We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Internationals flavours”
Review of Trattoria Moderna

Trattoria Moderna
Ranked #1,184 of 14,186 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro
Description: The freshness of the dishes of Trattoria Moderna is unparalleled. In an elegant and refined place, but at the same time welcoming! You can enjoy delicious Roman cuisine revisited with unusual combinations that enhance the taste of each course, like fresh fruit combined with meat or ricotta cheese with chocolate. Chef Livio is looking forward to welcoming you! Trattoria Moderna is centrally located just a few steps from Campo De' Fiori square.
Reviewed 12 November 2018

It is really looking as a modern trattoria, different from the traditional ones, but the quality of the food is as it should be in a respectable trattoria. There is a wide variety of dishes, not only Italians, Romanians as well (try the sarmale, ciorba or racituri when available). one cannot mistake on fish as well, especially the appetisers! Try the Vermentino, good Sardegna wine.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank K8789NQcristianb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2018

My friend and i ate at this restaurant on our first night in Rome. It was recommended by our hotel, and the best thing we can say for it is that it was only a few steps away. However, the Moderna does not knock it out of the ballpark. It is overpriced for what they offer, even for Rome. The service was indifferent, the wait long for no apparent reason, and the portions were small. We did not return, even though we were next door for 4 days. We found what were looking for in other places nearby.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank lcbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

We returned to this restaurant after a 5 year absence to find the food was mediocre at best. It was very disappointing as we had wonderful meals here before. The menu has changed significantly to vegetarian tasting, meat tasting or seafood tasting for a set price. 15, 25 or 35, starter, 1st and 2nd. Drinks not included. The starter was good but it went downhill from there. Veal parmigiana was American style, chewy, covered in sauce and cheese. Swordfish was dry and lacking taste. At the end of the meal we received our bill with a whisper to one of our party that the tip is not included. Waitress was surly, and the table service was the worst. Always told to keep our knife and fork after each course. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank kquilts1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

We booked a table for 10 adults and 5 kids. Tried all the menu:)
Excellent food and excellent service!
Livio , the owner , such a host!
Really recommend
!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank andreea_zah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

We had dinner tonight at this very good restaurant. Fabulous antipasti with 2 kinds of salmon, 2 types of carpaccio, octopus salad, meat and cheese selection and white anchovies. The simple but fabulous pasta with olive oil, cheese and black pepper brought smiles to everyone’s face. My only complaint is that my cappuccino was cold☹️.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank EIO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Moderna also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Moderna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing