We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great location”
Review of Art Hotel Orologio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Hotel Orologio
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Bologna
Certificate of Excellence
Montana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great location”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our first visit to Bologna. We were upgraded to a suite without asking and we had made this reservation on the internet. What a pleasant surprise. Our room was very nice and well equipped. We were not in the hotel much but they had a very nice breakfast and an evening cocktail hour. The staff for the most part didn't appear to speak fluent English and I know very little Italian but they were friendly and wonderfully polite. It is better to not have to deal with a car at at all but we did park ours in the sister hotel maybe 2 blocks away. I would stay here again as it is very convenient to the city center.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gfdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    195
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
58
222
30
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

After 10 years of regularly visiting Bologna and staying at the Orologio we have never tired of the City its friendly Residents and the care and consideration of the Hotel Orologio.
Highly recommended for its location, friendly service and quiet comfort.
It just get better every time we visit the City and stay at this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allysor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setagaya-ku
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in early August. The hotel is 30 seconds from Piazza Maggiore and therefore stunningly convenient as a place to base a city trip as you're very central. I'd advise the buffet breakfast rather than getting breakfast in the room, that came as two packets of toasted bread and a couple of espresso's. The buffet breakfast has a much wider variety of pasties, plus yoghurt, fruit, sliced meat, and American coffee. There are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby, but if you want a supermarket you will need to head out of town 5-10 minutes (depending on direction) in order to pick up some bottled water. That's not really a problem, it makes for a nice walk

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChucklesZeClown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Pleasant staff greeted us and kindly let us take the room early as we had arrived by sleeper train from Paris.
The room was fine, well equipped, clean and, despite being in the centre of town was quiet.
Breakfast was a more than adequate continental buffet.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 23RUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This is a lovely hotel, beautifully outfitted, and right in the center of Bologna's old town, which is an archtectural marvel. Breakfast was provided and was excellent. THe one warning, iof travelling by car, make sure ahead of time to get detailed directions to the hotel, otherwise you risk getting lost in the incredibly complicated one way system of the center.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenBeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bologna hotels
San Vitale
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
Hotel Corona d'Oro 1890
#2 of 103 in Bologna
840 reviews
Art Hotel Commercianti
#8 of 103 in Bologna
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Al Cappello Rosso
#12 of 103 in Bologna
778 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#7 of 103 in Bologna
1,457 reviews
Aemilia Hotel
#4 of 103 in Bologna
2,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Orologio? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Orologio

Property: Art Hotel Orologio
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 10, 40123 Bologna, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Bologna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bologna
#11 Family Hotel in Bologna
#16 Business Hotel in Bologna
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,464 - ₹ 25,259
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Art Hotel Orologio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off Piazza Maggiore, right across from the antique Clock Tower from which the hotel gets its name, this Art Hotel represents the ideal stay for those who love atmospheric historical flavour without forgoing the comforts of a modern hotel. Hotel Orologio is a delightful and charming hotel with a view of the city’s most venerable landmarks: the Palazzo Comunale, Palazzo d’Accursio, Palazzo dei Notai all frame Piazza Maggiore, one of Italy’s most beautiful medieval piazzas. Our warm and welcoming tea room offers a moment of repose in the tranquil peace of a typical Bolognese palazzo. It central location provides the ideal starting point for sampling the events, museums, theatres, culture, and shopping that Bologna has to offer, all close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orologio Hotel Bologna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing