We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you see is what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Internazionale
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed for 5 nights over the Easter weekend and what a treat! We booked a deluxe room and even though we like modern decor, we opted for the classical rooms since we were told these are slightly bigger. I am so glad we did.

We were given a corner room on the 4th floor facing the streets. Even though we were on the 4th floor, some street noise could still be heard, especially on Saturday evening, but this did not bother us. The bed was large and so comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and had a full size bath tub. Wardrobes were of a good size where one can place all clothes and put away luggage. I was a bit skeptical about the carpets since we were travelling with a 3 year old, but the room was extremely clean and we felt very comfortable letting him play on the carpets. All our requests were met and everything was ready in our room upon our check in.

We had a buffet breakfast complete with bacon, eggs, parma ham & various cold meats, mozzarella, cheeses, yogurt, cereal, fruit and various delicious pastries. TV was SKY box with many kid's channels, and the best thing is you can switch them to English too.My son was pleased with this, and it came very handy when we needed some quiet after a long day running around. We didn't have internet cause wi-fi was ridiculously expensive.We opted to go without it.
The hotel is very well located, in the middle of Viale Indipendenza, a short walking distance from both the train station and the city historic centre. We also found a great restaurant close to the hotel, called Il Moro. It had a varied menu, including pasta, pizza, fish and meats and we ended up going there almost every day of our visit in order to try different dishes.

Bologna is ideal as a base to visit other cities and the train station is very well connected to most cities in Italy. We visited Parma, Ferrara, Ravenna and Modena / Maranello. Trenitalia have really improved, with very straight forward automated ticketing service, and trains were all punctual so our plans for the trips went quite smoothly. I would suggest that tickets are bought online in order to avoid the hassle at the train station.

Had a great holiday and I would definitely recommend Internazionale Hotel. If I had to visit Bologna again, I will not look anywhere else and will surely stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner room was very well lit due to a large number of windows. If you are a very light sleeper, I g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spiteri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    464
    115
    27
    16
See reviews for
124
370
68
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Even though this was a chilly April, the room was hot and all the air conditioner did was make noise. The TV is very tedious to use---even getting it on and off was a challenge---and had no movies in English. The only English programming was CNN and BBC News.
The absolute worst feature was the minibar. Every item in the fridge is on a sensor so when you move something (I had bought a piece of cheese), it's recorded as a sale of that item. I and others got it straightened out at the front desk on a regular basis but it was a pain. For the price, one might expect better.
Bologna itself has its charms but is quite small. Two or three days is plenty.
Pros: Breakfast, spacious marbled bathroom, blackout drapes, excellent location for the center and for the railroad station

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Upon check-in to the room, turn on the AC and see if it's working after an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyguy714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My wife and I recently spent a week at the Internazionale whilst visiting our granddaughter who is studying at Bologna University.
The hotel itself is located on the beautifully arcaded Via Indipendenza, a seven minute walk from the railway station, and has a very attractive reception area at Ground Floor Level, a grand Breakfast Room and adjacent Bar/Lounge at mezzanine level and all bedrooms above.
We had a very large, well appointed room overlooking the inner courtyard with beautiful en-suite facilities.
The room, like the rest of the hotel, was kept immaculate throughout our stay with bedding and towels being changed daily.
The breakfasts, while being described as "continental", did in fact offer hot food and a wide variety of cereals, breads, cakes, yoghurts, fruit juices and mineral waters as well as teas or coffees delivered to your table by very helpful, but at all times professional, staff who were a credit to the hotel management.
Whilst Bologna itself is a beautiful city; made even more beautiful by sunshine and temperatures of 23 degrees in March, the nearby railway station is your gateway to Italy in its entirety and the rest of Europe beyond. In the course of the week we spent time in Modena, Padua, Vicenza and Venice.
All together a superb city break with thanks due to the staff of the Internazionale for a most comfortable base and to the people we met everywhere in Bologna and on our excursions who were most welcoming.

Room Tip: We had requested a quiet room, fearful that traffic noise from Independenza might be a problem. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianoWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Just come back from a city break to Bologna for my partners 50th birthday. The Internazionale Hotel staff were amazing! I emailed Stefano the Manager before we travelled to order a surprise room service champagne and smoked salmon breakfast and everything was done perfectly, we had two trolleys of breakfast delivered in the morning by immaculately uniformed staff. The salmon was the best I have ever tasted, simply amazing. They really could not have done any more for us, fantastic people.
The hotel is situated to the north of the city but there are loads of shops and restaurants along the road making for a really pleasant stroll into the heart, Bologna is not big so everything is close by really.
Our first evening we ate at the Trattoria da Pietro which is very close to the hotel and had fantastic hospitality as well as amazing food. We were given a bottle of Limoncello and encouraged to stay as long as we wanted, the staff were just so friendly. I gave one my little Welsh dragon pin badge but she had to google Wales, lol. Tamburini is a must for lunch.
To sum up, this hotel is clean, friendly, central, with a huge choice buffet breakfast (we only had room service on his birthday!) and well worth a visit. I can't fault anything so that speaks volumes in itself.

Room Tip: We were given a free upgrade to a very large corner room on the 4th floor which is the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 40andfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

my partner took me for a january break as a surprise, and he chose really well in this hotel. the breakfast is yummy and has a huge variety-including gluten free. lovely coffees, beautiful hallways and lobby.
it is in a great location, walking distance to everything. the room we had was lovely, full tv package, and the bathroom was lovely and big with a lovely bathtub.
for whatever you are going to bologna for, this hotel ticks all the boxes. we did not have much interaction with the staff, but what we did have they were polite and helpful

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
I Portici Hotel
#23 of 103 in Bologna
1,408 reviews
Royal Hotel Carlton
#19 of 103 in Bologna
764 reviews
Starhotels Excelsior
#25 of 103 in Bologna
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Metropolitan Hotel
#8 of 103 in Bologna
1,498 reviews
NH Bologna De La Gare
#38 of 103 in Bologna
1,571 reviews
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internazionale? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internazionale

Property: Hotel Internazionale
Address: Via Dell'Indipendenza 60, 40121 Bologna, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bologna
#21 Family Hotel in Bologna
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#38 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,463 - ₹ 35,960
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Internazionale 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Internazionale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internazionale Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing