We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just to reiterate, so crowded it's pointless”
Review of Vatican Museums

Vatican Museums
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: With more than five miles of corridors, this vast complex of museums chronicles the history and accomplishments of mankind over the last 2000 years, featuring classic masterpieces such as Rodin's "Thinker" and the Sistine Chapel.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Rome's crowded and the Pope's catholic. This was on another level though, to the point it was unsafe for elderly people and young children. The experience was more similar to travelling to a Wembley final than a museum.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (34,846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sistine chapel"
in 6,232 reviews
"guided tour"
in 1,442 reviews
"skip the line"
in 1,266 reviews
"in advance"
in 974 reviews
"map room"
in 203 reviews
"raphael rooms"
in 333 reviews
"vatican website"
in 323 reviews
"own pace"
in 307 reviews
"buy your tickets"
in 180 reviews
"three hours"
in 166 reviews
"works of art"
in 227 reviews
"long queue"
in 224 reviews
"take your time"
in 276 reviews
"st peters"
in 275 reviews
"dress code"
in 168 reviews
"visiting rome"
in 172 reviews
"awe inspiring"
in 166 reviews
Filter

2,051 - 2,055 of 34,846 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Its worth taking time to look at the artworks displayed on the way to the Sistine Chapel as many visitors seem only to focus on the Sistine chapel as the sole reason for their visit.
Also the restaurant by the lawned area serves excellent wine, which came as a pleasant surprise.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank SimonWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

4h waiting in line, get inside and pushed pushed arrashed, come on, fast fast people everywhere, not enough signs, some of the boards with explanation in english were unreadable, people complaining because the audio guide was not working... really? 4h waiting for this? just hope that the sistine chapel is worth the effort but... much smaller than what I had in mind, and with stuff telling you NO! move move, to the middle, you are on the way, move, push push, people! so stressful! I can't understand the beauty of this. I would not recomend it even if it was for free.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Pepusina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We booked open tickets online and so glad we did. The website says the Vatican opens at 9am, but when we arrived at 8.30am there was already a long queue for non-ticket holders. We walked straight in even though our ticket was for 9.30am, and it was busy but not crowded. We bypassed the Egyptian museum and had a leisurely walk through the galleries to the Sistine Chapel. When we came back to the museum about 90 mins later it was heaving, you could barely move. We also bought the audio guide when we got there - it was excellent, and I thoroughly recommend it.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Singaporeslingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Something needed to be visited!
Recommend to join the guided group not only because fast entrance but also because of getting plenty of information.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Nenacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vatican Museums also viewed

 

Been to Vatican Museums? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing