bologna
850 reviews
1.5 km away
Savhotel
Savhotel
#3 of 102 in Bologna
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internazionale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internazionale

Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 60, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bologna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#38 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price Range: ₹ 6,865 - ₹ 14,901 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Internazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Internazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internazionale Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing